Pastoral and Boarding

David MacKinnon

David MacKinnon

Head of Pastoral
View More

David MacKinnon

David MacKinnon graduated from Queen’s University in Canada with an honours degree in Life Sciences.  After getting his teaching degree, David went on to earn a Master’s Degree in Educational Technology from the University of British Columbia.

Although his specialism is maths and biology, he also has experience teaching chemistry, physics, swimming and even a bit of History.  David was a founding member of the Wellington College International Tianjin group, where he was a housemaster of the Orange.  While in Tianjin, he was also responsible for the after-school activity program and was the lead for teaching and learning in the Senior School.

David loves to play sports in any way, shape, or form, including; ice hockey, rollerblading, football, basketball and volleyball.  When he isn’t busy working at the school, he can be seen with his two lovely children, aged two and four years old.  He believes that every student has the potential to do great things and it is our role as educators to unlock that potential.  He also believes it is the school’s job to educate the whole pupil and help them develop into responsible, caring global citizens.

Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong

Boarding Mistress
View More

Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong moved to Hangzhou with her family in July 2018 to take on the responsibility of leading boarding at Huili School Hangzhou.  She has over 20 years of experience teaching in independent education in the UK.  Alison has a Bachelor of Education degree with honours in Physical Education and Sport. Prior to joining Huili she was a dedicated and passionate Boarding Housemistress for eight years at Barnard Castle School in the North of England.  She was responsible for a boarding house of approximately 50 girls aged 11-19 from around the world, where her role was to lead all aspects of female boarding, supporting their personal, academic, social and emotional needs through school – up until university.  She has experience in academic tracking, behaviour support and management and an excellent understanding of the UCAS and QCAS. Guiding pupils through Oxbridge and the Russel Group university process requires specialist understanding which she has learnt over the years.  This process, and the reference system for Universities both within the UK and Internationally is another area of her expertise. During her career Alison has always been heavily involved in, and passionate about the pastoral care and welfare of pupils and brings with her great experience.  She has taken on numerous roles and responsibilities that have been instrumental in developing her experience.  As Head of Personal Social and Careers Education, she rewrote, led and delivered the school’s PSHCE curriculum.She has been responsible for organising and leading school sports tours to South Africa, New Zealand and Chile and Argentina, where she thoroughly enjoyed the various cultural experiences and high quality sports fixtures – they were trips of a lifetime for all involved.
Her philosophy is that we are responsible for equipping pupils with the crucial skill sets required to help them prepare for an uncertain future and for the many jobs of the future that do not currently exist.  She believes in encouraging resilience and motivating pupils to break down problems and to find a creative solution in order to challenge themselves and their a personal capacity by looking at behaviour and mind-set towards an ever-changing world.

Joining Huili School Hangzhou, to set up and lead a brand new boarding house and boarding programme as part of Wellington College has been the pinnacle of opportunity. It is a chance or her to put all her skills to fruition.  The prospect of working with pupils from another culture helping them prepare for global citizenship and share her wealth of experience was as opportunity not to be missed.  Her ambition / aspiration is to create and develop the best boarding experience possible for the pupils within her care and to support their development. She aims to provide an environment of warmth, trust and empathy through working positively together, but also independently, with support while fostering trust giving individuals the chance to grow and flourish.

Daisy Zhang

Daisy Zhang

Counsellor
View More

Daisy Zhang

Daisy is a Nationally Registered Psychology Counselor and has training and experience both from China and abroad in many areas of counselling.
Graduating from Zhejiang University, Daisy got her MS in Human Development & Family Studies in Iowa State University with full a scholarship. Whilst in America, Daisy worked at organizing activities for Health Centre residents as well as guiding and encouraging those residents to overcome personal issues in their lives. Daisy also worked as a Graduate Teaching Assistant and so has excellent experience employed in school settings and working with children. She used to teach an AP psychology course. More recently she has worked as a counselor in Zhejiang University Mental Health Education and Counseling Center.
Daisy is a member of the China American Psychoanalytic Alliance (CAPA) and her psychological training includes psychodynamics, play therapy, Systemic Family Therapy, Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT), mindfulness & meditation, hypnosis, crisis intervention, etc.
Daisy works with, listens to and supports any children within our school who, for whatever reason, feel they need support in their personal lives. With counseling training and experiences with adults, she is also glad to support faculty and staff, individually or in a group.

