Education Insight| Helping Your Child Choose Books

Regular reading is vital for your child’s educational and emotional development. It helps them understand the world around them, they find themselves reflected in stories and their imaginations grow to incorporate new ideas. Reading can help students to understand changes, such as the birth of a new sibling or the death of a loved one. Reading books with characters different to them helps children to build empathy and understanding. For all of this to happen, children need to find the ‘just right’ book.

‘Just right’ books are context dependent, and we need to consider a few things in order to help children find these. In English, these can be usefully listed as a mnemonic: PICK.

P: Purpose

Why is the child reading the book? Do they need to research a topic or are they reading for pleasure? Are they reading the book in order to understand an event? All reasons to read are valid purposes but knowing the purpose each time will help children to get the right book for that moment.

I: Interest

Life is too short to read uninteresting books. Thankfully, we all have different interests. While sometimes we need to read specific books for class, when it comes to reading solely for pleasure, we can choose according our own interests. Children are great at knowing if they like a book or not, so allow them to make these choices. Encouraging them to try new books is productive; forcing them to read particular books can be counterproductive.

C: Comprehension

Comprehension is key to enjoying a book. Through reading, children can meet new situations and characters, but they must be able to understand the story. Comprehension is very different from decoding and relies on children applying their schema (what they already know and understand about the world around them) to their reading. Understanding the meaning of words helps with comprehension, and it also falls under our fourth point: K.

K: Know

Knowing the words on the page sounds like an obvious step, but the ability to read the words can be misleading. Decoding is the ability to read the words, but that does not always correlate with understanding their meaning. Both decoding and understanding can be combined as ‘knowing’ the word. Can they read it? Do they know what it means? A good guide when checking if a book can be read by the child is the ‘five-finger rule’. The child opens the book to a random page in the middle, and they spread out five fingers. As they read the page, they fold down a finger each time there is a word they cannot read or understand. If they get to their fifth finger, they are not ready for the book – yet. Encourage them to return to the book in a few months or so and try again.

Sometimes children still want to read a book that is too tricky for them to read alone. This doesn’t mean that they can’t try it, just that they may need some help. There are three types of reading situations to consider, and some of these help children to experience books that are too tricky to read alone.

Read Alone

Books that children can read, understand and enjoy independently.

Read With

Children might not be able to read these books entirely independently but can take it in turn to read sections with an adult so that they are furthering their reading skills and can still enjoying the book.

Read To

These books are ones that children cannot yet read independently and are especially relevant in the primary years. Children can enjoy listening to a parent read sections aloud each evening before bed, or at other times.

Picking the ‘just right’ book for both the child and the situation is key to enjoyment in reading. If a child cannot read or understand most of a book independently, they are unlikely to enjoy the experience and it is likely to put them off reading in the long term. If children learn to love reading at a young age, a lifetime of knowledge and adventure await.

教育焦点| 如何帮孩子挑选书籍

读书有益于孩子的学业进步和情感发展。读书可以帮助孩子们认识世界,通过让孩子在书中找到自己的影子,发挥想象力,孕育新的思想。读书可以帮助孩子们正视人生中的变化,比如让孩子们理解家庭新成员的出生或挚爱之人的离世等。通过阅读与自己思想迥异的书籍,可以培养孩子们对他人的同理心和理解力。为此,选择合适的书籍显得尤为重要。

好的书籍离不开好的内容,而挑选出这样的内容就要考虑到以下几点,我们把这几点总结为“PICK”要点。

P:目的

孩子为什么在读这本书?是为了做主题研究还是仅仅因为喜欢?是为了了解某个事件吗?读书的目的无论是什么都是成立的,但是了解孩子每次读书的目的,则有助于帮助他们选择最合适当下的书籍。

I:兴趣

人生苦短,读书就要读有趣的书。所幸人人都有兴趣爱好。虽然有时为了学业要读一些特定的书籍,但若只为消遣,就要读自己感兴趣的书。孩子们非常清楚自己是否喜欢一本书,因此可以让他们自主选择。鼓励孩子们读读新书,能事半功倍;强迫他们读某些书,只会得不偿失。

C:理解

感知一本书的魅力,理解是关键。读书能让孩子们认识到新的情景和人物,因此孩子们一定要有理解故事内容的能力。理解不是解码,它需要孩子们将自身的架构(对周边世界的了解和认知)带入阅读。了解字词的含义也有助于提高理解,这在第四点“K”中将继续讲到。

K:知道

知道书页上的字词含义看似再浅显不过,但读出字词的能力往往被人误解。解码即读出字词的能力,但有这能力并不等于理解了字词的含义。解码和理解合在一起,才称得上“知道”了一个字词。孩子能读出这个字词吗?知道这个字词的意义吗?看一本书是否适合孩子读,可以使用“五根手指法则”。让孩子随手打开一本书中间的某一页,一边伸出五根手指,一边开始阅读。如果遇到一个不会读或者不理解的字词,就让孩子收回一根手指。如果孩子的五根手指都收了回来,那说明孩子暂时还不适合读这本书。鼓励孩子过几个月后重新拿起这本书,重复这一程序,再决定是否能读这本书。

有时候,孩子们还是想读一些对他们而言有些难度的书。这并不意味着不能读这些书,而是指他们需要一定的外界的帮助。读书的方式有三种,其中有些能帮助孩子享受对他们而言有些难的书籍。

自己读

孩子有能力独自阅读、理解、消遣的书籍,可以自行阅读。

一起读

孩子可能无法完全独立阅读的某些书,可以与一位成年人轮流来读,在培养阅读技巧的同时,仍能享受书籍的乐趣。

听读

这尤其针对尚且不能独立阅读部分书籍的小学生们。家长可以在每晚孩子入睡前或其他时间,向孩子朗读书本内容,让孩子享受听读。

享受阅读乐趣的关键是找到适合孩子又适合当下的好书。当孩子无法独立读出或理解一本书的大部分内容时,是很难享受阅读的乐趣的,反而会极有可能让他们在长时间内反感阅读。而从小热爱阅读的孩子,将获得一生取之不竭的知识,踏上精彩无限的探索之旅。