Educational Insights | Think Globally, Act Locally

In 2017, AlphaGo amazed the world by defeating all human Go players. A few months later, AlphaZero emerged. Genuinely starting from zero, it defeated all other AI-based Go and chess programmes, let alone human players, just after a few hours of training with its input of rules.

In 2018, SpaceX sent up its Falcon Heavy carrying a Tesla Roadster and then succeeded in recovering two of the three boosters. Its amazing payload, stability, low cost and reusability have made space travel a lot more affordable.

In short, we are living in an era of rapid change. Technology is significantly advancing and transforming our way of life. In this era, education, especially science education, faces unprecedented opportunities and challenges. Wellington College has a very proud tradition of educating for the future, which means that as a group we are extremely well placed to capitalise on these opportunities and overcome said challenges. Thinking globally while acting locally, our science education faculty has endeavoured to design and implement science education that is especially suitable for bilingual learners.

International Framework Integrating Chinese and Foreign Curriculum Standards

Science may be the most challenging part of bilingual high school curriculum development. China’s 2011 Compulsory Education Curriculum Standards include general science subjects and specific subjects like biology (life sciences), physics and chemistry. Schools in different regions can pick subjects to meet their circumstances. Usually the three specific subjects are offered to different grades, with different starting times and durations. After a period of curriculum reform, Shanghai now adopts an integrated curriculum. General science subjects are offered to Grade 6 and Grade 7 pupils, and specific subjects are offered to Grade 8 and Grade 9 pupils. 1Like Shanghai, most developed countries and regions in the world, such as the USA, the UK, Canada, Australia, Singapore, and Hong Kong China, also offer general science courses. Bilingual schools like ours need to design our own curriculum to suit our own reality, considering our appropriate regional and pupil characteristics. We must first try to understand international curricula and then determine the coverage, depth and difficulty of each science subject as it is actually needed. This is a meticulous and creative process for schools and their curriculum developers.

For example, one subject matter is covered in general science subjects but does not come in any specific science subject under the national science curriculum. This subject matter is highlighted in the UK’s general science curriculum and even more so in the United States’ Next-Generation Science Standards (NGSS). This particular subject is Earth and Space Science. 2,3We need to recognise the uniqueness and importance of this subject matter, understand its place in current science courses, and decide how best to teach this subject matter according to our own actual resources (such as whether or not to offer a separate geography course) and the pupils’ development needs.

Our curriculum development team started to compare Chinese and British science curricula two years ago. Based on their comparison process, we’ve outlined a unique science curriculum for Huili School, proposing short-term and mid-term plans with specific goals accordingly. We’ve also developed an appropriate assessment system. Teachers with years of teaching experience are also involved in the curriculum development process, which helps ensure its validity and overall purposefulness.

Huili School’s Curriculum Development Process

Developing scientific inquiry and engineering design skills through project implementation 

In Demi-gods and Semi-devils, the martial arts novelist Jin Yong depicts a strange “master” who knows about almost all schools and skills of martial arts but has no chance of winning any real fight. That “master” is a lady called Wang Yuyan. She could earn very high marks in any standardised test of martial arts, so to speak, but she cannot really fight.

An important competence that Huili School Shanghai wants its pupils to acquire is “independence.” Through science education, we will not only give our pupils the necessary science literacy to pass standardised tests at home and abroad, but also to learn necessary scientific skills, understand the process and methodology of scientific inquiry and engineering design. Furthermore, they will develop meticulous thinking abilities and harness the scientific spirit of innovation, which will allow them to solve scientific or engineering problems independently.

The enthusiasm and competence for scientific inquiry have become the common goal of science education at home and abroad. The 2011 national compulsory education curriculum standards and Shanghai curriculum standards place scientific inquiry before science literacy teaching, noting that scientific inquiry is not only an objective but also a key method of science education. 4Science education in the UK prioritises the concept of “working scientifically”, emphasising that pupils should be disciplined in terms of scientific attitudes, experimental skills and investigations, analysis and evaluation, and measurement. 2The United States’ Next-Generation Science Standards define “scientific and engineering practices” as one of the three key dimensions and adds “engineering design” to help pupils address social and environmental issues. Although they differ in some details, scientific inquiry and engineering design share the same basic underlying beliefs and methodologies. 3Many publishing houses in the UK and the USA incorporate these beliefs and methodologies into textbooks for children aged from kindergarten to grade 12.

