PRIMARY CURRICULUM

“Our curriculum is unique. We have created a truly bilingual model that values Chinese and British traditions and principles equally. We have taken the best from both educational systems and produced our new, vibrant and rich curriculum where children will experience their learning equally in Chinese and English. Our exciting curriculum is delivered through various themes that help pupils link together subjects and learning in a meaningful way. Critical thinking, reasoning and questioning form major elements in our approach to learning, all of which will ensure pupils are prepared for transitioning to junior high school and beyond.”

Paul Jackson-Read, Head of Primary

Primary Curriculum

Experience tells us that learning is at its most successful when it is relevant, meaningful and enjoyable. This is particularly important in a bilingual setting where pupils must enjoy the challenge of working in both languages and understand the inherent value of this process. Our Primary school teaches children from grades 1 to 5, delivering an education built on the Chinese national curriculum, but supported by the inclusion of the most appropriate international educational resources and best practice. This approach provides pupils with an integrated education experience, emphasising the importance of Chinese history and culture while cultivating a sense of international citizenship.

During their Primary school years, we strive to develop pupils’ Chinese and English language abilities. Our Chinese and Western co-teaching approach creates a truly immersive bilingual learning environment for the pupils. Our teachers, both Chinese and international, work closely together to ensure a balanced development in both languages, and more importantly, to master the delivery of multi-subject bilingual learning. By doing so, we can maximise the learning outcome of each pupil and lay a solid foundation for their future academic and professional lives.

We aim to make Primary school as relevant and enjoyable as possible through subject-based and theme-based learning. By linking what they learn in school with real life situations, we help pupils gain a more comprehensive understanding of the world around them. Teachers and pupils work together to solve real problems, enhancing pupils’ critical and creative thinking skills at every opportunity. By embedding the Huili values and identities from the outset of their school career, our curriculum helps the children in our care form healthy, positive and moral characteristics and ensures a smooth transition to Junior High life.

PE is a focus learning area with three sessions and two additional activities planned every week, with swimming as a compulsory subject for our Primary pupils. The intention is not only to build a strong body and to stimulate a variety of interests, but also to develop a spirit of collaboration and competition, increasing pupils’ adaptability to the natural and social world. The college maintains state-of-art sports facilities, including a 25-metre swimming pool, and a team of experienced PE teachers and swimming coaches to support the provision of our exemplary PE curriculum.
The arts are highly valued at Huili. Comprising visual arts, design and technology, music and performing arts, our arts curriculum is designed to give pupils the opportunity to develop creative and imaginative thinking and expression, as well as hands-on skills, in order to discover their artistic potential. We believe that these capabilities and skills, attained via rich artistic experiences during their early life, are transferable to all other leaning areas. In addition to visual art and music, pupils starting from grade 1 also learn performing arts. Design and technology is offered to grade 4 and older pupils.

We use the textbooks developed by the Ministry of Education for all local schools, alongside selected teaching materials; for example, resources about hard-tipped pen calligraphy, brush calligraphy, comprehensive learning and classic literature. This approach is designed to ensure that our pupils have the same level of native language proficiency as their peers and even some of their elders from any non-bilingual setting.

With respect to general patterns of learning, we plan our curriculum in a holistic manner, linking school learning with real life while also encouraging the positive influences of traditional Chinese culture and virtuous qualities. Our desire is not only to help pupils develop effective learning habits and fine Chinese attainment but also to improve their skills of independent and investigative learning, building a solid foundation to improve in other subjects as well.

We have taken the English national curriculum and blended it with the Shanghai government’s requirements to produce a bespoke and world-class curriculum tailored to the needs of our children. It is designed to develop fluent readers, writers and speakers of English in a truly bilingual setting. We are well aware that securing their children a place in an English-speaking university is the goal for the majority of our families and our curriculum reflects this desire.

