The Week Ahead 20170210

Welcome Back!

The Week Ahead 10 February 2017

We were delighted to welcome the pupils back to Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai this week. With such a short space of time between the winter break and Chinese New Year break, we don’t feel like we have spent very much time together since 2016. However, we have a solid eight week run up to the next break, with lots of amazing activities and learning opportunities planned between now and the end of term, including two focussed activity weeks when the pupils will be involved in projects around ‘We are Thinkers’ (did you know it is World Thinking Day on Wednesday 22nd February??) and ‘Arts Festival’.

After ‘We are Thinkers’ week, the pupils will start to explore the next theme for their specific groups:

  • EY1 – Let’s Explore!
  • EY2 – Sensational Seasons
  • EY3 – Lifecycles

 

The teaching teams have been busy planning the themes to ensure that the pupils have an abundance of opportunities to discover, investigate, learn and explore the world around them.

 

The Week Ahead 10 February 2017

A Kind Request

Many of the pupils retuned to us after the break with a rather funky interpretation on the Wellington College uniform. Whilst we are happy to promote being individual and unique in our personalities and characters, the uniform is compulsory and Wellington parents are kindly reminded to ensure that their child wears the appropriate uniform for their year group. We are proud of our Wellington College uniform and wish our parents to help support the pupils in wearing the appropriate College uniform.

Wellington College – a Growing Community

We were delighted to welcome Murray Lindo, Head of the Wellington College Community Network to the setting today (CAN WE HAVE A PHOTO??). The Wellington College Community Network is made up of current pupils, Old Wellingtonians (and their children), parents (past and present), staff (past and present) and other ‘friends’ and strategic partners. Wellington College China are in the process of developing a ‘Wellington College China Community’ which will bring similar networks together to benefit pupils, as well as creating social and business opportunities for all members.

The Week Ahead 10 February 2017

The Wellington Values

This Week Ahead will be the first in a series of articles that focus on how to promote the Wellington Values at home. Values-based education is an essential part of the Wellington experience and throughout the setting, the values of courage, respect, integrity, kindness and responsibility are prominently displayed through our words, work and actions. These values define, in essence, what it means to be a Wellingtonian. These values help us to make the best decisions in the present whilst reflecting on our past. Ultimately, they are the keys to success in the future as they prepare us to become role models and decent citizens who positively contribute to society. A key question that we often hear from parents is how they can create the conditions at home that will help their children truly embrace the setting’s ethos and identity.

The Week Ahead 10 February 2017

The Value of the Week is Courage

What is courage?

Courage is a very important value that needs to be developed and nurtured in young learners. Courage in Early Years means being able to try new things, explore the immediate environment and the ability to openly and honestly say one’s thoughts and feelings politely but without fear. Trying new things might mean eating new foods such as vegetables, which may taste a little ‘unusual’ but actually necessary for our physical and mental development. It might also mean using materials in new and exciting ways such as moving toy animals through sandy foam. Exploring the immediate environment could mean searching for fallen leaves and rocks and not being afraid to touch or dig them out of the dirt. Finally, expressing one’s opinion could be as simple as having the courage to raise one’s hand and say, “I like the soup, may I have more please?” A child can also show courage by saying which song he or she would like to sing. All of the aforementioned require the ability to move out of one’s comfort zone. For young children, it also requires the encouragement of a supporting adult.

Developing courage

Teachers utilise a plethora of activities that naturally create the conditions where courage can develop. Teachers, by their very nature, like to make good use of encouragement through their daily interactions with children and, in general, within their practice. The word “encourage” in English means to motivate, inspire and give confidence to another person. As the word “encourage” contains the word “courage,” the literal meaning of this word is to make someone courageous. Encouragement involves providing opportunities for children to be proactive, share in the decision-making process, make mistakes and try and try again in activities that they pursue. Encouraging young learners also means making effective use of praise and acknowledging children for their efforts to be courageous and experience new things.

