The Week Ahead 20170217

We’ve been friends for 100 days!

Where has the time gone! On 13th February, we marked 100 days of friendship at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai by asking the children to create artwork of them and their friends. The outcome was the stunning display that you will see in Reception – the children have formed remarkably close relationships with the other pupils in their class and demonstrate a sense of security in their Wellington family; it is all very heart-warming to witness.

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

We are Thinkers Week – week beginning 20th February

Next week, the teaching teams have prepared some amazing activities for the children (check out Classroom News). Have you thought about the questions that you ask your child during your conversations? Try, as best as possible to have open-ended questions where the answer cannot be yes or no. For example, if your child is drawing a picture, rather than ask “Is that a cat?” to which the answer can be either yes or no, consider engaging them in conversation with something more akin to, “Wow, that looks amazing, I love the animal that you have drawn…….it looks very happy……” and see where the conversation takes you. We will be asking the children lots of questions about the world around them next week, please try and support us by considering the same at home – get the Grandparents involved too and get thinking!!

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

A special Invitation 

There will be a very unique invitation coming home early next week for our young Wellingtonians……..I don’t know if you’ve heard, but we have a special birthday coming up soon. We opened on a leap year and therefore our true birthday will only be celebrated every four years. This year, we will celebrate being one on 28th February. Look out for the invitation coming home in the Wellington Weekly – the original artwork will be on display in Reception from Monday 27th February.

The Value of the Week is Respect (written by William Green)

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

This week, we will take an in-depth look at respect as a value to promote and develop in ourselves in addition to our children. Margaret Walker, a famous American poet and writer, once said that “friends and good manners will carry you where money won’t go.” In its basic sense, being respectful means being courteous and acknowledging others, particularly those who guide and lead us. We also show respect to our peers and those in need of our help and support. Teaching the value of respect in a bilingual setting means understanding the myriad of cultural backgrounds that define and have brought us together. The appeal of respect as a basic human dignity is nonetheless a universal phenomenon. This perhaps explains why so many of us from so many different countries are active participants in the Wellington College Bilingual experience. From parents to teachers and children, we have chosen this setting to grow and develop ourselves. However, if we are to become adept at showing respect, it is important to understand the unique and fortuitous set of circumstances in which we find ourselves. As the examples below will show, symbolic expressions of respect differ greatly from culture to culture and understanding these expressions of respect are key to understanding and appreciating the diversity of the human experience. This is necessary, I believe, as we move forward in this ever increasingly, highly connected, globalised 21st century environment and even more important as we prepare our children to inherit this world.

In Japanese culture, a complex system of honorifics are used to address senior people. For example, the word “taberu” means to eat but when addressing someone of senior rank, the Japanese will usually say “meshiagaru” which can be translated as “to eat honourably.” The system of polite language is very complicated for non-native speakers, but a typical conversation would go like this. Assume I wanted to ask someone about whether they had eaten or not. To my brother (a close connection), I would casually say “tabeta?” (You eat?) To my teacher, I would say “tabemashitaka,” (Polite: Did you eat?) which is the polite form of “taberu,” Finally, to the school principal (if I wanted to show respect), I would say, “Omeshiagarimashitaka?” (Honorific: Have you honourably eaten?) These honorifics, in Japan, are combined with ritualistic bowing, which also vary in degree and depth depending on who one is bowing to. These rich cultural expressions of respect are learned over the course of one’s entire life and probably differ from any expressions of respect that you and I are deeply familiar with.

In Chinese culture, Jean Jin (EY1 teacher) explains that children show respect by changing the word “Ni” (you) into “Nin” which has a similar connotation as “thou” in English. “Nin” can be used to address teachers, family members and those in other professions such as doctors and professors. Also, when children want to ask questions, they use “Qing wen” (May I ask…) before asking a question. It is considered polite in China for one to give one’s seat to the elderly when on the bus, train or on the subway. Older people show respect by going along with a senior’s opinion or suggestion even if he or she believes it would be better to do otherwise. Children in Chinese culture show respect by listening to and following the advice of their elders. Showing an earnest desire for learning with satisfactory and diligent completion of homework is considered very respectful indeed. Expressing the desire to learn is an integral part of showing respect to one’s elders in Chinese culture and is a major cornerstone that epitomises the concept of filial piety. After all, the rationale is that it is through learning that children develop the skills they need to be successful later in life. This learning, in turn, empowers children with the means to support their family later in life.

