The Week Ahead 20161104

We’ve been as busy as ever recently and the pupils have had plentiful opportunity to continue along their learning journey. The weather may have cooled, but that hasn’t stopped the pupils from exploring the outside learning spaces – being able to experience the seasonal changes is very important; not only to see the changes, but to feel, hear and smell the environment around is vital to understanding and appreciating what late autumn / early winter is all about. The leaves are crispy, they feel dry to the touch and crunch easily in little hands. Whilst the rain falls, the pupils are able to sit and listen to the sounds of nature. They can observe the raindrops running down the windows, anticipating which raindrop will make its way to the bottom of the glass first. The doors of the classrooms can be pulled back so that the children experience the rain whilst remaining dry and cosy inside. After the rain has fallen, the smell of the air is different, there are puddles to splash in and the ground is softer to walk on. There are learning opportunities EVERYWHERE.

Early Years 1

The Early Years 1 pupils had an animal parade last week which saw the setting filled with brightly coloured costumes; insects, jungle animals, domestic pets and cute little bugs were found everywhere. Why? Well, what better way to learn about the animals and insets of the world than to become them. Plus, it is much easier than bringing a real tiger in to the library to sing with the children!

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

Early Years 2

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

Early Years 2 pupils have been very sensory recently and have had the delights of using their senses to enhance learning. Have you ever added ground coffee beans or glitter to playdough? How about vanilla or orange extract? EY2 did and it was glorious! They also went out exploring the gardens, collecting leaves and studying the creatures that they found. Lots of autumn leaves were gathered before using them for art activities.

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

Early Years 3

Early Years 3 pupils have been busy reviewing their letter sounds and are being introduced to picture books to support their learning. Books without words? What’s the point of that? The point is crucial to allowing a child to think, observe, reflect, explore and make sense of what they see. Pictures allow children to structure their story, considering what happens in the beginning, middle and end. It reinforces the use of imagination; what could happen, what parts of the picture are obvious to the reader, what details are subtler. Picture books promote communication and language; they give a platform from which to have conversations about what a child sees (which may differ from what an adult sees). They allow adults to see the world through the eyes of the child, which can be rather refreshing. Many parents are new to supporting their child to read and to this end, Nikki Street (EY3 English Teacher and Wellbeing Coordinator) held parent information sessions. The sessions have provided hints and tips on promoting a love of books at home.

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

The ‘Write’ Time

Once children are introduced to phonics and books, it is often assumed that they will start to write. But when is the ‘write’ time? In short, not until a child is ready. Firstly, there’s a very natural process to go through first before recognisable letters or words are produced. It’s an exciting moment when your child begins to experiment with different-shaped scribbles and patterns. This is known as ‘mark making’. It is the start of a journey towards being able to write and is a real developmental milestone.

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

Mark making is important for many reasons. It is a visible way for children to tell stories and express feelings, record what they have to say, solve problems and discover solutions – and sometimes it is just an outlet for pure physical enjoyment. As the precursor to writing, the importance of mark making for young learners cannot be underestimated. By providing your child with a variety of mark-making opportunities you can help them develop imaginatively, creatively and physically whilst recognising the efforts made by your child will further enhance your understanding of them as an individual.

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

Children are born with a natural exploratory drive and desire to communicate their thoughts and feelings. From the moment of birth, children strive to make sense of their word and quickly reveal their unique characteristics as their personalities, preferences and different developmental pathways unfold. Children learn from everything they do but their development depends, in part, on the quality and range of experiences they have received both in the environment of their setting and at home. Some children have had opportunities with mark making from their earliest years, while others have had limited experiences for a variety of reasons.

Through play, young children explore imaginative and abstract worlds, making meaning through story making, mark making and drawing. As their ideas develop, they often create increasingly elaborate versions of their understanding of the world around them. In an emotionally secure environment, where their creativity is valued and respected, children will often become prolific mark makers.

When children realise that marks can be used symbolically to carry meaning, in much the same way as the spoken word, they begin to use marks as tools to make their thinking visible. These marks will support the developing concepts in mathematics, and language in relation to their play.

Sometimes marks are made for the pure physical enjoyment of the activity – the feel of the felt tip pen as it glides over the surface of the whiteboard or the chalk as it grates over the bumpy tarmac, the sight of the brightly-coloured dribbles of paint as they run down the paper on the easel, or the sensation of the glue, oozing between children’s fingers as they spread it over the paper. On these occasions, children have no interest in an end product at all; the physical activity is an end in itself and an opportunity for them to experiment and explore with their senses, developing confidence and dexterity through the process.

