The Week Ahead 20161014

LITERACY AND LANGUAGE SPACE/LEARNING POD

This learning space is divided into several different areas: The Village of Crowthorne, mark making and The Café.  These areas provide a wealth of learning and development opportunities across the seven areas of the EYFS:

Personal, Social, Emotional Development

These spaces provide opportunities for children to make relationships, build their self-confidence and self-esteem in their own ability and manage feelings and behaviour by sharing, taking turns and listening to others feelings. They can bring their own storyline to their play and during play children can interact positively with each other and increase their social competence and emotional maturity (Smilansky and Shefatya (1990)). Play helps children to share toys and experiences and learn how to take turns by responding to their friend’s feelings (Sapon-Shevin, Dobbelgere, Carrigan, Goodman, & Mastin, 1998; Wheeler, 2004).

“Play is vital to children’s social development. Practice both verbal and nonverbal communication skills by negotiating roles, trying to gain access to ongoing play, and appreciating the feelings of others” (Spodek & Saracho, 1998). (http://www.education.com/reference/article/importance-play–social-emotional/)

Communication and Language

These spaces provide enabling environments where children can recreate situations and develop their language ability, whilst listening to others and taking account of each other’s feelings.  Children can recreate familiar situations from home in a safe environment. Children feel relaxed whilst playing and will therefore communicate more freely at the early stages of language development.  Play helps with language acquisition (Sachs, 1984) as there is no pressure, just fun. (http://www.education.com/reference/article/importance-play/)

In role play, children develop their communication and language and as they talk about what they are doing, initially using just one or two-words and later developing conversation, having to take turns, negotiate and listen to the ideas of others to imagine and create roles and scenarios.  (https://www.early-education.org.uk/sites/default/files/Final%20Version%20Core%20Experiences%20booklet.pdf)

Physical Development

Mark making gives children the opportunity to develop their fine motor skills.  Initially they will start by creating larger mark making movements and refine these as they gain greater control with pencils, pens and brushes.  The natural progression in small motor development is from scribbles to shapes and forms to representational pictures. Our role is support their creativity and celebrate each stage as they use language to express their work.  This can be done by offering a wide variety of resources from sand, paints, crayons, pencils, writing aids, and envelopes, anything that may encourage and stimulate their interest.(http://www.foundationyears.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Mark_Marking_Matters.pdf)

Role play supports their physical development, through outdoor roleplay involving running and climbing, and through developing their fine motor skills to dress babies, put on dressing up clothes and put home-corner and picnic items in and out of boxes and cupboards.

Literacy

Through their play, young children explore imaginary and abstract worlds, making meaning through story making, mark making and drawing. (http://www.foundationyears.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Mark_Marking_Matters.pdf)

Mathematics

Children develop their problem-solving, reasoning and numeracy by exploring size, placement and quantities – which clothes fit which dolls, for example, setting the table, and hanging up dressing-up clothes. In role play children can use numbers, counting the number of people at the picnic, deciding how many plates and how much food to pack, or counting up the aliens who are dead on the ground. It can provide a context for children to expand their knowledge and understanding of the world, as they imagine different events and explore different roles and jobs. (https://www.early-education.org.uk/sites/default/files/Final%20Version%20Core%20Experiences%20booklet.pdf)

Expressive Arts and Design

Imaginative play not only aids intellectual development but also improves children’s social skills and their creativity. In addition it gives children a chance to play out events that they have observed or experienced in real life.  (http://www.teachpreschool.org/2011/06/role-play-in-early-years/)

In role play children can use their imagination to devise and act out storylines, put together sequences of movements, and develop ideas with others.

Understanding of the World

Role play allows children to recreate familiar experiences and then build on these shared experiences with others.  They may notice similarities and differences with others and help them to understand what is unique about themselves.  They can share experiences and make friends through play.

语言活动室

 

The Village of Crowthorne

We would like to introduce you to the village of Crowthorne.  Wellington College UK is located in the village and we decided to recreate the village with a few differences. The art work was designed by our volunteer Lorna and the children have helped to decorate the village scene.  The children are able to arrange and change the village by driving the school bus, fire engine and flying the aeroplane.  The setting will change over time as interesting additions arrive, maybe dinosaurs or sea creatures.  Children really love playing in this area, pretending to drive and using their imagination to change how the village looks.

语言活动室

Our Mark Making Area

Where children feel their creativity is valued and respected they will become prolific mark makers. Children love to be creative and demonstrate what they can achieve in mark making, mathematical graphics, writing and drawing and this promotes their self-esteem.

语言活动室

The Café – Role play

Welcome to our café! Children enjoy playing and pretending, they learn to look after resources, tidy up learning The Wellington values of respect and responsibility.  Menus are created and children decide what role they want and the experience begins.