Callum Donkin

Callum Donkin

SEN Teacher
View More

Callum Donkin

For the past three years Callum has been working in Egypt, firstly at the Modern English School, Cairo as a teaching and learning specialist. He then moved onto The British School Cairo where he worked in Year 4 as a classroom teacher and also teaching Physical Education.

Before working in Cairo, Callum was working in an autistic independent school in Brigg as Head of Key Stage 4 and PE Lead. Callum grew up in Yorkshire, England, and went to school in the farming town of Beverley. Following this Callum went to Bishop Burton where he received a sporting scholarship for rugby and graduated with a degree in Sports Coaching Development and Fitness.

Whilst in Egypt working as a teaching and learning specialist Callum completed his PGCE from the university of Sunderland. After completing this, Callum continued his education and studied an International Special Educational Needs Coordinators (ISENCO) course from the university of London.

Callum has a passion for all sports especially rugby. He has played rugby at a semiprofessional level since the age of 15 but due to injury had to retire early. His love for rugby took him into coaching and then later, teaching. Callum still enjoys playing and coaching rugby, and for the last two years started and developed Egypt’s first ever Touch Rugby Programme.

Callum’s love for teaching started after working with vulnerable children and children with additional needs. He strongly believes that all children are individuals and learn in their own way.

Lily Zhong

Lily Zhong

SEN Teacher
View More

Lily Zhong

Lily Zhong has 19 years teaching experience in both English and Special Education Needs. Before joining Huili School Hangzhou as an SEN teacher in 2018, she was employed in Dulwich College Beijing for 13 years, where she worked with children who either had EAL needs or a wide variety of learning needs, such as dyslexia, dyscalculia, ADHD etc. She is keen on supporting pupils and encouraging them to achieve their full potential.  
She gained her BS degree at Shenyang Technology University. Following that, she studied her Postgraduate Certificate in Children’s Development and Educational Psychology at Chinese Academy of Science. In addition, she has attended numerous domestic and international training, such as Cambridge English(UK), Teaching ESL (Australia), SENIB workshops, Understanding Learning Difficulties etc. which provided her with updated knowledge and vital skills that are necessary to be a successful and creative teacher.  
Lily is married and has a daughter aged 12. In her spare time, she enjoys music, reading, travelling, and most of all, spending time with her family.

Linda Wang

Linda Wang

English Support Teacher
View More

Linda Wang

Linda Wang taught English in Tianjin Foreign Studies University for many years after graduation from Tianjin Normal University. She moved to New Zealand in 2004 and continued her teaching career abroad. She has taught English to students who are from different countries with diverse cultural and educational backgrounds, distinct age groups with various needs and uneven levels. She came back from New Zealand to China last July and started working as an English support teacher in Huili, Hangzhou.

She received a Master’s Degree in Economics in Tianjin Finance and Economics University. Before that, she majored in foreign languages and literature in Tianjin Normal University and got her Bachelor’s Degree and Certificate of Post-graduate in English.  She also got the Certificate of TESL at New Zealand Institute of Studies.

She received a professional training in track and field events while she was in her secondary school, therefore, she is fond of sports.  Being a national-grade judge of track and field events, she has participated in many sports games which include; Annual NEC Marathon Tournament, Annual In-doors International Track and Field Events Invitation Meet, the 21st Univesiade and 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

As everyone knows, education acts as the most powerful tool for the individual’s personal growth and is thereforea an important element for the civilization of human society. The more developed life becomes, the more necessary education will be. Therefore, teaching is one of the most vital and prestigious jobs in our society. Being a teacher was always therefore her life-long dream. She thinks she is a lucky person who has been doing her favourite job her entire life. Teaching is a quite rewarding job especially when she sees her students growing mentally, physically as well as academically day by day. It is a life-long process that needs to be reinforced throughout life. She is passionate about teaching as she enjoys the process of teaching while learning and improving herself along with her students.

Andrew MacCarthy

Andrew MacCarthy

English Support Teacher
View More

Andrew MacCarthy

Andrew has been teaching for over twelve years. Prior to teaching, Andrew’s background was in business. After graduating from the University of Brighton, he moved into posts in supply-chain management and account coordination. Andrew discovered his love of teaching during a traveling experience in Australia and South East Asia. His first teaching experiences were as a teacher of English as a foreign language. Having decided to make a career in education, Andrew embarked on a PGCE. He then worked at international schools in South East Asia for the following ten years. During this time, Andrew gained extensive experience both as a primary school teacher and as a specialist teacher of children with English as an additional language.