Communication about values is essential

Talking with your child’s teacher about the value of courage is good start toward promoting this value at home. Working together, you will be able to pinpoint key areas that your child has shown courage in as well as areas for further development. The benefit of using the values as the point of reference in the conversation is that you will find that in order to promote one value, your child will need to possess multiple skills. For example, being able to make a suggestion or opinion at the setting in front of a group of people requires: confidence, the ability to raise one’s hand at the right time so as not to interrupt, the ability to engage and make eye contact, the ability to make a polite request as well as the ability to be resilient and control one’s emotions if others disagree. Teachers spend much of their time assessing children’s abilities to engage in these skills. These skills are gradually developed over time at the setting and home and are a culmination of all of your child’s acquired competencies. Thus, courage is not developed overnight but the result of making progress in a variety of differing environments (e.g. on the playground, in the living room at home, in the lunchroom or multimedia room). It is for this reason that communication is important and by working together we can be aware of what we need to do to further develop our children. Furthermore, it is from this communication that we truly come to understand the enormous task that teachers and parents share in helping children learn to embrace Wellington Values. It certainly is not simply a matter of saying “please” and “thank you.”

Developing courage through encouragement and engagement

Reading stories can help children understand the concept of courage through example. The stories “Jack in the Beanstalk” and “The Little Engine That Could” are stories where the main characters must display courage in order to succeed or triumph under difficult circumstances. Usually you can find examples of key values in most stories written for children in Early Years. My favourite story of courage is “The Little Red Hen.” In the version of this story that I like, the hen goes through the process of planting wheat, harvesting it, and preparing muffins in the oven. While she is doing these activities, her requests for the other animals to assist her in her endeavours are repeatedly denied. She didn’t let that stop her however. It was her resilience and determination that led her to bake the cake and enjoy it by herself. The story highlights the amount of courage that it took for the hen to persist in her endeavours. With that said, it is important to encourage children to finish what they start. For example, if a child is racing outside on the playground or at the park, we should encourage them to finish the race regardless of whether he or she will win or not. We should encourage children to try to finish the food on their plate if they can. I think that there is something motivating and courageous about finishing what we start even when we are nervous about the result. This is possibly because every time a child tries to complete something and does so successfully, he or she is building confidence, self-esteem and resilience. With each attempt, a child gains more competencies and a better understanding of him or herself, others and the world around him or her. This then forms a positive feedback loop resulting in greater displays of courage as well as other values such as responsibility and honesty. The more opportunities that we give children to explore and experiment, the more likely they are to embody values such as courage.

Here are some guidelines for teaching courage that are exciting, wholesome, and worthwhile. At home, try to:

1.    Use verbal praise: When a child does something well, praise him or her for the accomplishment. For example, if a child comes into the setting without crying for the first time, acknowledge this action by saying “Good job for doing……..!” or “Well done for………..!” Use praise even when they give it their best and are initially not successful, “Well done for trying your very best!”.
2.    Try alternating your daily routines: Get your child used to change by doing things differently from time to time. If you usually sit on the carpet to read, try sitting at the table from time to time. Part of developing resilience is getting a child ready to embrace change calmly. Change is a natural phenomenon but we need courage to prepare ourselves for it.
3.    Encourage your child to try new things: Perhaps, your child doesn’t like to eat tofu or has never tried it. What would happen if you mixed tofu with his or her favourite meat or vegetables? What if you showed your child that you liked to eat tofu and that it is tasty? Is your child afraid of dogs? Has he or she ever seen you playing with man’s best friend? Sometimes to get a favourable response, it is important to model the value that you would like to see.
4.    Promote independence: Let your child have a go sometimes by him or herself. They may spill some soup or waste some rice on the floor but that is understandable. Rome wasn’t built in a day. Eventually they will get it right. It just takes time.