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

In the Western world, holding the door open for others is kind and also respectful. Around the setting, it is not uncommon to see teachers and parents kindly holding the door for each other. Respect is also encouraged in using expressions such as Mr. and Mrs. when addressing teachers or other professionals. Using polite and long forms in English, are usually considered politer than shortened, colloquial forms. For examples, it is better for children to say “yes please” to adults as opposed to “yeah.” In the English-speaking world, people also frequently avoid being overly blunt when disagreeing with others to show respect. For example, instead of saying “That is a bad idea!” people will often say, “What do you think about….instead?” or “How about…?” Respect and kindness seem to go hand in hand for many Westerners. Therefore, in many Western cultures, teaching children to have manners such as being polite, generous and positive are synonymous with developing children’s ability to be respectful.

Finding Common Ground

In nearly all cultures, spitting, yelling, cheating, fighting, screaming, taunting, bullying, unfairly discriminating against or harassing others are considered disrespectful forms of behaviour. Although, different cultures have differing ways of expressing respect for sure, there are several common behaviours that ultimately define what it means to be respectful. These behaviours are embedded within the way we greet and treat others, the way we show gratitude, our personal habits, as well as our table manners. What you will notice is that for these expressions of respect to be impactful, we must go beyond the words, cultural clichés and symbolic expressions. To my mind, the currency of respectful behaviour is sincerity in action.

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

The most basic form of showing respect comes from the way we greet each other. Greetings include things like “good morning” and “good bye’. It is not simply enough to say “good morning” however. One must say it with feeling in a positive tone while conveying enthusiasm through one’s gestures, attitude and facial expressions. In other words, our greetings must be sincere and wholehearted. Through greeting others, we acknowledge and set the stage for the creation of enduring, dynamic relationships. When children at the setting are learning to greet each other, parents and teachers should take care to ensure that their intonation and expressions are appropriate in accordance with the language that they are speaking.

Showing gratitude means expressing thanks to others for helping us. When we request things, we ask politely. For children, this means learning to ask for things using expressions such as “May I…” or “please”. Children also learn how to say “Thank you” when they receive what they have asked for. More than this, showing gratitude goes beyond words, it emerges when we give someone a hug, a high five, a handshake and when we proffer a smile of recognition. Parents can support their child’s development by having them use other expressions to show appreciation such as nodding, shaking hands, or even giving hugs when it is appropriate.

Personal habits are how we conduct ourselves to ensure that we do not annoy or make others feel uncomfortable. For children, this means, not picking their noses in public, spitting or coughing without covering their mouths. It means cleaning their noses with a tissue or getting tissue for someone who has coughed or sneezed. Being respectful means also means picking up things that we’ve dropped on the floor or cleaning up messes that we have made. Children in early years need special attention to ensure that they do not do these things. However, it is unclear how many young people know why they shouldn’t do these things. Sometimes, in developing children’s values, it is necessary to explain why we do some things and avoid doing others.

Table manners refer to the ways in which we eat at the table. In differing cultures, table manners vary, even the utensils do, but children are generally encouraged to eat all their food. Children are also encouraged to eat with utensils with the notable exception of finger food. Children are also encouraged to clean their mouths and clean and tidy up after eating. Of course, most people speak more quietly while eating. And of course, it is when we want to eat more that we can use those polite expressions that we’ve learned to make a request.

How Respect is taught in the setting

Sarah Peel, a teacher in EY2, says that teaching respect at the setting requires explaining the reason for respectful behaviour to children. Teachers explain that we are quiet in the library because we don’t want to disturb others. We line up in the hall and proceed quietly down the corridor for the same reason. Sarah says that teaching respect is all about “the immediate action” of engaging with others and interacting in the setting. In other words, teachers at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai are always monitoring to ensure that children are on their best behaviour and providing explanations as to why respectful behaviour benefits everyone in the long run. Teachers in all year groups make a sincere effort to ensure that our children are saying please and thank you when they receive their lunch trays and when they request more snack and food. We try to model respectful behaviour whenever and wherever we can.

How you can promote respect at home

The following are tips that you can incorporate to help your child develop the value of respect at home.

