Nothing Is More Important Than A Child’s Welfare

Wellington College Hangzhou always places the safety and wellbeing of our pupils as a top priority. This includes robust child protection and safeguarding policies and procedures. Our staff understand the central importance of this commitment and undertake annual training in safeguarding our pupils.

This week, all Wellington College Hangzhou academic and non-academic staff completed a compulsory training session on child protection and safeguarding.

The training was conducted by Basia Lubaczewska, Director of Academics (ITE) for Wellington College China. Basia has over 25 years’ experience working in education, having held international and UK Headship positions since 2007. She has worked extensively in the Middle East and Europe and more recently opened schools in London, Prague, Amsterdam, Dubai and Abu Dhabi. She has a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Education from the University of East Anglia and has been an ISI inspector for over five years.

Basia is also an Associate of Karen Ardley Associates and has travelled the world facilitating leadership programmes. She has worked closely with UK universities as a mentor of PGCE students and is excited to continue this work in China, being a strong believer in supporting teachers to be aspirational and brave in their approach to teaching.
In each of the six 90-minute sessions, Basia introduced the safeguarding agenda for schools, the different categories of child abuse, adults’ responsibilities in child protection and safeguarding, and most importantly, how our staff members should response to concerns that children are being abused or neglected.

Basia noted that staying safe is one of the key outcomes for children’s wellbeing. This is one of the main reasons why school staff need to enhance their ability to identify children exposed to different types of abuse, and then take the correct steps to address the situation. Being prepared and fully trained in this area is a core responsibility of all staff members working in an educational environment.

Basia outlined the four categories of abuse – neglect, physical abuse, sexual abuse, and emotional abuse – and taught staff how to recognise the different signs of each.

Staff  Responsibilities

Since our school staff spend a significant portion of their week in direct contact with pupils, they are often in a good position to identify unusual or out of character behaviour. Basia emphasised, however, that rather than investigating or trying to resolve a pupil’s issue themselves, the main responsibility for staff in safeguarding children lies in recognizing, responding to and reporting any signs of abuse.

To recognise whether a child is the victim of abuse, Basia said a staff member can ask themselves the following four questions. “Is the sign listed as an indicator of abuse?  Is the child’s behaviour out of character for the child? Does the child’s behaviour exceed the ‘normal’ range of behaviours? Is the child at risk of being harmed?” If the answer to any of these questions is “yes”, then staff should report the concern as soon as possible to the school’s safeguarding team.
As for responding, Basia noted four golden rules: take the child seriously, tell the child they have done the right thing by telling an adult, make an accurate record as soon as possible, and inform the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) without delay. She also highlighted four things that staff should not do, including promising confidentiality to children, investigating a child’s case, asking leading questions or making a child repeat the details of their story.

Designated Safeguarding Leads

In keeping with our commitment to child safeguarding, and in order to promote a clear and structured approach to dealing with any safeguarding issues that may arise, Wellington College Hangzhou has assigned a Safeguarding Team. The Wellington College Hangzhou Safeguarding Team includes;

  • Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL), David MacKinnon; Head of Pastoral Care
  • Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead, Alison Armstrong; Boarding Mistress
  • Huili School Hangzhou Safeguarding Officer, Lily Zhang; SEN teacher
  • Huili Nursery Hangzhou Safeguarding Officer, Angela Zhou, Huili Nursery Hangzhou Chinese Co-ordinator
  • Huili School Hangzhou Junior High Safeguarding Officer, Laura Perry; Deputy Head of Junior High
  • Wellington College International Hangzhou Safeguarding Officer, JoAnn Dunbar (Wellington College International Hangzhou Cover Teacher, ESL and Intervention Teacher

Together with all parents, members of staff, the Senior Leadership Team and Designated Safeguarding Leads, we look forward to a continued commitment to protecting the safety and wellbeing of our pupils. At Wellington College Hangzhou, the safety of our children is always our top priority.

保护儿童权益是头等大事

惠灵顿杭州校区始终视学生的安全和幸福为首要任务,制定并采取了稳健的儿童保护和权益维护策略与步骤,为员工组织每年一度的学生权益维护培训,深化员工对这一重要承诺的理解。
本周,惠灵顿杭州校区的教学团队和非教学团队教职员工参加了关于儿童保护和权益维护的全员义务培训。

本次培训主讲人为惠灵顿(中国)的ITE教学总监Basia Lubaczewska女士。Basia女士有25年以上的教育界从业经验。自2007年起,在英国和其他国家担任管理职位。她曾在中东和欧洲等地深入开展工作,近期在伦敦、布拉格、阿姆斯特丹、迪拜和阿布扎比开设学校。Basia女士持东安格利亚大学的教育文学学士学位,有五年以上担任民办学校视察机构(ISI)视察员的经验。

Basia女士还是凯伦·艾德蕾机构(Karen Ardley Associates)的合伙人,在世界各地开展领导力培训项目。她还是英国多所大学的学位教师教育证书课程(PGCE)辅导教师,并在中国继续这份工作。Basia女士认为,在教学过程中,教师要采取大胆而有抱负的教学方法。

在本次时长90分钟、共计六场的培训中,Basia女士介绍了学校维护儿童权益的议程、儿童虐待的种类和成年人保护儿童、维护儿童权益的职责,并重点讲解了当儿童遭受虐待或疏忽时,教职员工的应对措施。Basia女士指出,儿童幸福关怀的重要成效之一是安全。据此,学校教职员工需提高识别虐待儿童事件的能力,并采取正确的措施加以处理。时刻做好必要准备,接受全面相关培训,这是教育行业工作人员义不容辞的责任。

Basia女士指出虐待的四种类型,即疏忽、身体虐待、性虐待和精神虐待,并详细讲解了识别各类型虐待的具体方法。

员工责任
我校教职员工在工作日与学生接触较多,能更好地识别出儿童反常或异常的行为。值得注意的是,Basia女士强调,在维护儿童权益的过程中,员工的主要职责是识别虐待迹象,及时做出应对,完成汇报,不要擅自调查或尝试解决。

Basia女士讲到,要识别儿童是否遭受了虐待,教职员工要观察儿童是否呈现出虐待迹象,是否品性突然转变,是否表现得“不正常”,是否有被伤害的危险,等等。如果是,则应尽快将相关事宜汇报给校权益维护团队。
Basia女士提出应对儿童虐待案例的四条黄金守则,即严肃对待当事儿童,告诉当事儿童向成年人倾诉是正确的,尽快做准确记录,以及立即向指定权益维护主任(DSL)进行汇报。同时,Basia女士也指出了四条不应有的行为,即不要向当事儿童做出保密承诺,不要调查当事儿童案件,不要做诱导性提问,不要让当事儿童重复讲述其事件。
指定权益维护主任

为确保儿童权益得到维护,明确权益维护问题的结构化处理方式,惠灵顿杭州校区已成立权益维护团队,其成员如下:
  • 惠灵顿杭州校区权益维护主任(DSL)David MacKinnon
  • 惠灵顿杭州校区权益维护副主任 Alison Armstrong
  • 杭州惠立学校权益维护主管 钟治
  • 杭州惠立幼儿园权益维护主管 周艳芳
  • 杭州惠立学校初中部权益维护主管 Laura Perry
  • 杭州惠灵顿外籍人员子女学校权益维护主管 JoAnn Dunbar
在杭州惠灵顿校区,儿童的安全始终是头等大事。我校管理团队、指定权益维护主任,以及全体教职员工将携手所有家长,持续保证学生安全、维护学生权益。