We must be cautious that we do not ignore the importance of a healthy fear when developing courage. Safety should always be our first priority and children should never engage in activities that could jeopardise their health or wellbeing. When thinking about activities to teach courage, ensure that they are age appropriate, will have an adequate amount of adult supervision and will allow a child to work at their current level or ability. If in doubt, try doing an internet search for developing children’s courage. There are many websites with detailed, picture descriptions of age appropriate activities that explain how to develop courage in children.

In summary, courage is an important Wellington Value which is a cornerstone of healthy childhood development. When children display courage, they often utilise multiple skills such as giving their opinion confidently or controlling their emotions. Open communication between parents and teachers is critical in creating a culture that promotes and emphasises values development. Values such as courage do not arise overnight but are encouraged, reinforced and nurtured over time. Promoting values at home involves praise, alternating routines as well as allowing one’s child to be curious and independent within a safe environment.

Classroom News for week beginning 13th February

Early Years 1

EY1 is continuing to explore feelings and now have a repertoire of songs to support our topic. Children have a lot of fun when we sing ‘If you’re happy and you know it’! To help in visualise emotions, we are going to make emotion art and crafts; sad faces, happy faces and we will also talk about worries.
We are going to read the Very Lazy Ladybug and ‘wo hao dan xin’ and the song ‘zhao pengyou’ will be also be sung. The EY1 children have started to understand better the concept of kindness. We are going to work every day on how to be kind to others, use our kind hands and words. Teachers are the models for our children. We model for them every day using positive language only, kind words and we show them how to use kind hands.

Early Years 2  

The end of the dinosaurs is here, it is time for their extinction! Unfortunately, this is our last week on the topic of dinosaurs, during which time we will look what happened to them and where are they now. We will be investigating dinosaur extinction through theatre where the children will be introduced to the different theories of how the dinosaurs became extinct both in English and Chinese days. The children will use their listening skills to play our dinosaur freeze game during which time we will talk about fossils. To allow the children to express themselves they will be creating their own dinosaurs as well as naming them, ready to go into our dinosaur museum. To finish this topic off with a bang (not literally), the children will explore what happens when a volcano erupts. The children will also take a trip in the “time machine” to imagine a life where dinosaurs and humans get along.

We will have our English stories ‘Dinosaurumpus’, ‘Dinosaurs, Dinosaurs’, ‘How do dinosaur series’ and Chinese stories ‘你看起来好像很好吃’, ‘我是霸王龙’. Children will enjoy our daily singing with ‘Dinosaurs Lived a Long Long Time Ago’, ‘We are the dinosaurs’, ‘T-rex stomp around the earth’, ‘如果恐龙还活着’ and ‘恐龙灭绝的原因’.

Early Years 3

In Chinese in EY3 next week we will be returning to our pirate theme.  We will be introducing the story ‘Finding Treasures’ and encouraging the children to predict what will happen at the end.  The children will also be sorting different types of pirate hats according to their colour, shape and size and using their map skills, our little pirates will be investigating the compass directions North, South, East and West. In English, the children will be revisiting the story ‘Pirates Love Underpants’ by Claire Freedman. During activity times, we will be using the pirate versions of ourselves that we designed last week to make some items for us to wear when we turn into real pirates! In phonics, we are going to start to do some writing, using the sounds we know to explain some of the things we have drawn.

每周快讯 20170210

欢迎大家返回幼儿中心! 

本周,我们很高兴欢迎孩子们重返惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心。由于寒假过后没多久就迎来了春节假期,我们感到这一学年和孩子在一起相处的时间并不长。不过,从现在开始直到下一次假期,我们会和孩子们一起相处整整八周的时间。这学期,我们安排了许多精彩的活动和教学内容,其中包括两个主要的活动,一项活动的主题为“我们是小小思想家”,孩子们会一同参与活动(你知道吗?2月22日星期三是世界思考日),另一项活动的主题是“艺术节”。

The Week Ahead 10 February 2017

在“我们是小小思想家”活动周之后,各年级的孩子将开始探索新的主题活动:

