Junior High Education

Chinese and western teachers will collaborate together to provide every single pupil with opportunities of deep learning and exploring in the bilingual learning environment. It is essential to educate a pupil’s primary knowledge of each subject and skills systematically, also developing the ability of pupils, in terms of critical thinking, creativity, analyzing, problem solving, innovation and communication.

Junior High Education

The educational model for Junior High at Huili School Hangzhou is structured around the Huili values and identity. In design, it’s aim is to ensure pupils are Inspired, Intellectual, Independent, Individual and Inclusive by the time they leave Huili School Hangzhou.

Junior High consists of Grades 7 to Grade 9. The aim of our program is that the bilingual ability of students will be enhanced in the Chinese-English environment. The curriculum is primarily based on the Chinese National Curriculum and the curriculum of compulsory education in Zhejiang Province  but delivered in a way that is consistent with the Huili ethos. The pedagogical and structural approaches ensure pupil learning and development take place. Pupils will study Mandarin, mathematics, English, biology, chemistry, physics along with humanities, physical education and the arts. The high-quality educational resources will be chosen for Junior High, combining advanced educational ethos and pedagogy. This allows students to finish their nine-year compulsory education successfully, well preparing for the upcoming curriculum of the senior high school. Each subject is delivered in a primary language, but learning is challenged and extended through projects and studies in a secondary language. This ensures that a pupil’s language acquisition develops coherently with learning in subject areas and ensures that pupils develop the technical and cultural language required to be fully bilingual.

Chinese and western teachers will collaborate together to provide every single pupil with opportunities of deep learning and exploring in the bilingual learning environment. It is essential to educate a pupil’s primary knowledge of each subject and skills systematically, also developing the ability of pupils, in terms of critical thinking, creativity, analyzing, problem solving, innovation and communication. At the same time, the Junior High curriculum also enables pupils to build up confidence, developing their own ways of learning and discovering their strengths. It aims to stimulate the potential of pupils and foster their ability of independent decision-making as well as a good attitude of responsibility.

As pupils progress through Junior High, learning is rigorous and pupil progress and attainment is tracked and reported systematically. Learning is structured to support pupils on their journey to excel in examinations that await them in High School. However, learning and progress in academic subjects is balanced with exposure to a wide range of Co-Curricular Activities (CCAs) that allow pupils to develop a wide range of aptitudes. This is essential if pupils are to acquire the skills, disposition and character needed to thrive in the College and in life beyond.

In addition, the Huili House system plays a fundamental role in students’ life in Junior High School. Pupils are allocated to a house and benefit from the support, guidance and counselling of the House Master and House tutors along with the mutual support of their peers. Together, pupils build strong and lasting relationships that are essential as they develop into young adults.

Delivered by western specialist staff, the PE curriculum is designed to develop children’s physical wellbeing, stamina and bearing. High level skills allow pupils to excel in various sports while developing greater confidence and teamwork abilities. Children are given the opportunity to experiment with a wide range of sports, such as swimming, football, badminton, rugby and so on.

These subjects are delivered by western specialist teachers who have a great deal of experience. Pupils develop a broad range of artistic skills while gaining confidence as practitioners and acquiring a deep appreciation for these subjects. All subjects are delivered in bespoke, purpose-built teaching spaces complete with high quality equipment. Individual performances or displays alongside critical evaluation form a large component of arts-based learning.

The subject of Chinese is of great importance to us, as it bears the responsibility of promoting Chinese language and culture. We use the textbooks developed by the Ministry of Education for all local schools, alongside selected teaching materials; for example, resources such as hard-tipped pen calligraphy, brush calligraphy, comprehensive learning and classic literature. This approach is designed to ensure that our pupils have the same level of native language proficiency as their peers and even their elders from any non-bilingual setting.

Pupils have five Chinese teaching sessions each week, which focus on developing their ability to identify, analyse and solve problems in creative ways, while encouraging them to express their thoughts and opinions about the wider world in an articulate manner.

We follow the English National Curriculum for our English instruction. Pupils leaving Grade 9 for High school will be fully prepared to adapt to any international curriculum in English without undue difficulty, including learning subjects such as economics, history and global perspectives, all of which require an especially high level of English fluency. Our aim is that by the time they leave High Schools to pursue a university education, all of our pupils will have become truly bilingual, not only in their linguistic abilities, but also in terms of historical knowledge, cultural appreciation, thinking patterns and problem solving.
The bilingual mathematics curriculum at Huili is a combination of two distinctly different sets of thinking patterns and practices. After a careful comparison of the different mathematics curriculums used in China and Western countries, Huili strives to take the strengths of each system by hiring bilingual practitioners who are experienced in teaching both. Language acquisition is enhanced through mathematics learning to help prepare pupils for an international curriculum when they move up to High school.
Chinese and English staff work closely together with each responsible for teaching geography, history, society and moral development in their native languages. Teaching partners plan collaboratively, linking their teaching content with the other. This model helps to build a foundation for studying English cultural subjects in High school and provides further language immersion experiences.
After conducting a rigorous comparison of the Chinese and English national science curriculums, we have designed our own, which is based on the Chinese national curriculum while striving to challenge and extend our pupils by adding more technical and difficult teaching content. Flexible teaching methods are used to encourage investigation and experimentation. We aim to equip our pupils with a scientific, logic-based attitude, combined with the courage to raise different opinions and always pursue the truth. We also aim to help them develop a better understanding of the connections between technology, science and our evolving global society.
Led by an experienced and dedicated Western ICT teacher, pupils experience a rich and fast-paced curriculum, continuing to build on the wide range of skills acquired during their Primary school years to ensure they will excel in this digital world. Our first-class facilities provide all pupils with access to advanced technology, which is used across all subjects.