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

At other times, children may take delight in using their mark making to tell stories and express their feelings through pictures and symbols of increasing sophistication. They may decide that their mark making only tells half the story and choose to provide a full narrative which they invite you to ‘scribe’.

On yet other occasions, they may be intrigued by an object or an event and be more concerned with recording exactly what they see, through careful scientific observation and meticulous draughtsmanship, than producing a more imaginative interpretation.

It is important that adults take time to observe, listen and analyse children’s mark making to understand the context and purpose, celebrate achievements and where appropriate enrich or extend their thinking.

Arthur’s duck!

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

Advice from CBeebies (http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/grownups/its-not-just-scribbling-its-mark-making):

  • Children need to develop their motor skills (actions that involve the movements of muscles) in order to be able to mark-make effectively.
  • Give your child lots of opportunities to practise making big movements (gross motor skills), for example by climbing, crawling, dancing, throwing and catching balls or carrying objects.
  • These activities will help develop the muscle control needed to move on to fine motor movements, such as being able to squeeze play dough into different shapes, grasp and manipulate building bricks and hold pencils or crayons for mark making.
  • Aim to be a good role model for your child. Children need to see adults writing so that they can pick up on how writers behave and understand that writing is a valuable activity. You could include them in writing the shopping list, for example.
  • In the beginning, mark making is more about motivation than ability and we want to show children that writing is fun!

每周快讯 20161104

本周我们依旧忙碌,小朋友们充分利用幼儿中心提供的各种机会继续他们的学习之旅。天气渐渐转凉,但这丝毫不会阻碍孩子们探索户外活动区域,感受季节性变化对孩子而言非常重要。孩子们不仅要看到这些变化,而且还要体验、发现这种变化,并从周围环境中闻到季节更迭的味道,从而深切地认识、欣赏晚秋和初冬。这个季节的树叶干干脆脆的,握在手上窸窣作响。雨天的时候,小朋友们仍旧可以坐在教室里倾听大自然的声音。他们会观察窗户上滑落下的雨滴,猜测哪一滴水珠最先落到窗玻璃底部。教室内连接户外区域的移门可以被打开,孩子们可在温暖的室内且不被淋湿的情况下品尝雨天的滋味。雨停后,空气的味道变得不同,地上出现了小水坑,草坪变得更加松软,大自然赋予孩子的学习机会到处可见。

小小班

小小班上周组织了一场动物巡游,我们在幼儿中心内随处可见许多五颜六色的小动物装扮,有昆虫、丛林动物、家养宠物和可爱的小虫子。为什么安排动物巡游呢?在孩子们了解、学习动物时,还有什么教学方法比亲自装扮成动物更有效呢!况且这要比带一只真老虎去图书馆和小朋友一起唱歌容易多了。

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

小班

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

小班的孩子最近有许多感官体验的活动,他们通过这些体验丰富学习,并乐此不彼。你是否尝试过把磨好的咖啡豆或者亮粉加入橡皮泥中?还有香草味和橙子味的橡皮泥?小班的孩子们对此进行了大胆的尝试,实在是棒极了!他们还会去小花园探索,收集树叶,搜寻、认识各种小生物。孩子们收集了许多树叶,他们会用这些树叶进行美工创作。

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

中班

中班的孩子忙着复习他们所学的字母发音,老师为他们介绍绘本,以帮助他们学习。我们为什么会使用只有图片的绘本书呢?关键在于这些绘本能够启发孩子思考、观察、反思、探索、尝试理解他们看到的事物。图片帮助孩子构思他们的故事,包括故事的开头、发展过程和结尾。它积极调动孩子的想象,提供给孩子故事线索,图片上的一些细节简单明了,小朋友一看就能够明白,还有些图片细节设计得更为巧妙。绘本有利于沟通和语言学习。绘本提供了一个平台,让家长和小孩一起讨论他们在书上看到的东西,孩子和家长看到的事物可能是不一样的。它允许大人以孩子的眼光看世界,这令人觉得耳目一新。许多家长在指导孩子阅读方面还是新手,为此,Nikki Street(中班英语教师及幸福教育课程主任)特地为家长开展了关于阅读的信息交流会。这几场交流会为家长提供了一些建议和技巧,以培养孩子的阅读兴趣。