  1. Teach positive language. Have your child say “please” and “thank you” when he or she would like to request something (for example: more food or his or her favourite toy).
  2. Manners are important. Have your child cover his or her mouth when she coughs, turn away from others when he or she sneezes, use a tissue to wipe his or her nose and say excuse me after he or she burps.
  3. Sometimes we need to say sorry. Teach your child to apologise when they accidently bump into someone.
  4. Greetings make our day. Make sure your child knows how to greet adults and their peers. When your child sees a teacher, teach him or her to say Mr. or Ms. Have your child say hello to his or her peers when they come into the setting.
  5. Model respectful behaviour: Let your child see you hold the door open for others, give your seat to someone on the bus, subway or train, or ask for more food.

 

To our Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai parents:

Please ask your teachers about being respectful and how you can help your child embrace this value more at home and at the setting. Practice a few of the tips mentioned above at home with your child. Keep a learning diary and note what worked well and what didn’t. Make a list of 20 polite and respectful words that you would like to teach your child in English and Chinese. Try to teach five of these new words every week for the next month. Don’t forget to let your child get the opportunity to practise using these words in real, authentic situations!

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

Classroom News for week beginning 20th February

Early Years 1

EY1 are little thinkers! We are going to have our ‘We are Thinkers’ week and EY1 will be working on how to solve daily life problems. What kind of problems do our tiny little EY1 children have? Putting on, taking off clothes and shoes (that is a BIG problem to solve for our little ones!).

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

We are going to give children a chance to think, be thinkers and share their ideas. They will find out themselves blocks are useful for so many things other than building, tables can be little houses and chairs can become a train or a school bus to sing ‘The Wheels on the Bus’ on them!

Support your child at home. Give them the chance to solve their problems by themselves. Teach them how to do things and let them have a try, get it wrong and try again. Get ready 5 minutes earlier than usual and give them the chance to put their shoes on by themselves, teach your child the steps, make them feel safe when doing it. Encourage them to be independent and don’t be too quick to jump in – having a go is one of the key characteristics of effective learning. We are going to be reading ‘My Big Shouting Day’ and singing ‘Hello!’ along with the other songs that we practise every day.

Please note the weather is becoming warmer. Look at the temperature before dressing your child in the morning and so they will feel comfortable in the classroom. Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai winter jacket is mandatory. Please make sure your child has it and so she/he will be safe to play outdoors!

Early Years 2 

Someone once said “Invest a few moments in thinking. It will pay good interest”, and so this week to go hand in hand with World Thinking Day we will be setting the children the task of thinking. During the week, the children will be solving different problems through experimentation relating to colour, balance, ramps, bridge and tower construction and water movement. We will be challenging the children to think outside the box, to be courageous with their ideas and to be resilient when their ideas don’t go the way they planned.

The book that we will be reading this week in English is ‘Building Up: A Celebration of Building’, by Christy Hale, and the songs will be ‘Build’ em Up!’ (Play School) and ‘London Bridge is Falling Down’.

Early Years 3

EY3 will be doing a lot of ‘thinking’ next week, especially about other people. We will be focusing on the value of respect by thinking and talking about the ways in which we are the same and different from our friends as well as children in other countries. We will be reading the story ‘The Day the Crayons Quit’ by Oliver Jeffers and using this as inspiration to draw self-portraits of ourselves to put together in a crayon box!  We will also be using eggs to have look at how we may all look the same on the outside but are quite different on the inside. In Chinese, the children will be comparing old Shanghai to the Shanghai we know today, talking about the changes we can see. We will be sharing an old traditional Chinese story and poem to help us to show care and kindness towards others. One afternoon next week, we will also be going to EY1 to play with the children and show how kind and respectful we can be as the oldest pupils in the setting.

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

每周快讯 20170217

100天友谊纪念日!

时光飞逝,2月13日惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心迎来了本学年的100天友谊纪念日,为此,我们请孩子们创作了一些描绘他们自己和同伴们的美术作品,并把它们置于大厅展示,家长们纷纷驻足观看,对孩子的作品赞不绝口。孩子们已然和同班的小伙伴们结下了深厚的友谊,在惠灵顿大家庭的氛围中,他们感到安全、温暖。我们有幸见证了幼儿中心大家庭成员之间美好的友谊。

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

2月20日这一周为“小小思想家”活动周

下周,老师们为孩子准备了一些有趣的活动,有关详细信息请参见班级快讯。在向孩子提问的时候,您有考虑过提问的方式与技巧吗?请您尽可能提开放性问题,而非只需回答是或否的封闭性问题。比如,当您的孩子正在画画,如果您提问“你画的是一只猫吗?”得到的回答可能只是“是”或“否”。您不妨用一种吸引孩子的提问方式来问同一个问题,如“哇,你画得很棒,我喜欢你画的动物,它看上去很高兴”,从而有效开启对话。下周我们会向孩子提出许多关于周围世界的问题,请家长们在家里配合我们,并且让爷爷奶奶、外公外婆一起加入进来,让我们一起思考吧!