Our English teachers are all native English speakers, who mostly come from the United Kingdom, and are very experienced in delivering English language learning. This starts with phonics in the early stages and continues right through to the proficient and fluent levels. Our aim is to ensure that every pupil becomes a truly bilingual lifelong learner, equipped with the linguistic skills and cultural grounding to appreciate and understand both Chinese and English comprehensively.

Bilingual mathematics curriculum at Huili is a combination of two distinctly different sets of thinking patterns and practices. Our team of experienced teachers carefully combine the respective strengths of the Eastern and Western curriculums while considering the skills and language proficiencies of our pupils, resulting in an integrated teaching plan. Teaching is closely linked to other subjects and areas of pupils’ personal development. Pupils acquire solid mathematics skills and knowledge, while improving their ability to think, analyse, implement, and innovate.
Co-taught by Chinese and English staff, our theme-based curriculum covers topics of cultural and natural sciences. Learning through various themes enables our pupils to discover facts about various subjects, connections between different subjects, and their links with the real world. Each theme is reinforced and emphasised through cross-subject learning links wherever possible.

This curriculum is delivered by our Chinese staff members, as the intention is to enhance our pupils’ knowledge of Chinese culture, local customs and traditional values, encouraging them to become moral and mentally healthy individuals. Our aim is to instill these positive values and character traits in our pupils right at the beginning of their learning journey, so that they can fully absorb their importance and maintain them throughout their lives.

Our teaching team supplements this moral development with appropriate elements of the Western-based character education ethos. The ultimate aim of this process is to help our pupils understand the global society that they are part of, adapt themselves to it and engage positively with it.

Taught by Chinese bilingual staff, natural science is explored through inspiring experiences designed to stimulate strong interests and curiosities in natural phenomena and develop a scientific logic-based attitude towards the wider world. Pupils learn basic facts about natural science and gain investigative skills via first-hand experiences and observation exercises, with an emphasis on solving relevant, real life problems.
It is important we equip our pupils with the requisite skills to engage with a constantly evolving digital world. Our curriculum is designed to meet and overcome this challenge. Children attending Huili School Shanghai learn a wide range of highly relevant ICT skills that will form the foundation of their ability to successfully utilise digital technologies. The school has invested in new and advanced ICT hardware and software to ensure the children have access to the best equipment.

小学课程

“惠立的小学课程独具特色。在融合中英教育传统和理念,借鉴吸收两者精髓的基础上,我们形成了一套充满活力、内容丰富、符合教育部门要求且具有惠立特色的双语课程体系。学生在中英文浸润式环境中学习知识,提升语言能力。小学课程围绕不同主题展开,以此促进各个学科间的联系,并使学习具有现实意义。我们注重培养学生批判性思考、分析推理、敢于质疑的能力,为他们步入初中及更高阶段的学习打下基础。”

小学部校长 Paul Jackson-Read

小学课程

成功的学习体验必定是与我们息息相关的,有意义且令人愉悦的。这在双语环境中尤为重要,因为学生必须享受使用两种语言时遇到的种种挑战,并理解这一过程的内在价值。上海惠立的小学为一至五年级,惠立小学课程以中国国家课程为基础和核心,并引进海外优质教育资源,不仅注重中国传统历史文化的传承,而且传递国际视角和眼光。

在小学阶段,我们致力培养孩子的中、英双语能力。中、外籍教师合作教学,为孩子营造一个真正的沉浸式双语学习环境。中、外教学团队之间紧密协调两种语言的均衡发展,促使学生将多个学科与两种语言的学习融会贯通,从而最大化地促进每一位学生的学习,为其今后的发展奠定扎实的基础。

小学的学习围绕不同学科和主题展开,将孩子的学习与身边的世界做有意义的联系。我们致力和孩子一起寻求解决实际问题的答案,培养孩子思辩能力和创新思维。在我们眼中每个孩子都是独立的个体,因此,我们尊重个体差异性。我们将惠立的核心价值观和特质融入到了课程中,以帮助孩子们从小建立正确的价值观,为他们顺利步入初中生活保驾护航。