As a full time student, Andrew attended the University of Brighton and gained a diploma in Business and Personnel. Following this, Andrew acquired several years of office experience. He then completed his BA (Hons) in Business Management. After moving into education he undertook a PGCE through the University of Sunderland. Then he embarked on an MA in International Education, which he passed with distinction, and was awarded the ‘Ede and Ravenscroft’ by the faculty of education.

Andrew’s interests include sport, music – especially playing guitar and singing; reading, writing and science. He is passionate about high-quality education because he believes it leads to children living fulfilling lives that are enormously valuable both to themselves and to the wider communities they impact. Andrew finds it incredibly motivating to contribute to that.

Hillary MacKinnon

Hillary MacKinnon

English Support Teacher
View More

Hillary MacKinnon

Mrs Hillary MacKinnon has 12 years’ work experience in international schools in China. Her work experience has been as an EAL teacher, Pre-Kindergarten teacher and school administrative officer. The rich experience allows her to view and appreciate ideas/opinions from different angles as a student, a parent and a teacher, as well as a westerner and someone from the East.

She joined Wellington College Tianjin in 2012 and worked for Wellington College Shanghai in 2013 as a member of the founding team.  It’s been an amazingly fascinating experience for her working in Wellington Schools – a truly multi-cultural community having families and teaching staff from all over the world. Having been a Wellingtonian for the past 7 years, she feels very proud to be a part of such a flourishing, welcoming and tightly united family where pupils learn and thrive every single day.  

Mrs MacKinnon holds a bachelor’s degree in Chinese Language and Literature from Wuhan University, China. She is also a holder of a TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) Certificate. ‘A good teacher can inspire hope, ignite the imagination, and instil a love of learning.’ This is Mrs MacKinnon’s passion in education- to be an inspiring teacher to help students to find their potential and assist them to succeed in the best way they can.

Amongst her interests, Mrs MacKinnon enjoys travelling, cooking, and reading. She has joined Hangzhou Huili School with her husband David MacKinnon, who is the Head of Pastoral, and their two young boys Lucas and Laine.  She looks forward to continuing to explore the city of Hangzhou and embracing her wonderful experience at this very new Wellington school-Hangzhou Huili School.

Tracy Tian

Tracy Tian

Matron
View More

Tracy Tian

幸福关怀和寄宿学院

马大伟

马大伟

幸福关怀部主任
了解更多

马大伟

马大伟老师毕业于加拿大皇后大学,获得生命科学荣誉学位。在获得教学资格后,马大伟老师继续在英属哥伦比亚大学攻读教育技术硕士学位。

虽然马大伟老师在大学期间主攻数学和生物学,但他拥有化学、物理、游泳、历史的教学经验经验。他是惠灵顿天津校区的创始成员之一,曾担任该校Orange学院的学院长。在天津工作期间,他还曾负责管理学校的课外课程活动,并担任高中部的教学主任。

马大伟老师热爱任何形式的体育运动,包括:冰球、轮滑、足球、篮球和排球。在业余时间,他会花时间陪伴他的两个可爱的孩子,一个两岁,另一个四岁。他相信,每个孩子都拥有巨大的潜能,作为教育工作者,我们应该帮助他们释放潜能,培养他们的责任心与世界观。

Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong

寄宿学院舍监
了解更多

Alison Armstrong

Alison Armstrong于2018年7月与家人一起来到杭州。在杭州惠立学校,她担任寄宿学院舍监的工作。她在英国独立教育领域拥有二十多年的教学经验。Alison持有体育教育荣誉学士学位。在加入惠立前,她在英格兰北部的Barnard Castle学校担任了八年的寄宿学院舍监,负责管理来约五十名来自世界各地的、十一岁至十九岁女孩的寄宿生活,帮助他们解决学业、社交、情感方面的困难。此外,她在学术支持,行为支持和管理方面拥有丰富的经验,对UCAS和QCAS有比较全面深入的了解。在帮助学生申请牛津大学、剑桥大学、罗素集团大学的过程中,Alison积累了丰富的升学指导经验。
Alison致力于关心学生的成长和发展,增强他们的幸福感。她在幸福关怀领域拥有丰富的工作经验,曾担任不同的职位,这些经验对她的个人发展具有积极的影响。作为个人社会职业发展部的负责人,她完善了学校的PSHCE课程。此外,她一直担任学校体育旅游活动的负责人,曾带领学生前往南非、新西兰、智利、阿根廷。她和所有学生一样,在享受旅行的同时,体验了不同的文化和先进的运动装备。

