The Week Ahead 20161028

This week, we are thinking about getting ready for the cooler weather ahead! Winter is on its way as we head in to November and it is important that as the nights draw in and the evenings become darker, that we prepare our Wellingtonians for the seasonal changes afoot.

As the weather becomes colder, it is important that we have the right clothing, footwear, outerwear and headgear to protect us from the chills. Weather does not prevent us from being outdoors; there is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing! Please do check with your class teacher to make sure you are providing everything that your child needs to be fully involved in everything we do here at the setting.

The Week Ahead – 26th October 2016

As you know many animals hibernate during the winter months, sleeping through until the snow thaws and spring advances, bringing new life and fresh starts with it. Our pupils cannot hibernate during the winter months, but I’d like to revisit the issue of sleep (adapted from The Good Night Guide for Children provided by the Sleep Council, UK www.sleepcouncil.com), so that we can all consider how best to support the children through the darker months. As you are aware, we do advise that pupils arrive before 08:30 as this is when curriculum time commences and peak learning takes place. However, if pupils arrive at 08:30 tired and grumpy, active learning cannot take place. Instead, we see tantrums, lethargy and a lack of motivation to be involved in activities. As adults, we are in charge of the bedtime routine for our children and I hope you find this useful to ensuring a positive routine is established.

Quality sleep is essential for children’s growth and development

We need to pass on the skill of good sleep to children as early as possible to allow them to get the greatest benefit from an early age. The ‘achievement’ of sleep is a learned skill which will aid health, growth and mental function for life. As far as children are concerned the main benefit of sleep is the release of growth hormone, encouraging normal growth and development. Secondly the brain benefits by aiding the process of concentration – the making sense of the day’s events, the things learned at the setting and the skills being developed as they grow up. Thirdly, healthy brain development and emotional/mental health are encouraged by the ‘de-toxifying’ benefits of good sleep. There’s an increasing body of evidence showing the damaging effect on children and young adults who get less sleep than they need – from weight gain to depression, from poor performance and concentration to reduced creative ability and lower immunity to diseases. Parents need to be aware of the potential long term harm of not getting enough sleep and not developing good sleep habits.

The Week Ahead – 26th October 2016

Most younger children respond well to a bedtime routine

This is normally along the lines of dinnertime followed by quiet play, bath, story and then bed with bedtime around the same time each evening. Parents shouldn’t expect children to go to sleep immediately when they are in bed (after all, most adults don’t) and they should be allowed to play quietly or read / look at a book for a little while until they drop off.

How much sleep is normal?

Most toddlers sleep about 12 hours by the age of three. At this age they can have difficulty in falling or staying asleep. They can fight sleep because they don’t like the separation from their parents. They often have a favourite toy, dummy or comforter to help them sleep, while a night light helps those who are afraid of the dark. Children aged four to six tend to sleep between 10½ to 11½ hours at night.

The Week Ahead – 26th October 2016

Creating the perfect environment for sleep

Whether for a baby, child, teenager or an adult, a restful room with a comfortable, fresh bed can only help in the achievement of good sleep. Where possible, a child’s bedroom should be the room in which they SLEEP – young children shouldn’t have a TV / computer in their bedroom. Children of all ages should be encouraged to put their things away and keep their room uncluttered and comfortable. Again this approach should help to instil a respect for sleep and its benefits. If possible, divide the room into separate activity and sleep ‘zones’.

Absolute basics are:

  • A room away from noise, but within hearing of an adult – quiet is essential for quality rest and sleep
  • Suitable curtains which create a decent ‘dark room’ in winter and summer are essential, as exposure to light first thing in the morning ‘resets’ the body clock and can disrupt sleep – especially in the summer
  • The room should be well aired before bed time if necessary and should not be too warm – we sleep better in a cooler environment. Ideally room temperature should be between 16-24°C (20°C for babies and young children, who find it harder to regulate body temperature)
  • A fresh bed and bedding are essential (washed with detergents), and again well aired
  • It is very important that there is no smoking in rooms where children sleep as this can lead to breathing problems and other health issues
  • Younger children especially need easy access to a potty or toilet – more importantly, they need to know where to find them!
  • Fresh water should be within reach by the bed in a beaker or cup as appropriate

 

How to make it work for you

Ideally, we want our pupils to arrive at 08:30, ready for a day of exploring and discovering. To make this happen, many families need to be out of the house and on the road by 08:00, therefore breakfast and dressing-time need to start around 07:00. If a child is awake by 06:30 – 07:00, there should be sufficient time for this to take place. If we work backwards, to get the recommended sleep, children should be in bed by 19:00 – 20:00 (depending upon their age). This means that dinner, play, bath and story time needs to start from around 17:00. At such a young age, routines need to be rather regimented, but it is worth it once they are established – trust us, it works.