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016“书写”时间

当孩子开始学习自然拼读并接触书本时,我们便认为他们即将开始学习书写。但是真正的“书写”发生在什么时候呢?简单来讲,就是等孩子已做好准备。在孩子写下可辨识的字母或单词之前需要经历一个自然过程。当您的孩子开始尝试写写画画不同的形状、图案时,这是一个令人激动的时刻。我们将这种自由创作称为“涂鸦”,它是“写作”开始前的准备阶段,这一阶段在孩子的成长的过程中具有里程碑式的意义。

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

“涂鸦”非常重要,原因有很多。它直观、形象,孩子可以通过“涂鸦”讲故事、表达情感、记录他们的语言、解决问题、找到方法,有时,孩子们享受的仅仅是“涂鸦”的整个过程。作为书写的最初形式,“涂鸦”的重要性对幼儿来说不可小觑。通过为孩子提供各种“涂鸦”机会,您可以帮助他们发展想象力、创造力和体能。同时,您对孩子的努力做出的认可也有助于增进亲子之间的信任。

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

孩子天生具有探索和交流思想、感情的愿望。从出生那刻起,他们努力地表达自我、不断塑造自身的性格、爱好、成长方式,快速形成自己独有的特点。孩子从他们经历的每件事中学习,但他们的发展在某种程度上取决于早教机构和家庭教育中所获经验的方式和类别。一些孩子在很小的时候就有机会进行自由创作,但有些孩子则因为种种原因只能获得有限的体验。

通过游戏,幼儿探索虚拟、抽象的世界、赋予故事意义、自由创作和绘画。随着孩子想法的增多,他们会不断深化对于周围世界的理解。在安全的环境中,当孩子的创作受到重视和尊重,他们会创作更多的作品。

当孩子意识到“涂鸦”具有象征意义,可以传递信息,就好像口语表达,他们便会开始借助“涂鸦”表达他们的思想。这些自由创作能够帮助孩子理解数学概念以及和游戏相关的语言。

有时“涂鸦”的过程本身对孩子而言就是一种享受,在这个探索过程中,他们会感受到笔尖滑过白板表面的触感或者粉笔在粗糙的沥青碎石地上发出的摩擦声,他们会观察到五彩缤纷的颜料在画纸上流淌、胶水顺着指间慢慢流出并在纸上徐徐化开。在这种情况下,孩子的兴趣点不会落在创作的成果上,而是“涂鸦”的过程本身,这种体验让他们积极调动起各种感官,并在探索的过程中培养自信和动手能力。

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

在其他时候,有些孩子或许更乐于使用“涂鸦”讲故事、借助越加复杂的图片和符号表达情感。他们可能只会“涂鸦”故事的一半,然后叙述整个故事,并邀请你“记录”下来。

还有的时候,一件物品或一个活动会激发孩子的兴趣,相比创作抽象的作品,他们会更侧重于通过仔细的科学观察和细致的绘画技巧确切地记录下他们看到的东西。

家长有必要花些时间观察、倾听、分析孩子的自由创作,因为这有助于家长理解孩子创作的情景和目的,庆祝他们取得的成就,在适当的时候丰富孩子的思想、开拓他们的思维。

Arthur画的小鸭子

The Week Ahead – 2nd November 2016

来自BBC幼儿频道CBeebies的建议 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/grownups/its-not-just-scribbling-its-mark-making):

  • 为了能够有效地“涂鸦”,孩子需要发展他们的运动技能(涉及肌肉运动的动作)。
  • 提供给你孩子大量机会练习大动作(大肌肉运动技能),比如攀、爬、跳舞、投掷、抓球、传运。
  • 这些活动帮助发展肌肉控制能力,为接下来的精细动作训练打下基础,比如把橡皮泥捏成不同的形状、抓持砖块、握笔“涂鸦”。
  • 成为您孩子的好榜样。家长可以试着写给孩子看,让孩子学习书写规范,认识到写作是一项有意义的活动。比如,您可以试着和他们一起写一份购物清单。
  • 刚开始,我们需更多地鼓励孩子进行“涂鸦”,而不是要求孩子写得有多好,我们希望让孩子知道书写是充满乐趣的!