惠立十分重视体育课。每周我们有三节体育课和两节体育活动,其中游泳课是小学体育课的必修内容。我们重视发展学生体能,提高健康水平,发展学生的爱好和特长,提高对自然环境和社会环境的适应能力,培养孩子们团队合作精神和竞争意识。学校为孩子们提供了优质的运动设施,包括25米泳道的游泳池,并聘请了经验丰富的体育老师和游泳教练。
惠立十分重视艺术类课程。艺术类课程的设计旨在激发孩子们的潜能,培养惠立学子的创造力、想象力、语言表达能力和动手实践能力。此类课程包括视觉艺术、设计工艺、音乐及表演艺术。我们希望孩子们从小就能够获得丰富的艺术体验。这些能力的培养也能够使得孩子们在学习其他课程中获益。除了视觉艺术课和音乐课以外,我们从小学一年级还增设了表演艺术课,设计工艺课则从小学四年级开始开设。
语文在惠立课程中占有极为重要的地位,它承载着传承中国语言与文化的重任。我们将和其他当地学校一样选用部编版语文教材,确保学生的语文水平达到母语的发展要求和标准。在此基础上,我们还增加了沪教版的补充材料,如:硬笔书法、毛笔、语文综合学习和国学经典等。我们尊重学生的学习规律,整体规划安排学习内容,重视联系实际生活以及传统文化和美德的浸润。我们希望通过语文学习,培养孩子们良好的学习习惯,提高他们基本的语文素养,加强自主探究性学习的能力和应用能力,并为学习其他学科打下扎实的基础。

惠立遵循上海市英语课程标准,结合英国国家课程,制定了符合惠立学生需求的课程体系。惠立的英语课程将以培养流利的英语读写及听说能力为目标,为学生今后步入世界一流大学做好充分的准备。

英语教师均为教学经验丰富的英语母语人士,多数来自英国。他们将为学生营造沉浸式语言环境,从自然拼读入门,逐渐地提高学生的英语水平,最终将他们培养成精通中英文的双语人才。

惠立的”双语”数学课不是单纯意义上用两种语言学习数学或者用两种语言解答数学题目,而是两种思维的融合,两种观念的融合,也是两种教学模式和手段的融合。我们的教学团队根据孩子们的认知水平和语言能力,把两种课程进行了系统地、科学地整合,对课程体系进行了整体的规划,并有机地渗透到日常教学中去。教学内容与其他科目的学习相关连,与日常生活息息相关。我们既传授系统扎实的数学基础知识和技能,也注重发展孩子们的数学思维,培养他们分析、操作和创新的能力。
主题课由中西方教师合作教学,内容包含了人文科学和自然科学的知识。孩子们通过某一主题的学习,了解不同学科的知识,掌握不同的学习方法和技能,以及各学科知识之间和知识与现实生活之间的关联。小学的其他学科内容也会在一定程度上与主题课内容相关联,为跨学科学习创造更多的机会。
品德与社会课由中方教师教授。在品德与社会课上,学生们将学习中国的人文知识,例如文化习俗、中国的传统价值观等,培养良好的思想品德和个性心理品质。孩子们会在学习的过程中,树立人生目标,思考如何在日常生活中弘扬中国的传统美德。老师也会将中国传统的道德教育和西方的品格教育相结合,针对学生的年龄特点,开展教学活动,培养学生认识社会、适应社会和参与社会的能力。
自然科学课由中方的双语教师授课。在课堂上,老师通过有趣的教学活动启发孩子们对自然现象的好奇心和探究兴趣,培养他们的科学态度和良好的行为习惯。孩子们通过观察和体验科学探究过程,学习一些基本的科学探究方法,获得自然科学知识,并尝试将所学的科学知识和方法应用于日常生活。
让学生与数字化时代接轨尤为重要,因此我校在小学阶段开设了信息通讯科技课,促进学生掌握信息技术,并在多个学科中灵活运用。学校配有三间电脑房,同时购置了平板电脑和笔记本电脑,为学生提供一流的学习条件。