每周快讯 20161028

本周让我们一起思考如何应对天气转凉 。11月即将到来,冬天的脚步越来越近,夜晚开始变得越来越长,黑夜变得更加深沉,惠灵顿人是时候为应对季节变化做准备了。

随着天气逐渐转凉,我们应注意及时添加保暖衣物,如外套和鞋帽。天气的好坏不会影响孩子们的户外活动,但是不合适的着装却会影响孩子活动!请和您孩子的班级老师确认您是否已为他/她准备了所需的衣物,确保他/她能够充分参与幼儿中心的每个活动。

The Week Ahead – 26th October 2016

正如您所知,许多动物在冬季会冬眠,直至冬雪融化,大地返春,万物复苏。我们的孩子当然不会冬眠,但在此我想重温一下睡眠问题(改写自英国睡眠研究会的文章“儿童夜间休息指南” www.sleepcouncil.com),以帮助孩子科学有效的度过漫长的冬夜。大家一定知道,我们建议孩子每天上午8:30之前到幼儿中心,这是教学计划中设定的入园时间,因此我们将在8点30分之后安排大量的教学活动。但是,如果孩子8:30抵达幼儿中心时因睡眠不足而感到疲倦和暴躁,他/她就无法继续积极有效的学习,取而代之的是大发脾气,提不起劲,不愿加入到活动中。作为家长,我们负责制定孩子的就寝计划,我希望这篇文章能够为您的计划制定提供帮助。

高质量的睡眠对孩子的成长和发展至关重要

我们应尽快让孩子养成良好的睡眠习惯,让他们在小时候就能从中受益。高质量睡眠是一项可以通过学习获得的技能,它有益于身心健康、个体成长及心智功能。对于孩子而言,睡眠最有益之处在于睡眠中会分泌出生长激素,这种激素可以促进孩子的生长发育。其次,良好的睡眠能使大脑受益,因为高质量睡眠能够帮助孩子集中注意力,从而去理解日常活动、学习知识以及在成长过程中不断发展技能。第三,高质量睡眠能促进新陈代谢,从而有利大脑的健康发展和心理健康。越来越多的证据表明睡眠不足对幼儿造成的破坏性影响。这种影响包括从体重增加到抑郁,从表现不佳、注意力不集中到创造力降低和免疫力下降。家长需要了解长期缺乏睡眠和无法形成良好睡眠习惯所造成的潜在危害。

大部分年幼儿童都能够良好地适应就寝计划

科学的就寝计划通常是在每天饭后,固定时间让孩子安静地玩耍、沐浴、讲故事,然后上床睡觉。家长不能指望孩子上床后迅速进入睡眠状态(毕竟有些成人都无法做到快速入眠)。我们应适当允许他们在睡前安静玩耍一段时间或者阅读一则小故事,直到他们慢慢进入梦乡。

The Week Ahead – 26th October 2016

睡多久才合适?

许多幼儿到3岁前需要12小时左右的睡眠时间。在这个年龄阶段,让他们睡觉可能会存在一些困难。他们不想睡觉,因为他们不愿和父母分开。他们通常需要一个喜爱的玩具、玩偶或其他安慰物品帮助他们入眠,另外,一盏小夜灯对害怕黑暗的孩子也有帮助。4至6岁的孩子则可能每晚会睡10.5至11.5小时。

营造舒适的睡眠环境

无论是婴儿、儿童、青少年还是成人,一间安静的房间并配以一张舒适、干净的床能帮助促进睡眠,孩子的卧室应尽可能不安装电视机或电脑。我们应当鼓励各年龄阶段的儿童把卧室收拾干净,保持其洁净、舒适。这么做为了让孩子尊重睡眠时间、了解睡眠的益处。如果可以,家长可以把卧室划分成活动区及睡眠区。

The Week Ahead – 26th October 2016

营造良好的睡眠环境应做到以下几点:

  • 卧室应远离噪音,但需在大人听得见的距离内—-安静的环境对于高质量休息和睡眠至关重要
  • 安装合适的窗帘很重要,它们在冬天和夏天能够保持卧室适当的暗度,一到早晨,光线透过窗帘照进房内,孩子们的生物钟发挥作用,睡眠停止(特别是在夏天的时候)
  • 如有需要,在睡前,卧室需要良好的通风,同时室温不能过高,因为在凉爽的环境下,我们能睡得更好。理想的室温介于16-24°C(婴儿和幼儿自我体温调节能力有限,他们适宜20°C的室温)
  • 一张干净的床和洁净的床上用品是必不可少的(可以用洗涤剂清洗),卧室同样需要良好的通风
  • 房间内禁止吸烟,这很重要,否则会导致儿童呼吸道问题及其他健康问题。
  • 幼儿的卧室需要能够快速到达洗手间通道。更重要的是,小朋友需要知道在哪里可以找到厕所!
  • 饮用水需要放在床边触手可得的地方,可将水装在大口杯或其他合适的杯子里

 

如何有效制定就寝计划

理想情况下,我们希望孩子们8:30到幼儿中心,准备一天的探索和学习。

为此,可能许多家长需要8:00之前就从家里出发了,以此推算7:00左右孩子就需要开始洗漱穿戴并进食早餐。这样如果孩子6:30至7:00左右醒来,他们就有充足的时间准备。

这意味着根据孩子年龄的不同,他们需要在前一天晚上7点-8点睡觉。而晚餐、玩耍、沐浴和讲故事需要从下午5:00左右开始。在低龄幼儿阶段,家长需要严格执行就寝计划,一旦计划被建立并贯彻,你会发现这一切都是值得的,相信我们,你的就寝计划一定会起作用的。