The Week Ahead 20161109

Whilst EY1 are exploring being at the Zoo and EY3 are having a Space Adventure, the EY2 pupils have entered a World of Stories which will take them through to the end of the term. All class teachers held Parent-Practitioner meetings this week, providing an opportunity to discuss pupil progress with parents and families. Progress is observed and mapped to the Early Years Foundation Stage (Development Matters) where practitioners can identity if a child is demonstrating skills within their specific age band. Moreover, and more importantly in some respects, it gives the parents a chance to understand their child within the setting. Who are they, what do they like, what motivates and inspires them to learn? The child outside of the home setting can be a very different child to the one at home and piecing together the complex jigsaw puzzle of a young human being can be a fascinating journey.

The Week Ahead – 9th November 2016

I have always maintained that working with young children is a humbling vocation and it is a message that I consistently convey; children teach you how the world should be viewed, with innocence and acceptance. How we, as adults interact with them can impact on their personal growth, character development and influence who they become. Who we are as adults is a combined result of our genetic makeup plus the impact of relationships, experiences and the environment; traditionally debated as nature versus nurture. Do our genes determine who we are? Or is the environment the cornerstone for development? New research into epigenetics (the science of how the environment influences genetic expression) has shown that what is important is not what genes you have so much as what your genes are doing, and what your genes are doing is influenced by the ever-changing environment they’re in.

“Factors like stress, nutrition, and exposure to toxins all play a role in how genes are expressed—essentially which genes are turned on or off. Unlike the static conception of nature or nurture, epigenetic research demonstrates how genes and environments continuously interact to produce characteristics throughout a lifetime”.(http://thepsychreport.com/books/the-end-of-nature-versus-nurture/)

When you consider these findings, you could question who, beside the parent, would wish to take on a role which could potentially influence the personal development and fundamental characteristics of a child. Who would wish to have such a responsibility? Who would rise to the challenge of growing people? That’s where an Early Years’ practitioner steps forward.

As the head of the setting, I have a duty to my team to support them as they undertake their roles. I also have a responsibility to maintain the partnerships established with the parents whilst maintaining our unique and individual identity as the first Wellington College bilingual setting. It is fundamental that we imbue our identity; we are who we are and the Wellington families share our vision of what Early Years’ education is and should be. The families have placed their trust in Wellington College and in turn, Wellington College is represented by its practitioners and the setting in which they operate.

The Week Ahead – 9th November 2016

So, who would want to be an Early Years’ practitioner? Who, and why? What does it take to grow people? It takes an enormous amount of time, effort and energy. But most of all it takes the desire and will of individuals, who give their heart and soul to their vocation. When you view life at Wellington College, it appears very relaxed and fun. The pupils are engaged in various activities continuously; some child-initiated and some adult-led. To make this happen takes intricate planning and planning takes time. Before planning can take place, themes need to be designed and mind maps created linking learning to the seven areas of learning and development and this takes time. The mind maps then need to be linked to specific statements of development and key vocabulary identified and again, this takes time. Differentiated activities for those pupils requiring support and those that need greater challenge and extension must be identified and this takes time. To resource the activities takes an incredible amount of time. We love to sing, but we need to learn the songs before we can teach the children and this takes time (and practise). Providing feedback to parents based on observations takes time. To make judgements on a pupil’s progress takes time. To document it in a learning journal takes time.

The Week Ahead – 9th November 2016

So where do we get time?

I asked my team to tell me about their working week. We all know that the pupils are on site from 08:00 – 16:00 and that the team work contractually from 07:45 – 17:00, so how do they do everything that is required in one hour and fifteen minutes? In short, they don’t! The teaching teams are generally on site from 07:30 and most don’t leave until 17:30 (some working as late as 19:30 on site). Without exception, all work an additional 1-2 hours per evening and 3-4 hours (minimum) on a weekend, with extra hours required when observations are being made. I asked the teams what their biggest challenges were and without fail the greatest challenge was to complete everything needed to fulfil their role and do what they perceived to be right for the children. The teaching teams wanted to ensure that everything was as near to perfect as possible for every single child. How can this be? A group of professionals working generally 64 hours a week to grow people and feeling a continual pressure to get it right for each and every unique individual in the classroom. That really is something to be acknowledged. Why, I asked them? Why do you do it? Here are some of their (verbatim) responses:

  • The children, the team (love them!!)
  • Most of all seeing the progression of the children
  • A sense of belonging. We encourage children to take care of each other
  • I think it really benefits the children when we spend time playing with them, chatting with them and making things with them (instead of making things that they are not really interested in but just to show parents)
  • We try to make everyone feel loved and be loved
  • Seeing the children have WOW moments – at the moment the best ones are seeing them realise they can read and talking to me in English when they’ve never uttered a word before
  • Working with a group of forward thinking colleagues who have the best interests of the children at heart
  • Working in an environment which has been developed for children, with children
  • The children are incredibly honest, funny, and wise people. Once they start finding ways to share their ideas and communicate, I spend a lot of my day having interesting and often quite funny conversations. They are far more amusing than most of the adults I know.
  • I love working with children to solve problems and learn how to learn. When a child realises the answers can come from them, from exploration and experimentation, then magic of real learning happens.
  • I get to sing all day, every day, at work and no one thinks I am crazy. I assure you that this is not considered normal outside an early years’ setting

 

The Week Ahead – 9th November 2016

To summarise what and who early years’ practitioners are: they are a team of people wholly dedicated to children, devoted to their profession who invest much of their ‘free’ time to ensuring that the eight hours per day spent with the children is inspiring, productive and fun. They have an innate desire to wish to be a part of that formative process, to be part of the environment that nurtures children to be the adult that they are yet to become. That’s no mean feat, nor easy task.

每周快讯 20161109

当小小班仍在探索“动物园”,中班仍在探险“太空”时,小班的孩子已经开始了新的主题活动—-“故事世界”,该主题活动将持续至本学期末。

本周,幼儿中心为家长安排了家长见面会,这让老师有机会和爸爸妈妈或其他家庭成员讨论孩子的学习发展。关于学习发展,英国早期基础教育体系列出了每个年龄阶段孩子所表现出的技能,老师会通过对孩子的观察,了解他们是否掌握了这些技能。此外,家长见面会更重要的意义在于它为家长提供了了解孩子学习生活的机会,比如,集体生活中的他们是怎么样的?他们喜欢什么?是什么因素激励他们探索?孩子在外的表现和在家里的表现可能是截然不同的,把幼儿的各种表现拼凑成一整块人生拼图是一段精彩而有趣的历程。

The Week Ahead – 9th November 2016

我始终认为,幼教工作是一份使人谦卑的职业,这是我一贯向大家传达的想法。孩子教我们以纯真的视角和接纳的态度去看待世界;作为成人,我们和孩子们之间的互动,影响着他们的成长、性格塑造,以及他们将来的发展方向。遗传基因、人际关系以及外界环境的综合作用决定着个体的发展。传统的辩论围绕着人的发展是由先天遗传因素决定的还是后天环境决定的?人的先天遗传因素决定了其发展,还是后天的环境因素是人发展的基础?一项关于表观遗传学的新研究(关于环境如何影响基因表达的科学)表明,个体有什么基因并不重要,重要的是基因的活动机制,它受到不断变化的环境的影响。

“压力的大小、营养的摄入、暴露于毒素的环境下等因素都会影响基因的表达,从本质上来说,这些因素影响着基因的启动和关闭。不同于先天遗传和后天环境这两种静态概念,表观遗传学的研究证明,基因和环境在人的一生中不断互相作用对个体产生影响,从而形成个体特征”。(http://thepsychreport.com/books/the-end-of-nature-versus-nurture/)

当你在考虑这些研究成果的时候,你可以问问自己,除了家长以外,谁会潜在地影响孩子的个人发展和性格塑造?希望谁担负起这一重任?谁愿意接受“育人”的挑战?这时,幼儿教师便站了出来。

作为幼儿中心的园长,我有义务支持我的团队。我也有责任维持幼儿中心和家长之间建立的合作伙伴关系,同时,保持我们作为第一家惠灵顿(上海)双语教育机构的特质。灌输惠灵顿特质至关重要,它体现了我们是谁,惠灵顿家庭和我们一起分享了对早期教育的愿景。家长们信赖惠灵顿教育,而我们的团队以及我们运营的幼儿中心则代表着惠灵顿教育。