Alison认为,学校必须培养学生的关键技能,帮助他们适应日新月异的全球大环境并茁壮成长。作为老师,我们必须培养学生的韧性,鼓励他们用创造力解决问题,不断提升他们的个人能力。对她来说,在杭州惠立学校创建并领导一个全新的寄宿学院是一次机遇,也是一次挑战。她会运用自己多年的工作经验,帮助来自不同文化背景的孩子成为真正的全球公民。她希望通过自己的努力为学生创造优质的寄宿环境,为他们提供有助其成长的沃土,培养他们的韧性、理解力和同理心,帮助他们自信地迎接幸福充实的未来。

章扬清

章扬清

心理健康教师
了解更多

章扬清

章扬清本科毕业于浙江大学,硕士期间获得全额奖学金,在美国爱荷华州立大学(ISU)完成理学硕士,专业为人类发展和家庭研究。

现为国家二级心理咨询师, 中美精神分析联盟(CAPA)成员。持续接受中美心理分析师个人督导与个人体验。长期与儿童、青少年及成年早期人群工作,接受精神分析,儿童中心游戏治疗,家庭治疗,绘画治疗,正念冥想,辩证行为疗法(DBT),危机干预等培训学习。

心理健康领域经验:曾为美国老年学协会 (AGA)成员,在绿山养老(Green Hill)的老人策划并筹办日常娱乐休闲活动,同时负责疏导和鼓励帮助他们克服生活中遇到的难题。

在教育领域的经验:在美国期间,章扬清持续担任研究生教学与科研助理职位,为美国本科生授课,熟悉多元文化下的教育经验。回国后,她曾教授美国大学先修课程(AP)心理学科目。

在进入惠立工作之前,章扬清曾在浙江大学心理健康与咨询中心担任咨询师。

Callum Donkin

Callum Donkin

特殊教育教师
了解更多

Callum Donkin

在过去的三年里,Callum一直在埃及工作。起初,他在开罗的现代英语学校担任教学老师。之后,他加入了开罗英国学校,担任四年级的班主任老师以及体育老师。

在前往开罗前,Callum任职于Brigg的一所私立自闭症学校,担任小学部及体育部主管。Callum在英国约克郡长大,在Beverley农业镇上学。之后,他获得了橄榄球运动的奖学金,前往Burton主教学校继续学习,并获得了体育教练与健身学位。

在埃及,Callum一边工作,一边攻读桑德兰大学的PGCE课程。毕业后,他继续深造,完成了伦敦大学国际特殊教育需求协调专员(ISENCO)课程。

Callum热爱运动,尤其是橄榄球。他十五岁进入半职业橄榄球联赛,但因伤病提早退役。他对橄榄球的热爱促使他继续从事相关教学工作。他曾创建埃及第一个触控橄榄球项目。

Callum对教学的热爱始于他教授弱势、有特殊需求的儿童的工作经历。他坚信所有的孩子都是独立的个体,包括他们的学习方式。

钟治

钟治

特殊教育教师
了解更多

钟治

钟治老师拥有19年的英语和特殊教育及学生发展的教学经验。在2018年加入杭州惠立双语学校担任特殊教育老师之前,她在北京德威英国国际学校任教13年,主要负责对外英语和学生发展的教学工作,涉及的领域有对外英语、阅读障碍、数学障碍和多动症等等。钟老师擅长如何给有学习障碍的学生提供有针对性的帮助,以达到提升学习质量、发挥学生最大潜能的目的。
钟老师在沈阳工业大学取得了学士学位,之后她又在中国科学院完成了儿童教育心理学的研究生进修的课程。此外,她还参加了国内外很多相关课程的学习与交流,例如英国剑桥英语教学、澳大利亚ESL对外英语教学、北京国际学校特殊教育联盟研讨等,她热衷于把优秀的教学理念变成课堂的实践,让更多的学生从中受益。
钟老师有一个12岁的女儿。闲暇时,她喜欢音乐、读书、旅游,但她最享受的是和家人在一起的时光。

Linda Wang

Linda Wang

英文教师
了解更多

Linda Wang

王兴玲具有多年国内外英语教学经验。她曾就读于天津师范大学外国语言文学系,毕业后任职于天津外国语大学英语系,担任大学英语教学工作。在2004年前往新西兰,继续她的海外教学事业。她曾为来自不同国家、不同文化及教育背景、不同年龄群体、不同需求、不同语言水平的学生教授英语。于2018年8月回国后加入杭州惠立学校,担任小学部英语辅导教师一职。