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

一份特别的邀请函

下周初,我们的小小惠灵顿人会收到一份特别的邀请函。您可知道,幼儿中心快要过生日了。由于我们是在闰日创办的,所以实际上每四年才能过一次生日。今年,我们将于2月28日共同庆祝幼儿中心一岁生日。请家长留意惠灵顿联系手册中的信息。2月27日(周一),我们会把为庆生创作的艺术作品原件陈列于前台区域进行展示。

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

本周所关注的价值观是尊重(下文由William Green老师撰写)

本周,让我们一起深入了解“尊重”这一价值观。无论是大人还是孩子,我们都需要树立并培养尊重这一价值观。著名的美国诗人兼作家Margaret Walker曾说过:“朋友和良好的品行远比金钱重要”。尊重的意思是礼貌待人、懂得答谢,特别是那些指导我们、引领我们的人。我们也应当尊重同辈以及需要帮助的人。幼儿中心大家庭的成员们来自于不同的文化背景,要传递尊重的价值观就需要理解各种文化背景。希望得到别人的尊重是人们最基本的需求之一。这或许能够解释,虽然我们来自不同国家,但是我们每个人都是惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心活跃的一份子。无论是家长、员工还是孩子,我们自主选择加入惠灵顿大家庭,在此不断成长、不断发展。然而,要学会尊重他人,我们就需要理解各种文化的独特性和偶然性。以下的一则事例说明了表达尊重的方式因文化而异,理解尊重的不同表达方式并认同多元文化至关重要。我相信,在21世纪全球化的时代背景下,这非常有必要,尤其对于我们的下一代而言,其意义更为深远。

在日本文化中,人们会对年长者使用敬语。比如,在日语中,“taberu”的意思是吃,但如果是对比自己地位高或年长的人说话时,就要使用“meshiagaru”,它是taberu的敬语形式,用于表达敬意。对于外国人而言,敬语的使用非常复杂,但这是日本人非常普遍的交流方式。再比如,在日语中,我问我的兄弟姐妹(比较亲近的关系)有没有吃过饭,我会随口说:“tabeta?”(taberu的过去时形式,意为吃了吗?)。问老师时,我会说:“tabemashitaka?” (tabeta在正式场合的表达,意为您吃了吗?)。如果我希望恭敬地问校长的话,我会说:“Omeshiagarimashitaka?” (tabeta的敬语形式,意为尊敬的您吃了吗?),在日本,人们在说敬语的时候,有时也会礼节性地鞠躬,弯腰的程度取决于对方的身份。各种文化中有关尊重的表达丰富多样,许多表达和我们熟知的大相径庭。

小小班的教师Jean Jin解释道,在中国文化中,孩子们会说“您”而非“你”以示尊重,类似英语中的“thou”。“您”可用于称呼老师、家庭成员以及其他专业人士,如医生、教授。当小朋友提问时,他们会在问题前加上“请问”。在中国,在公交车、火车或地铁上给年长者让座是非常有礼貌的表现。对于年长者的建议,我们会表示赞同,以示尊重,即便有时我们觉得另外一种方式可能更好。孩子们会通过倾听并听从大人的建议,以表达尊重。努力地学习并认真完成家庭作业也是一种尊重的体现。在中国文化中,表达学习的渴望体现了对年长者的尊重,它表达的是一份孝心。中国文化认为,通过学习,孩子培养了日后成功所需的技能,也反过来使孩子将来有能力养家。

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017 在西方世界,为他人扶门是有礼貌的行为。在幼儿中心,我们可以发现老师和家长经常会善意地为他人扶门。在语言表达上,我们会对老师或专业人士使用Mr. 和Mrs.以表尊敬。同时,使用礼貌的长句比口语化的短句更显尊重。比如,孩子最好对大人说“是的,谢谢”,而不是简略地说“哦”。在以英语为母语的国家中,人们若不同意对方的观点,为尊重他人起见,经常会避免使用过于生硬的话语。比如,人们不会说“这个想法真糟糕”,而会说“你对于另一种方法有什么看法?”或者”…..怎么样?”。对于西方人士,尊重和善良这两种价值观似乎是分不开的。因此,在许多西方国家,培养孩子良好的品行,如礼貌待人、慷慨大方、积极进取和培养孩子尊重他人的好习惯并无二致。