  • 小小班 – 让我们一起探索!
  • 小班 – 美妙的季节
  • 中班 – 生命周期

 

教学团队已经开始计划下一个主题活动,以确保孩子们获得丰富的学习机会,探索、了解周围的世界。

 

The Week Ahead 10 February 2017

关于穿着幼儿中心统一制服的要求

最近,我们注意到,许多孩子返回幼儿中心上课时,并没有根据规定穿着幼儿中心的统一制服。虽然我们鼓励孩子的个性化发展,但是幼儿中心明确规定了穿着统一制服的要求。请家长们确保您的孩子穿着符合各年级要求的统一制服来幼儿中心上课。这是惠灵顿人独特的身份标识,我们为此深感自豪,请家长为孩子选择、准备合适的统一制服。

惠灵顿社群 —- 一个正在成长的社群

今天,我们很高兴欢迎惠灵顿社群负责人Murray Lindo先生来访幼儿中心。英国惠灵顿社群由目前在校的学生、惠灵顿校友及其子女、家长及员工、其他成员及战略合作伙伴组成。惠灵顿中国目前正在计划发展“惠灵顿中国社群”,搭建类似于英国惠灵顿社群的社交网络,从而让惠灵顿的学生受益,并为所有成员提供社交机会和商机。

The Week Ahead 10 February 2017

惠灵顿价值观

本周让我们一起关注惠灵顿价值观,这篇文章将成为“如何在家中和幼儿中心培育惠灵顿价值观”系列的第一篇文章。价值观的培养是孩子在惠灵顿学习生活的重要组成部分。在惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心, 勇气、尊重、正直、善良、责任这些价值观通过我们的话语、教学实践以及行为突显而出。从本质上来说,这些价值观定义了惠灵顿人的品质。它们帮助我们在当前的形势下做出最好的决定,同时反思过去。它们使我们做好准备成为榜样和积极为社会做贡献的正直公民,它们是在未来取得成功的关键因素。家长常问我们一个重要问题:如何在家为孩子创造条件,让他们了解惠灵顿教育精神并帮助他们树立惠灵顿价值观。

惠灵顿价值观之勇气

什么是勇气?

The Week Ahead 10 February 2017

勇气是非常重要的价值观,年幼的学习者需要树立和培养勇气。在早期教育中,勇气指的是敢于尝试新事物、探索当前环境、开诚布公、无畏地表达自己的观点和感受。尝试新事物可以表现为尝试未曾吃过的食物,比如某种蔬菜,初次尝试孩子可能会觉得味道有些“奇怪”,但实际上这些食物是有益于身发展体的。尝试新事物也可以表现为用新颖的方式操作玩具,比如在掺杂沙子的泡沫中移动动物玩具。探索当前环境可以是搜寻落叶、石块,触摸它们或把它们从泥土里挖出。最后,表达想法就像举手发言那样简单,比如孩子举手说“我喜欢喝汤,可以再加点汤吗?”孩子也可以通过告诉老师自己想唱的歌曲以展示他们的勇气,要让孩子做到上述几点有时可能需要他们走出舒适的环境。对于幼儿而言,家长的鼓励和支持也是十分必要的。

如何培养孩子勇气

教师利用各种活动创造自然条件以培养孩子的勇气。作为教师,我们在和孩子的互动中,以及其他活动中会善加利用鼓励的策略。在英语中,encourage意为激励、鼓舞、给予某人信心,这个单词中包含了courage,其字面意思为使人勇敢。鼓励包括为孩子提供发挥主动性的机会,在决策过程中分享彼此的观点,在活动中反复通过错误的尝试寻找答案。鼓励幼儿也意味着有效使用赞赏、认可他们在展示勇气和尝试新事物上所做的努力。