To promote scientific inquiry and engineering design, Huili School Shanghai has established a fully equipped and resourced laboratory that teaches the best international practices. Our teachers do not only facilitate our pupils to complete mandatory experiments required by the national curriculum standards, but also organise regular “science fairs” to help pupils define topics of interest from real life and complete the scientific inquiry process. This will hopefully encourage interested and capable pupils to participate in domestic and international science and innovation competitions. The inquiry process can help pupils build up self-confidence, discover their potential and maximise their strengths, gradually forming their own learning methods while cultivating a strong sense of responsibility and determination.

Global Citizenship Awareness Focusing on the Relationships between Technology, Society and Environment

Science and technology have two sides: They can benefit people on one hand and harm the society and the natural environment on the other. Huili School Shanghai is committed to holistic development. In addition to helping our pupils acquire literacy and pass tests, we pay more attention to improving their overall growth and allowing their potential to blossom and bear fruit.

Since the 1980s, the United Kingdom and the United States have embarked on a programme of “science, technology, and society” education (STS for short), and later expanded this concept to become “science, technology, society, and the environment” education (STSE) in the first decade of the 21st century. The influence of science and technology is now ubiquitous, while the environment has also become one of the key social issues impacting on education and politics today. It is not only high on the agenda of international gatherings and initiatives, it also makes a significant impact on people’s daily lives. The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) will include a Global Citizenship and Global Literacy Test in 2018. Science teachers can review the history of science and technology and offer interdisciplinary instructions to guide pupils to discuss major issues related to society and the environment. Global citizenship and global literacy can be developed further in this way.

Differentiated teaching and active learning

Albert Einstein once said, “Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish by the ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Huili School’s curriculum is pupil-centred and cares about each pupil’s experiences, learning habits, hobbies, personality traits and other development factors. According to their individual characteristics, we will guide our pupils to learn actively through differentiated teaching. We will ensure that each pupil will not only develop their competences in a balanced manner, but also comprehend their unique advantages.

In order to better carry out differentiated teaching, the contents of the science curriculum were carefully decomposed into “core” and “extended” elements, and the curriculum standards and teaching objectives were accurately graded according to British curriculum standards. Different pupils may pursue objectives at different levels such as what they “must”, “should” or “could” master. Supported by our rich curriculum resources, our science teachers can pick different learning materials for different pupils and make assessments and feedback on an almost real-time basis.

As a Chinese classic saying goes: “I hear, I forget; I see, I remember; I do, I understand.” In the 1960s, Western pedagogical scholars expressed this concept as: “Tell me and I forget; teach me and I may remember; involve me and I will learn.” Essentially, this concept means that the difference between active and passive learning determines the memory retention rate, which underlies many educational practices across the world.

At Huili School Shanghai, our science education department will create situations where active learning is encouraged to help pupils master knowledge more efficiently, practice basic skills, consolidate learning outcomes and learn to collaborate. We will strive to provide pupils with an inspiring learning environment to stimulate their curiosity and guide them to actively explore and develop habits of inquisitive thinking and lifelong learning.

Bilingual immersive environment integrating content and language

At Huili School Shanghai, Chinese and Western teachers cooperate in planning and teaching courses, which helps to balance content and language learning and creates an immersive bilingual learning environment for children.

Our science department actively explores “content and language integrated learning” (CLIL), which aims to improve the language proficiency of pupils while teaching science courses. In this approach, language becomes a tool for learning science knowledge and yet it becomes easier and more natural to learn language skills.

We attach great importance to the concerted efforts of schools, families and the community. We believe that this powerful synergy can provide pupils with a good learning environment and help them integrate into the community. Our science department will tap into the local and national resources for science education, such as museums and science exhibitions. Through science education, we will improve the environment for learning in schools, families and the community. We also welcome parents with professional science backgrounds to participate in our science education programme. As the proverb goes in Africa: “It takes a village to raise a child.” Today, this village is composed of families, schools, communities, cities and countries. It is a “global village” of which we are all members.