The Week Ahead – 9th November 2016

那么,谁希望成为幼儿教师?为什么想成为幼儿教师?培养孩子需要付出哪些代价呢?幼教工作需要花费大量的时间和精力,但最重要的是从事幼教的决心和愿望以及对幼教工作全心全意的投入。当您看到孩子们在惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心的学习生活时,您会发现这里的学习氛围是令人放松和愉快的。孩子们积极参与各种活动,有些是孩子发起的活动,有些则是老师主导的。为了营造积极的学习环境,教师需要制定复杂的教学计划,而计划的制定需要耗费大量时间。在教学计划正式实施前,教师需要设计主题和与七大领域的学习与发展相关联的思维导图,这同样需要时间。思维导图还需要关联英国早期基础教育体系中特定的发展内容与关键词汇,这又是一项花费时间的工作。针对那些需要提供额外学习帮助或者需要更多挑战的孩子,教师要花时间设计不同的活动。为活动准备教学资源也得花费更多的时间。我们热爱唱歌,但教师在教孩子唱歌之前需要时间练习唱歌。评估孩子的学习进展也需要花费时间,为每个孩子准备成长手册更需要时间。

The Week Ahead – 9th November 2016

我们从哪里获取时间?

我调查过我们的教学团队实际的工作时间。我们都知道孩子早上8:00点陆续抵达幼儿中心,直到下午4:00离开,我们教学团队的工作时间是从上午7:45 至下午5:00点,他们如何在课堂外的1.5小时内完成每一项任务呢?事实上,他们无法做到!通常,老师7:30就陆续到校,很多老师5:30才离开幼儿中心,有些甚至工作到晚上7:30。老师们每天晚上都会额外工作1-2小时,周末则至少工作3-4小时,如果有教学观察,所花时间则更多。我问老师们对于这份工作,他们最大的挑战是什么?答案一定是充分履行他们的职责,完成工作的每一项任务,做有益于孩子的事。教学团队希望为孩子做的每件事都能够做到尽善尽美。如何做到完美呢?为了“育人”,老师们苦思冥想、绞尽脑汁,积极引导班上每一位个性独特的孩子,他们一周需工作64小时。他们的付出值得我们认可。我问他们为什么要这么做呢?我把他们的回答一字不差地记录了下来:

  • 为了孩子,为了我们的团队(爱他们!)
  • 最重要的是为了看到孩子的进步
  • 为了让孩子获得归属感。我们鼓励孩子互相照顾
  • 当我们陪孩子一起玩耍,和他们聊天,一起做手工的时候,我们相信孩子会从中受益(我们不会为了仅仅向家长展示而让孩子做他们不感兴趣的东西)
  • 我们爱护每个孩子,并让他们感觉到被爱护和关怀
  • 为了看到孩子成长的精彩瞬间,最希望看到的是孩子认识到自己可以阅读英语并用英语与我交谈,而在此之前,他们从未说过一句英语
  • 和一群具有前瞻思想的、发自心底为孩子利益考虑的同事一起共事
  • 在一个有孩子、为孩子营造的环境中工作
  • 孩子诚实、有趣、聪明,当他们开始试着分享他们的想法并和他人沟通,我花了好几天时,和他们进行了十分有趣的对话。他们比我认识的一些大人有趣多了。
  • 我喜欢和孩子在一起共同解决问题,学习如何学习。
  • 当一个孩子认识到问题的答案可以来自于他们自身,来自于探索和实验,真正的学习就此发生了。
  • 我整天都能够唱歌,每天在工作的时候唱歌,没有人会觉得我很疯狂。相信我,要是在其他公司上班时唱歌,同事一定会认为我不正常。

 

The Week Ahead – 9th November 2016

最后让我们总结一下幼儿教师是怎样的一群人:他们是一群全心全意为孩子付出的人,他们精益求精,为了确保每天八小时和孩子共处的时间是具有启发性的、富有成效并充满乐趣的,他们牺牲了业余时间。他们具有与生俱来的愿望,希望成为这种形成过程的一部分,为培养孩子长大成人创造、建设积极的教学环境,这是非常了不起的,绝非易事。