关于价值观的沟通至关重要

和孩子的老师聊聊关于勇气这一价值观是您在家引导孩子的一个良好的开端。和老师一起合作,您会找出孩子展示勇气的主要领域。在谈话中以价值观作为参考点的好处在于您会发现,为培育价值观,你的孩子同时需要掌握多项技能。比如,在一群人面前提出建议或表达观点时,需要保持自信、在不打扰对方发言的情况下适时举手提问、积极参与以及保持眼神交流、礼貌地请求、如果不同意对方观点,需具备一定的承受能力并能够控制自身情绪。老师花费许多时间评估孩子在这些方面的能力,在家里和幼儿中心,这些技能随着时间的推移逐渐发展起来,是您孩子所需具备的关键能力。因此,培养勇气非朝夕之功,而是在各种不同环境中(比如操场、客厅、餐厅和多媒体教室)不断发展而来的。因此,沟通很重要,通过和老师的合作,我们能够意识到孩子需要进一步发展之处。通过沟通,我们能够真正地理解老师和家长在帮助孩子树立惠灵顿价值观上共同做出的巨大努力,而不是仅通过说声“请”和“谢谢你”就简单了事的。

通过鼓励和参与培养勇气

在阅读故事的时候,书中的角色可以帮助孩子理解勇气的概念。“Jack in the Beanstalk”(杰克和豌豆)和“The Little Engine That Could”(勇敢的小火车头)这两则故事讲述的是主人公为了在艰难的情况下取得成功或胜利,必须鼓起勇气奋力拼搏。您会发现,通常大部分早期教育的儿童绘本都会体现价值观。我最喜爱的一本关于勇气的故事书是“The Little Red Hen (小红母鸡)”,故事讲述的是小红母鸡从种植、收割小麦到准备把蛋糕放进烤箱烘烤的整个过程,其间,她请求其他动物予以帮助,但屡次遭到拒绝。然而,她并没有放弃,她凭借不屈不挠的精神以及决心成功烘焙蛋糕并尝到了美味。这则故事强调了小红母鸡坚持到底不放弃所需要的极大勇气。

除了上述所说的,鼓励孩子做事善始善终也很重要。例如,当孩子在操场上或公园里赛跑,无论输赢,我们都应当鼓励他们完成比赛。我们要鼓励孩子就餐的时候不浪费粮食。虽然有时我们更看重结果,我认为能够善始善终也是需要自我激励和勇气的。可能这是因为每次孩子尽力完成一件事并取得成功时,他们的自信、自尊和适应力会进一步增强。孩子通过每次的尝试提高自身能力、更好地了解自己、他人和周围世界,像这样的一个积极的反馈机制能够帮助培养勇气及其他价值观,例如责任、诚实。我们给孩子探索和实验的机会越多,他们就越有可能展现价值观,比如勇气。

以下我们为您提供了一些关于在家培养孩子勇气的建议,您不妨一试:

1. 进行口头表扬:当孩子某件事情做得好,我们应该表扬他们。比如当孩子来幼儿中心的时候不哭闹了,我们可以用“你在……这件事上做得真好!”来表扬他们。有时候,当他们努力了却没有成功,我们也应该给予鼓励,比如说“你努力尝试了,很棒!”。
2. 试着改变日常活动:偶尔做不同的事情,让您的孩子习惯于改变。如果您经常坐在地毯上读书,有时也可以坐在桌子边上。提高适应能力可以使孩子平静地应对变化。改变是一个自然现象,但需要我们勇于面对。
3. 鼓励孩子尝试新鲜事物:也许您的孩子不喜欢吃胡萝卜或者从来没有吃过,如果您把胡萝卜和他最喜欢的肉类或其他蔬菜拌在一起会发生什么呢?如果告诉孩子您喜欢吃胡萝卜又会发生什么呢?您的孩子是否怕狗?他是否见过您和狗一起玩耍?有时候,亲自示范一件事往往会得到您想要的结果。
4. 培养独立性:有时您需要让孩子独自尝试,他们可能把饭汤洒落在地上,但这是可以理解的。罗马非一日建成,他们最终会养成良好的习惯,只是需要时间而已。

