Education Insight | Maths is Everywhere

Leonardo da Vinci once said that all sciences are based on mathematics. Maths plays a vital role in developing one’s logical and analytical ability, spatial ability and inductive reasoning aptitude. Being a science that trains one’s abstract thinking, many pupils may easily become bored or tired in maths learning.

However, in Huili School Hangzhou the way maths is taught aims to be inspiring and interesting. “Maths is Everywhere”; this is the theme of our exciting Maths Week, which started this Monday. Throughout Maths Week, our teachers are hosting many cross-curricular, enquiry-based activities for pupils, which provide the pupils with an opportunity to proactively apply mathematical thinking into their daily lives and explore the mystery of maths.

Pupils have been encouraged to think about mathematics in unique and interesting ways as a part of Maths Week. For example, after learning about patterns in class, Grade 2 pupils were asked to search for patterns in buildings, galleries, zoos, supermarkets and so on. Some pupils visited museums in Hangzhou and explored them through the lens of mathematics. This gave them a whole new perspective on the items they were learning about at the museums. Other pupils expressed their concern about the environment and climate change, so they used maths concepts to understand the complexities of the problem. In reflecting on these experiences, the pupils have made their learning journey more spirited and vivid. These types of activities allow pupils to see maths from a different perspective, and to “bring the world into the maths classroom, and explore the world using maths”, which is the first theme of our Maths Week.

Through this theme of exploring the world using maths, we aim to raise pupils’ awareness of the fact that maths is everywhere around us. Teachers from different subjects have worked together and designed diverse and integrated cross-disciplinary activities for the pupils, so that they can recognise the widespread application of maths in subjects such as languages, P.E., music, art and so on. Maths has thus changed from being tedious “book knowledge” into a flexible science with extensive application.

Maths Week provides a stage for each Huili pupil to engage in in-depth inquiry and work in groups to improve their teamworking, communication and problem-solving skills.

Pupils have chosen their own inquiry themes and routes, drawn up plans and then completed them step by step, before finally showcasing their group inquiry results in individualised and creative presentations.

The Maths Exhibition is the highlight of Maths week. Here, higher grade pupils have started looking at the history of maths to re-examine maths concepts they learned before from a historical perspective. They have come to the conclusion that none of the maths concepts, formulas, theorems or ideas arise out of blue, but instead carry rich histories behind them. With a historical outlook and using analytical thinking, pupils have subconsciously learned and integrated maths into their daily routines. This activity is in line with pupils’ current cognitive basis and has kindled their learning enthusiasm, as evidenced by their fantastic presentations.

Meanwhile, our younger pupils have explored maths through themes such as “maths in nature”, “maths in architectural design”, “the way I see maths” etc. It is important to encourage them to enhance their understanding of maths concepts with divergent thinking and a range of contexts, because learning is more than answering questions on a piece of paper. We aspire for our children to learn their intrinsic meaning and real life applications. We are delighted to see our pupils enjoying Maths week, valuing the process of inquiry, and seeking solutions for themselves by thinking carefully about the problems being presented.

One can hardly become a mathematician overnight, and we are aware that improving one’s maths is an ongoing process. We are keen to explore and innovate here at Huili School Hangzhou. As a school, we are fully committed to developing pupils’ well-rounded maths competence and enhancing their understanding of maths concepts and applications. We hope our pupils can remain enthusiastic in learning maths and become lifelong maths learners!

教育焦点 | 万物皆数学

达芬奇曾说,数学是一切科学的基础。数学素养对于发展学生的逻辑分析能力、空间想象能力和总结归纳能力都起着至关重要的作用。数学学习是抽象思维的培养过程,这使得很多孩子对于数学学习产生枯燥和厌倦。

然而在杭州惠立学校的学生,完全没有觉得学习数学的枯燥,本周一,惠立数学周成果展正式拉开帷幕。本次数学周的主题是“万物皆数学”。杭州惠立学校倡导探究式学习,在数学周中,老师们通过不同活动的设计与跨学科教学的课程规划,鼓励惠立学子运用数学思维积极探索,发现日常生活中的数学奥秘。

在数学周,学生们可以通过别出心裁的方式来思考数学。例如,在学习了找规律(pattern)概念后,二年级的学生走出课堂,在建筑、小区、超市、动物园、博物馆、美术馆等中积极地找规律;有的学生进一步深入社会调查,从数学的角度观赏杭州各大博物馆,用全新的视角学习博物馆知识,加深对数学的理解;有的学生关心生态环境,关注气象变化,利用数学的概念学习复杂的问题,更新对数学的认知。这些活动使学生们的学习经历更加真实、自然和鲜活,同时也让孩子们有机会从不同的角度了解数学,进而迈出了数学周的第一步,即“把世界带进课堂,用数学丈量世界”。

本周的数学周活动中,为了增进数学与其他学科之间的融合,增强学生将数学融入万物的意识,我与其他学科组的老师们密切合作,为各个年级的孩子们设计了多样化的学科整合性课堂活动。让孩子们在语言、体育、音乐、美术等课堂中都能体会到数学知识的广泛应用与深入渗透。数学学习不再只是书本中的基本知识与技能,而化身为无比灵活、广泛的一门科学。

数学成果展更是本次数学周的重头戏。

我们致力于为每一位学生提供平等的机会与舞台,鼓励学生们大胆尝试,深入探究,并且在小组合作中培养合作能力、沟通能力与解决问题的能力。

学生们自主选择数学主题和探究线索,制定探究计划,并循序渐进地完成探究循环中的每一个环节,最终更以个性化和创意性的方式展示自己团队的探究成果。

在本次成果展中,学生们以一名小小数学家的身份向大家讲解他们的探究成果。高年级许多学生都从数学史这一话题入手。他们将从前学习过的数学概念重新从数学史的角度进行审视。任何数学概念、公式、定理、思想都不是凭空产生的,而是承载着历史发展的深厚背景。学生们从历史出发,用数学的方式进行思考,确保课堂上的每一项新知识都能自然而然、水到渠成地融入他们的学习与生活。这项活动既符合学生的认知基础,又能激发学生的学习热情。

低年级学生的数学探究则采用了更为广泛的角度,如“大自然中的数学““建筑设计中的数学” “我眼中的数学”等话题。我们鼓励低龄段学生在学习每一个数学概念时,都能够以丰富的情境和发散的思维去强化理解,让学习不只是为了解决卷面上的题目,也是理解其内涵和应用意义。我们很高兴看到学生真正地享受探究的过程,在深入思考后发现科学的数学学习方法。

我们深知,数学能力的培养不能一蹴而就,而需要渗透在学生每天的学习与生活中。所以,杭州惠立学校将始终致力于培养学生全方面的数学能力,帮助学生强化对数学概念的认知,加深对数学应用的理解,并勤于探索,勇于创新。愿同学们将数学周的热情延续下去,成为一名终身的数学学习者!