寻找共同点

几乎在所有文化中,吐痰、吼叫、欺骗、打架、尖叫、嘲讽、欺负、歧视、骚扰他人都是失礼的行为。虽然不同文化对于尊重有着不同的表达方式,但是总有一些表达方式是共通的。它们体现在我们问候他人、向他人表示感谢、个人习惯以及餐桌礼仪中。您会注意到要想让这些表达产生效果,我们必须要突破语言、文化、符号表达系统的局限。在我看来,尊重他人就是发自内心真诚待人。

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017 表达尊重最基本的形式来自于我们互相问候的方式。问候可以是“早上好”、“再见”。当然,仅仅说一声“早上好”是不够的,我们应配以积极的口吻,借助手势、姿态、脸部表情热枕地进行表达。换言之,我们的问候必须是满怀真诚的。我们通过问候互相了解,并为建立长久稳固的友谊打下良好的基础。当孩子在幼儿中心互相问候时,家长和教师应当确保孩子的语调和表情符合他们使用的语言。

感激他人意味着向帮助我们的人表示感谢。当我们需要帮助时,我们应当礼貌地求助他人。对于孩子而言,这意味着学习用诸如“我可以……”或者“请”等语言寻求帮助。当他们得到帮助时,孩子应说声“谢谢”表达感谢。除此以外,表达谢意不仅体现在言语中,也可以体现为一个拥抱、一次击掌、一次握手以及一抹微笑。家长可以通过让孩子使用一些肢体语言表示感谢,例如点头、握手、适当时给予拥抱等。

个人习惯是指积久养成的生活方式和行事风格,我们尽可能不去打扰他人或使他人感到不适。对于孩子而言,这意味着不在公众场合挖鼻、吐痰或在没有捂住嘴的情况下咳嗽。孩子应当使用纸巾清洁鼻子或者把纸巾递给咳嗽、打喷嚏的人。尊重他人体现在捡起扔在地上的物品或者收拾杂乱的玩具。幼儿特别需要留意自己的行为,确保自己的行为得当。然而,我们并不清楚有多少孩子知道礼貌行为背后的原因。在培养价值观的过程中,教师有必要向孩子解释说明其原因。

餐桌礼仪指用餐时在餐桌上的礼仪常识。在不同的文化中,餐桌礼仪各不相同,甚至连使用的餐具都不同,但通常我们都鼓励孩子吃完他们的食物,我们也鼓励孩子使用餐具进食,除非是手指食物,同时让他们食用完后清洁嘴部并整理餐桌。大部分人在吃饭的时候会相对安静地进行交谈。当我们想添加食物时,我们可以使用已学习过的礼貌用语提出请求。

在幼儿中心我们如何教导孩子尊重他人

小班的Sarah Peel老师认为,教导孩子尊重他人时要向孩子解释原因。老师需要告诉小朋友,我们之所以要在图书馆保持安静,是因为我们不想影响他人。我们在大厅排好队然后安静地沿着走廊行走也是出于同样的原因。Sarah说指导孩子尊重他人就要让他们在与他人互动时,及时调整自己的言行。换言之,幼儿中心的老师会时时刻刻注意小朋友的言行举止,以确保其礼貌、得体,并向孩子解释为什么礼貌的言行会使他们终身受益。每个年级的老师会通过不懈的努力鼓励孩子在拿餐盘的时候以及想添加食物时,说一声“请”和“谢谢”。无论何时何地,我们都会以身作则,尽力帮助孩子们养成文明礼貌的行为习惯。