初中课程

在惠立学校的双语学习环境中,中外籍教师将通力合作,为每个孩子提供每个领域深度学习和探究的机会,既要传授各学科领域系统扎实的基础知识和技能,也注重发展学生的批判性思维和创新能力,培养学生分析和解决问题的能力、创造力和沟通能力等。

初中课程

杭州惠立学校初中部的教育教学模式是紧密围绕惠立五大核心价值观和特质设计,旨在培养积极、慎思、独立、个性、包容的学生。

杭州惠立学校的初中部为七至九年级,学生在初中阶段在沉浸式中英双语环境中进一步加强锻炼双语能力。初中部的课程设置将以国家课程标准和浙江省义务教育课程设置要求为基础,在教学实践中运用惠立教育理念,以科学、系统的教学法引导学生的学习与发展。相比小学课程,初中课程内容将会更深入、广泛且丰富,涉及的学科包括语文、数学、英语、生物、化学、物理、人文、体育、艺术等。初中部将优选优质教育资源,融入先进的教育理念和教学方法,使学生顺利完成九年义务制教育要求的基础上为国际高中课程的学习做好充分的准备。初中部每门学科教学以主要沟通语言进行授课,但在练习等环节使用第二语言。在确保学生学习专业课知识的同时,提高相应领域的语言水平,掌握专业技术及文化词汇,帮助孩子成为真正的双语人才。

在杭州惠立学校的双语学习环境中,中外籍教师将通力合作,为每个孩子提供每个领域深度学习和探究的机会,既要传授各学科领域系统扎实的基础知识和技能,也注重发展学生的批判性思维和创新能力,培养学生分析和解决问题的能力、创造力和沟通能力等。同时,初中部的课程也要使学生不断建立自信,并且逐渐形成自己的学习方式,发现自己的优势所在,这不仅让学生充分发掘自己的学习潜能,同时也培养其独立决断能力并负责的态度。

进入初中之后,学生的课业更加繁忙,初中部会系统地了解跟进他们的学业成绩和进步。课程方面也会有所调整,使学生为高中的各类考试做好准备。同时,我校初中部将提供丰富的辅助课程教学活动,调节课业学习,开发学生的多元智能。辅助课程教学活动有助于学生培养特长、陶冶情操、塑造个性,更轻松地应对未来的学习和生活。

此外,初中部学院制管理对初中生活具有重要的影响。学生会有自己归属的学院,学院长和学院助教会给予学生持续的关怀和辅导,同学之 间可以彼此照顾,在青少年时代建立纯真长久的友谊,这在学生向成年人的发展成长阶段非常重要。

体育课由富有教学经验的外籍教师授课,以锻炼学生的体能和耐力及身体素质为主。它不仅可以提高学生各类运动项目的水平,而且能够培养他们的自信心和团队合作能力。学生可以接触丰富的运动项目,如:游泳、足球、橄榄球等。
艺术课由教学经验丰富的外籍教师授课,以培养扎实的艺术基础为主,同时让学生在实践中建立自信,增强对艺术的喜爱和鉴赏力。艺术类课程拥有专门的教室和先进的辅助器材。个人演出或展示以及批判性评估是艺术课学习的重要组成部分。

语文在惠立课程中占有极为重要的地位,它承载着传承中国语言与文化的重任。我们将和其他当地学校一样选用部编版语文教材,确保学生的语文水平达到母语的发展要求和标准。在此基础上,我们还会增加补充材料,如硬笔书法,毛笔,语文综合学习和国学经典等。初中阶段每周设有五节语文课,注重培养学生使用不同的方法发现问题、思考问题,并自觉探究解决问题的方法和途径,根据自己的语言能力和思想认知水平,从生活中选材,表达自己的感受与见解。

英语课是基于英国的英语课程,因此我们的要求远高于国家英语课程标准。孩子们到九年级能够无障碍地使用英文学习国际高中所有课程,包括那些对英语要求较高的课程,例如:经济、历史、全球视野等。我们的目标是惠立学子在步入大学学习时能够达到真正的双语,即熟练使用中英两种语言,了解中西方两种文化和历史,能够使用中西方两种思维来分析和解决问题。

惠立的“双语”数学课不是单纯意义上用两种语言学习数学或者用两种语言解答数学题目,而是两种思维的融合,是两种观念的融合,也是两种教学模式和手段的融合。在反复对比中、英数学课程的基础上,惠立力求融合中西方数学课程的精髓,并聘请熟悉中英课程的双语教师教授该课程。同时,在不影响数学能力发展的基础上,我们注重加强学生的双语学习能力,以顺利衔接高中的国际课程。

该课程包括中方教师中文授课的地理、历史与社会、思想品德以及由外籍教师英文授课的英文社会研习课。中文社会研习和英文社会研习在内容上相互关联。中西方教师合作教研,为学生高中阶段的全英文人文学科打好扎实的知识基础,并做好语言上的准备。
在仔细逐条比对中、英教学大纲的基础上,惠立的科学课程对中国国家课程的内容进行了深化和拓展。一方面,科学课的学科性更加明显,教学内容的难度和深度上有了一定的提高;另一方面,灵活多样的教学方式使得学生能够通过探究与实验,培养正确的科学态度,敢于提出质疑,探索真理,并了解科学、技术和社会之间的联系。
信息通讯技术课将由外籍老师授课,学生将在充实、快节奏的课堂中学习数字化时代必须掌握的技能。我校一流的电子设备将为他们了解前沿科技,在多学科中熟练运用科技提供硬件基础。