王兴玲曾获得:经济学硕士学位,英语专业研究生课程证书,英语专业学士学位以及新西兰教师资格证书。

王兴玲从幼年时就喜欢体育运动,擅长田径项目,她本人在初中阶段作为田径特长生被选入专业队接受培训。业余时间里,作为一名对田径运动情有独钟的爱好者,她考取了国家级田径裁判证书,并参加过各种体育赛事的裁判工作,其中包括年度NEC马拉松锦标赛,年度室内国际田径邀请赛,第二十一界世界大学生运动会以及2008年北京奥运会。

众所周知,教育在个人成长的过程中扮演了至关重要的角色,因此,教书育人在当今科技飞速发展时期显得尤为重要。教师职业是她一生的梦想,她非常感恩一直以来在从事自己最喜欢的工作,特别是当她看到通过自身的努力,帮助学生在身,心,智各方面不断提升时深感欣慰。人的一生是一个不断学习和提高的过程。她热爱教学,更期盼在教学的过程中,不断适应新变化,迎接新挑战,提高综合能力,和学生一同学习,共同进步。

Andrew MacCarthy

Andrew MacCarthy

英文教师
了解更多

Andrew MacCarthy

Andrew拥有十二年多年的教学经验。在此之前,他在商业领域工作。从Brighton大学毕业后,他任职于供应链管理和客户协调部门。他在澳大利亚和东南亚旅行时发现了自己对教学的热情,并开始从事英语教学工作。此后,他获得了PGCE证书并再东南亚的一所国际学校工作了十年。在此期间,他从事不同的英语教学工作,曾担任小学教师、少儿英语教师以及英语作为第二语言教师,积累了丰富的教学经验。

Andrew毕业于Brighton大学,学习商业和人事管理专业。他还获得了工商管理学士学位。投身教育事业后,他通过Sunderland大学获得了PGCE证书,并获得了国际教育一等荣誉硕士学位,被教育学院授予Ede and Ravenscroft奖项。

Andrew的兴趣包括体育和音乐。他特别喜欢弹吉他、唱歌、 阅读、写作以及学习与科学关的知识。他致力于为学生提供高质量教学。他相信,高质量的教学能帮助孩子收获充实的人生,对他们自己以及对他们所生活的社区产生深远的影响。对此,他充满了激情和动力。

赵慧

赵慧

英文教师
了解更多

赵慧

赵慧老师拥有12年的国际学校工作经验。在过去的工作中她担任过英文为第二语言课程教师、学前教育中心教师以及学校行政管理部门职务。这些丰富的工作经验赋予了赵慧老师一种多维视角,使她可以站在学生,家长,老师,以及西方人和东方人的角度来审视和欣赏不同的想法和意见。

她于2012年加入了天津惠灵顿外籍人员子女学校。在2013年,她作为创建团队的一员在上海惠灵顿国际学校工作了一年。对她来说,惠灵顿学校是一个真正的多元文化社区,这里有来自世界各地的家庭和教职员工。这种多元文化对赵慧老师来说有一种令人着迷的吸引力。作为一位有着七年惠灵顿教育工作经历的人,她为能够成为这样一个蓬勃发展,紧密协作的惠灵顿大家庭的一员,深感骄傲。最令她骄傲的则是在这里每天随处可见的积极向上、努力拼搏的惠灵顿学子。

赵慧老师获得武汉大学颁发的汉语言文学专业文学学士学位。同时她持有英文为第二语言教学资格证书。“一个好的教师能够激发希望,点燃想象,同时能够循循诱导学生对学习的热爱。”这句话正诠释赵慧女士对教育工作的感悟和热情—当一位能激发学生发觉自身潜力的教师,帮助学生找到其通向成功的路径。

在她广泛的兴趣中,赵慧尤其喜爱旅行,烹饪和阅读。与她共同加入杭州惠立学校的的还有她的先生Mr. MacKinnon(马大伟先生), 他在我校担任幸福关怀课程主任,还有他们的两个可爱的儿子,Lucas 和Laine。赵慧老师非常期待探索杭州这座城市,同时也非常期待在这所崭新的惠灵顿学校-杭州惠立学校的精彩旅程。

田卿卿

田卿卿

寄宿学院管理员
了解更多

田卿卿