如何在家引导孩子尊重他人

以下几点建议能够帮助您在家引导孩子尊重他人

  1. 教孩子使用积极的语言。当您的孩子想要某样东西,比如更多的食物或者他/她最喜欢的玩具,请让他/她学着说“请”和“谢谢”。
  2. 养成良好的习惯很重要。请让您的孩子在咳嗽时捂住嘴;打喷嚏时不要对着他人;用纸巾擦拭鼻子;打嗝后说一声“请见谅”。
  3. 有时,我们需要说对不起。当您的孩子不小心撞到别人,请告诉他/她需向对方道歉。
  4. 彼此之间的问候能让我们高兴一整天。请确保您的孩子知道如何问候大人和他们的同伴。当她/他看到老师,要告诉他/她应称呼老师Mr.或者Ms.。当孩子进入幼儿中心,请鼓励您的孩子问候小伙伴们。
  5. 为孩子树立礼貌的表率:让孩子看到您为他人扶门;在公交车上、地铁上和火车上为他人让座;礼貌地要求添加食物。

致惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心的家长:

关于如何在家和幼儿中心培养尊重这一价值观,请和您孩子的老师做进一步沟通。在家中您可以参考上述建议并付诸实践。也可以创建学习日志,记录哪些方式有效,哪些方式不奏效;还可以列一张词汇清单,写下您希望教会孩子的20个中英文礼貌用语。尝试在下个月每周教五个词,记得要为孩子提供在现实生活中练习的机会!

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017 下周教学预告

小小班

幼儿中心住着一群小小思考者。在即将到来的思考周,小小班的孩子们将开动脑筋,思考如何解决日常生活中的问题。小不点儿们面临着哪些问题呢?穿衣服鞋子,脱衣服鞋子(这些恰恰是小不点们面对的“艰巨”任务呢!)

我们将鼓励孩子积极思考,分享自己的想法。通过思考,他们会惊奇地发现,木块的用途不仅仅是搭建房屋,桌子可以化作小房子,一排椅子就像小火车,也像大巴士,坐在这辆“巴士”上唱着“巴士的轮子转呀转”是件多么开心的事情呀!

我们希望家长也能配合我们的活动,让孩子思考并独立解决他们遇到的问题。对于孩子力所能及的事情,家长可以先示范一次,然后让孩子尝试,做错了不要放弃,重头再来一遍。每天早起五分钟,让孩子自己穿鞋子。家长可以分解穿鞋子的动作,一步步地示范给孩子看,孩子在尝试时不要给他们压力。鼓励孩子自理,不必急于插手,要知道愿意尝试是高效学习的特征之一。下周我们会给孩子读My Big Shouting Day(《我的大喊大叫的一天》),并教他们唱儿歌“Hello”。

最近天气回暖,请家长根据温度变化给孩子增减衣物,确保他们可以舒适地在室内外活动。另外,请家长务必为孩子准备幼儿中心的冬款外套制服,以便他们参加室外活动。

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017

小班

前人曾说过,抽出一点时间思考,能够收获巨大的回报。下周,为响应“世界思考日”,幼儿中心会为小班孩子布置一些需要开动脑筋的小任务。例如:引导他们进行颜色、平衡、斜坡、桥梁、建塔等体验,鼓励他们靠自己的力量解决困难。我们会激发孩子跳出常规思维的束缚,勇于实践自己的想法,即使没有取得预期的效果也不要气馁。

老师会为小班孩子读Christy Hale所写的英文故事书Building Up: A Celebration of Building《搭建:建筑赞歌》,让他们学唱两首儿歌“Build em Up”和“London Bridge is Falling Down”。

The book that we will be reading this week in English is ‘Building Up: A Celebration of Building’, by Christy Hale, and the songs will be ‘Build’ em Up!’ (Play School) and ‘London Bridge is Falling Down’.

中班

下周,我们会充分激发中班孩子的思维,引导他们多考虑他人的感受。我们会鼓励孩子思考和讨论各国孩子之间的相同点和差异,从而传递尊重的价值观。孩子们会阅读Oliver Jeffers所写的故事书The Day the Crayons Quit(《蜡笔集体罢工的一天》),并结合故事内容发挥想象,创作自画像存放在蜡笔盒里。我们会以鸡蛋为教具,让孩子们知道尽管每个人的外表大同小异,但内心却千差万别。在中文日,孩子们将比较老上海和如今的上海,谈谈他们观察到的变化。老师还会介绍中华传统故事和诗歌给孩子们听,希望他们懂得在与人相处的过程中要保持善良的品质。另外,中班孩子会抽出一个下午的时间,以大哥哥大姐姐的身份去小小班陪弟弟妹妹们游戏,身体力行的为弟弟妹妹展示尊重、善良。

The Week Ahead 20 February 2017