教育焦点 | 立足本土,放眼全球——适合双语学习者的科学教育

2017年,人工智能程序AlphaGo横空出世,以摧枯拉朽之势击败所有人类职业围棋选手,攻下“人类最后的智慧堡垒”。几个月后,AlphaZero从零开始,只需输入规则,无需人类经验,经过几个小时的训练就击败了所有的围棋和国际象棋人工智能程序,更不必说任何人类职业棋手。

2018年,Space X 猎鹰重型火箭载着一辆特斯拉 Roadster汽车首飞成功,并成功回收三枚助推火箭中的两枚。其运载能力惊人,性能稳定,价格低廉且可以重复使用,太空旅行的成本被大大降低。

我们生活在一个日新月异的时代,科技突飞猛进并迅速转化为产品进入普罗大众的生活。在这样的时代,教育,尤其是科学教育,面临着前所未有的机遇和挑战。“思既往,明开来。”惠立学校的科学教育团队立足本土,放眼全球,孜孜不倦地探索着最适合双语学习者的科学教育。

融合中外课程标准的国际框架

从内容的角度看,中学科学也许是双语学校课程开发与实施中最具挑战的一环。在国家2011年版的义务教育课程标准中,同时存在综合的科学科目和分科的生物(生命科学)、物理、化学科目,不同地区的学校会根据实际需要进行选择。通常分科的三个科目分别在不同年级开设,科目的开始时间与持续时间都不同。上海地区经过了两期课程改革的摸索,最终采用了“合分一体”的课程体系,在六、七年级开设综合科学科目,在八、九年级开设分科科学科目。1另一方面,世界上大多数发达国家和地区,如美国、英国、加拿大、澳大利亚、新加坡和中国香港,都设置了综合科学课程。双语学校需要根据自己所在的地区和学生来源决定自己的体系,同时了解并借鉴某一种或几种国际课程的体系,针对每一个科学主题细化内容的广度、深度和难度要求,这需要学校的课程开发者与教师进行细致而富有创造性的工作。

举一个例子,有一部分内容,出现在国家的综合科学课程标准中,而并没有出现在分科科学的课程标准中(部分归入另一科目)。这一部分内容存在于英国的综合科学课程中,而在美国的《下一代科学标准》(NGSS)中更是占据了近三分之一的篇幅。这个特殊的科学主题是“地球与宇宙”,或者称为“地球科学与空间科学”(Earth and Space Science)。2,3我们需要认识到这一部分内容的特殊性,了解这一部分内容在不同科学课程中的比重,根据自己的实际情况(如是否另外开设《地理》科目)和学生下一步的发展需要决定在教授这一内容时的广度、深度、难度要求和课时安排。

上海惠立的课程开发团队从两年前便开始中英科学课程的比对工作,在此基础上确立了惠立独特的科学课程大纲,进而制定了相应的中短期计划,设置具体的教学目标,并形成惠立的评估体系,其中每个阶段都经过了多轮的讨论与修订。拥有多年一线教学经验的教师们参与到中后期的课程开发,更是确保了课程实施的有效性。

在项目实践中锻炼科学探究与工程设计能力

在《天龙八部》中,金庸描写了一位特殊的武林高手,熟读各派武功秘籍,学识渊博,但和任何人比武较量都没有一丝胜算。这位武林高手是王语嫣,她可以在关于武功的标准化考试中取得非常高的成绩,但只能纸上谈兵,无法独立完成任何一次比武较量。

上海惠立希望学生具备的一项重要特质是“独立”。在科学教育中,我们不仅帮助学生掌握必需的科学知识以参加国内外的标准化考试,也注重训练学生掌握必需的科学技能,理解科学探究和工程设计的过程和方法,培养严谨慎思、勇于探究和创新的科学精神,从而可以“独立地”解决科学或工程方面的问题。

对“科学探究”(Science Enquiry)的重视已经成为国内外科学教育的共识。国家2011年版的义务教育课程标准和上海市课程标准,都将“科学研究”置于内容框架之前,指出“科学探究既是学生的学习目标,又是重要的教学方式。” 4英国的科学标准在内容框架前提出了“科学地工作”(Working Scientifically)的理念,强调学生应该得到科学态度(Scientific attitudes)、实验技巧与探究(Experimentalskills and investigations)、分析与评估(Analysis andevaluation)和测量(Measurement)等方面的训练。2美国的《下一代科学标准》将“科学与工程实践”(Scientificand Engineering Practices)作为三大核心维度之一,并在内容框架后加上了“工程设计”(Engineering Design),帮助学生更好地面对和解决社会和环境方面的问题。“科学探究”和“工程设计”虽然在细节上存在一些区别,但大体遵循同样的过程。3在教材的编写中,英国和美国的多家出版社更是将这些理念渗透到幼儿园至十二年级的课本和参考书中,以更好地帮助教师实施教学。