在培养孩子勇气的同时,我们不能忽视他们的身心健康,必须首先确保孩子是安全的,不能让他们参加任何危及身心健康的活动。当我们设计一些活动来培养孩子勇气的时候,需确保这些活动是适合他们年龄的并且有足够成人在一旁监管,这些活动也应能够让他们做自己力所能及的事情。如您有疑问,可以搜索网站查找关于勇气培养的活动,许多网站都会为您提供详细的信息和图片,介绍适宜您孩子年龄阶段的活动。

总的来说,勇气是惠灵顿价值观中很重要的一部分,也是孩子健康成长的基石。当孩子们展示勇气的时候,他们同时需要掌握多项技能,比如自信地表达他们的观点或控制自己的情绪。家长和老师之间开放的沟通对于加强培养孩子的价值观至关重要。价值观如勇气的培养需要我们不断地鼓励、尝试和练习。在家里,我们需要通过赞扬、改变日常活动等方式来培养孩子的价值观,同时要确保他们在环境中保持好奇心和独立性。

2月13日这一周各年级的活动内容

小小班

小小班的孩子会继续探索情感,老师已准备了一些歌曲以丰富这一主题学习。当孩子们唱起“If you’re happy and you know it”(如果你感到快乐这首歌时),他们从中获得了许多乐趣!为让孩子表达他们的情绪,我们会做一些和表达情绪有关的手工和绘画,比如画一张沮丧的脸和一张开心的脸,我们还会一起讨论忧虑这一情绪。 在阅读课上,我们会讲述故事”Very Lazy Ladybug”(非常懒惰的瓢虫)、“我好担心”,并学唱歌曲“找朋友”。小小班的孩子已经能够更好地理解善良这一概念。我们每天都会教导孩子以礼貌的言行善待他人,而老师们每日也会以正面、积极的言行以身示范,做好孩子的榜样。

小班

恐龙马上就要消失了!很可惜,我们将于这周结束恐龙这一主题的学习,期间,我们会探讨恐龙灭绝的可能原因以及恐龙去哪儿了。我们会在中文日和英语日中一起观看一些知识短片,了解关于恐龙如何灭绝的各种说法。孩子们将利用他们的听力参与到与恐龙有关的时间静止的游戏活动中。为了让孩子充分表达他们的想法,他们会自行制作专属的恐龙,并为恐龙命名,然后把它们放到“恐龙博物馆”中进行展示。最后,恐龙主题活动将以探索火山爆发这一精彩活动收尾。孩子们还将搭乘“时光机”穿越时空,想象人和恐龙和谐共处的生活。

在阅读课上,孩子们会欣赏英语故事” Dinosaurumpus”(恐龙炫舞)、“Dinosaurs, Dinosaurs”(恐龙,恐龙)、“How do dinosaur series”(家有恐龙系列),以及中文故事“你看起来很好吃”、“我是霸王龙”。孩子们每天也会学唱歌曲“Dinosaurs Lived a Long Long Time Ago”(很久以前地球上生活着恐龙)、“We are the dinosaurs”(我们是恐龙)、“T-rex stomp around the earth”(霸王龙在地上跺脚)、“如果恐龙还活着”、“恐龙灭绝的原因”。

中班

中班的中文日中,孩子们将继续海盗的主题。老师会介绍“寻找宝藏”的故事,并鼓励孩子预测最终会发生什么。孩子们会运用地图找到海盗帽并根据海盗帽的颜色、形状、尺寸进行分类。我们的小海盗们还会尝试使用指南针,辨认东、西、南、北各个方向。在英语日中,孩子们将回顾由Claire Freedman编写的故事《Pirates Love Underpants》(海盗最爱小裤衩)。他们会根据之前设计的海盗,制作一些海盗用品,把自己装扮成海盗!在自然拼读环节,孩子们会尝试做一些写作练习,使用已学过的语音知识解释、描述他们的一些绘画作品。