语言活动室

每周快讯 20161014

语言活动室

语言活动室被划分为几个不同的学习区域:克罗索恩村、自由创作区及小餐馆。这些学习区域为孩子们提供了丰富的学习与发展机会,具体可以概括为英国早期基础教育体系中的七大学习与发展领域:

个人、社会和情感发展

在这些学习区域内,孩子们以自己的能力结交朋友、建立自尊和自信,通过分享、倾听、轮番活动来管控自身的情绪和行为。在玩耍中,他们可以分享自己的故事,并且和其他孩子积极互动,从而提高社会交往能力以及情感成熟度(Smilansky & Shefatya (1990))。玩耍让孩子们有机会分享玩具和经验,通过回应同伴的情感需求,他们学习如何轮流交替进行活动 (Sapon-Shevin, Dobbelgere, Carrigan, Goodman, & Mastin, 1998; Wheeler, 2004)。

“玩耍对儿童的社交发展是至关重要的,讨论所扮演的角色、一起玩耍、了解同伴的情感需求有助于培养孩子的语言沟通技能和非语言沟通技能。”(Spodek & Saracho, 1998)。(http://www.education.com/reference/article/importance-play–social-emotional/)

沟通和语言

这些学习区域为孩子营造再创造的环境,当他们倾听别人并考虑到对方感受时,他们的语言能力将得到发展。孩子们可以在一个安全的环境中重现熟悉的情况。孩子们在玩耍时感到轻松,因此在语言发展的早期阶段会更自由地交流。玩耍有助于语言习得(Sachs, 1984),因为孩子在玩的时候没有压力,而是充满乐趣的。(http://www.education.com/reference/article/importance-play/)

角色扮演有助于孩子发展沟通和语言技能,当孩子们谈论他们正在做的事时,最初使用的是简单的单词,随后逐渐发展起复杂的对话,他们学习轮流、依次活动,讨论并倾听他人的想法,想象并创造角色和场景。(https://www.early-education.org.uk/sites/default/files/Final%20Version%20Core%20Experiences%20booklet.pdf)

体能发展

自由创作让孩子有机会发展其精细运动技能。最初,他们画的图形大而潦草,随着对绘画工具的控制越来越自如,他们的绘画将变得越发精细。精细运动技能的自然发展过程是从潦草的书写过渡到形状的绘制,从形状过渡到有代表性的图片。老师应当协助孩子创作,积极鼓励他们用语言描述作品。我们会提供一系列资源,例如沙子、颜料、蜡笔、铅笔、写作辅助工具、信封等任何可以激发孩子兴趣的材料。(http://www.foundationyears.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Mark_Marking_Matters.pdf)

户外的角色扮演活动会用到跑、爬等体育技能,因此可以促进孩子的体能发展。在提高精细运动技能的同时,比如为玩偶装扮、穿衣服、把厨房餐具和野餐工具放入盒子和橱柜或将其取出,孩子的体能也会得到发展。

读写能力

儿童通过玩耍探索虚构和抽象的世界,通过讲故事、自由创作、绘画赋予其意义。(http://www.foundationyears.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Mark_Marking_Matters.pdf)

数字和逻辑能力

在一些活动中,比如,为不同的玩偶装扮不同的服装、布置桌面、挂放角色扮演的衣服,孩子通过探索物品的大小尺寸、布局、数数,发展解决问题的能力、推理能力和数字运用能力。在角色扮演中,孩子们计算野餐的人数、餐盘和食物的数量及丧命的外星人数。角色扮演为孩子营造了一种环境,供他们想象不同的活动,探索不同的角色和职业,以此增长知识以及对世界的了解。(https://www.early-education.org.uk/sites/default/files/Final%20Version%20Core%20Experiences%20booklet.pdf)

表现力和艺术设计

充满想象力的玩耍不但帮助孩子发展智力,而且能够提高孩子社会交往技能和创造力。除此之外,它为孩子提供机会,展示他们在日常生活中的观察所得和体验。(http://www.teachpreschool.org/2011/06/role-play-in-early-years/)

在角色扮演中,孩子能够凭借想象力,设计并表演故事情节,将动作串联起来,和同伴一起构思。

认知能力

角色扮演允许孩子根据自身体验进行再创造,并和其他孩子共同体验。在此过程中,他们会注意到和其他孩子的相似之处和不同之处,这能够帮助他们理解自身独特之处。同时,他们会在玩耍中分享经验,结交朋友。

语言活动室

 

克罗索恩村

我们很高兴向您介绍克罗索恩村。英国惠灵顿公学位于克罗索恩村,因此,我们决定在幼儿中心再现略有些不同的克罗索恩村。语言活动室内张贴的大幅美术作品是由志愿者Lorna创作的,孩子们也一同参与了创作。他们可以在村内驾驶校车、消防车和飞机。之后,我们会为克罗索恩村添置不同的玩具,可能是恐龙,也可能是海洋生物。孩子们非常喜欢在这一学习区域玩耍,他们假装自己在开车,并运用丰富的想象力改变村庄的风貌。

语言活动室

自由创作区

当孩子们的创作得到重视和尊重,他们愿意创作更多的作品。孩子们热爱创造,并乐于展示他们自由创作的作品,比如数字图表、写作及绘画,自由创作区的设置能够帮助孩子提升自信。

语言活动室

餐馆—角色扮演区

欢迎来到餐馆!孩子喜欢玩耍和装扮,在这个过程中,他们学会爱惜玩具、整理玩具,践行惠灵顿价值观—–尊重和责任。我们设计了菜单,孩子们可以选择他们喜欢的角色,探索之旅就此开启。

语言活动室