为了实现“科学探究”和“工程设计”的理念,上海惠立筹建了设备齐全、资源丰富的实验室,整合国内外教师的实践经验。老师们不仅带领学生完成国家课程标准要求的必做实验,而且会定期举办“科学展”,引导学生选择感兴趣的、来自实际生活的课题并完成完整的科学探究过程,鼓励有兴趣、有能力的学生参加国内和国际的科创活动。探究过程同时可以帮助学生建立自信、挖掘潜能、发挥优势,逐渐形成自己的学习方式,培养其责任感和决断力。

关注科技与社会、环境关系的“全球公民”情怀

科学技术从来都是一柄双刃剑,可以用来造福人类,也会给社会和自然环境带来伤害。上海惠立致力于“全人教育”,除了帮助学生掌握知识与技能,不断追求卓越,在升学中获取成功,更注重全面提高学生的综合素养,在健全人格的基础上,让个体生命的潜能得到自由、充分、全面、和谐的发展,培养学生成为具有惠立特质的“全人”。

从20世纪80年代开始,英国与美国开始兴起“科学·技术·社会”教育,(Science,Technology,Society,简称STS),并在21世纪前十年扩展为“科学·技术·社会·环境”教育(Science,Technology,Society,Environment,简称STSE)。科学技术对社会的影响日益广泛,而环境问题则是科技与社会关系的核心问题之一,它既是国际大型会议的焦点问题,也已经深入触及人们的日常生活。2018年PISA测试将引入世界公民与全球素养测试。在科学教学中,教师将适时地引入关于科技发展史的内容,并与社会科学科目展开跨学科教学,引导学生对与社会和环境相关的重大课题进行思考和讨论,并通过主题活动培养学生的世界公民意识,提高学生的全球素养。

因材施教的差异课堂和主动学习模式

爱因斯坦说过,“每个人都是一个天才,但如果你以爬树能力评判一条鱼,那它一辈子都会觉得自己是个笨蛋。”惠立课程以学生为中心,关注每一名学生的已有经验、学习习惯、兴趣爱好、个性特长等发展特点,根据学生不同的特点有目的、有计划、有组织地引导学生积极自觉地学习,实施差异化教学,确保每一名学生不仅能均衡地发展各项才能,而且能根据自己的优势提高特殊才能。

为了更好地开展差异化教学,科学课程的内容被细致地分解为“核心内容”(Core)和“拓展内容”(“Extended”),课程标准和教学目标结合英国课程标准精准分级。针对不同学生,每一学习目标可以处于“必须掌握”(Must)、“应该知道”(Should)和“可以了解”(Could)等不同层次的要求。结合丰富的课程资源的支持,教师可以选择不同的学习资料提供给不同学生,并即时评测,并获得反馈。

《荀子•儒效篇》里说:“不闻不若闻之,闻之不若见之;见之不若知之,知之不若行之;学至于行而止矣。”20世纪60年代,西方的教育学者将这一理念表达为:“告诉我,我会忘记;教给我,我可能会记住;让我参与其中,我才能学会。”(Tell me and I forget; teach me and I may remember; involve me and Iwill learn。)主动学习与被动学习的分别以及两种学习模式下的记忆存留率等成果在教育领域得以运用。

在上海惠立的科学教学中,中西方教师将为学生创设主动学习的情境,以帮助学生更好地理解学科知识,练习基本技能,巩固学习成果,学习与他人合作交流。我们也努力为学生提供有趣而具启发性的教学环境,丰富他们的学习经验,激发他们的好奇心、求知欲,引导他们主动探索,帮助他们养成勤于思考、终身学习的良好习惯。

内容与语言整合的双语沉浸环境

在惠立,中西方教师合作计划、教学,平衡学科知识和语言的学习,为孩子营造一个真正的沉浸式双语学习环境,确保两种语言的均衡发展。

惠立的科学教学团队积极探索“内容与语言整合学习”(content and language integrated learning,简称CLIL)的模式,注意在教授科学课程的同时加强学生的语言能力,同步完成内容目标和语言目标,这一做法还原了语言的工具性特征,同时也让语言学习更加自然流畅,更具有实用性。

上海惠立十分重视学校、家庭、社区及周遭社群的通力合作。这一强大的合力能够为学生提供良好的学习环境,并帮助他们融入社群。惠立的科学教育团队将探索开发上海本地及全国博物馆、科技馆的课程资源,通过科学教育改善学校、家庭和社区大环境,也欢迎有专业科学背景的家长走进科学课堂与同学们分享。非洲有一句谚语:“养大一个孩子需要全村的努力。”(Ittakes a village to raise a child)在今天,这个村子里有家庭,有学校,有社区,有城市,有国家,还有整个“地球村”。