OUTDOOR LEARNING SPACES

We believe that children should have plentiful opportunities to actively construct their own knowledge and understanding of the world through the many different experiences they have. Finding out and exploring is all about the open-ended, hands-on experiences which arise from children’s innate curiosity.

Outdoor Learning Spaces

We believe that children should have plentiful opportunities to actively construct their own knowledge and understanding of the world through the many different experiences they have. Finding out and exploring is all about the open-ended, hands-on experiences which arise from children’s innate curiosity.

Outdoor play is known to improve concentration and perception of the living world around us. It develops character; it is believed that children who explore are more likely to be self-motivated and adventurous, helping them to learn to take risks. Outdoor play provides a great opportunity to exercise in an enjoyable, unstructured way. It strengthens the immune system and enhances muscle function.

We want the pupils of Huili Nursery Shanghai to have as much time outdoors as is possible in the city. When outdoors, pupils have access to an environment where they experience purposeful play and wonderful learning opportunities, alongside the freedom to create their own play without it being adult-led. We have considered how the outdoor space can be used to support the curriculum themes and how we can promote development in all areas of learning. The outdoor ambience we have created is one of being close to nature. We have limited the use of man-made materials to increase pupil’s awareness of the natural environment around them. We believe that children should learn to build with sticks, make pies from mud, grow food that they can eat, look closely at the world of minibeasts and other garden creatures and use the outdoors to link to stories, role play, science, music, art, design, maths and language.

GARDENING SPACES

Children are natural gardeners. They’re curious, like to learn by doing and love playing in the dirt. Working in a garden, a child can experience the satisfaction that comes from caring for something over time, while observing the cycle of life first-hand. Gardening gives children a chance to learn an important life skill, one that is often overlooked in many Early Years’ settings. Gardening is also a great way to teach environmental awareness by exploring the workings of natureIt will be a joy to see their green-fingers be at one with the environment.

MUSIC AND SOUND SPACES

Providing music and sound making equipment outdoors makes for a noisy time! The pupils are encouraged to experiment with their peers and use their surroundings to discover new sounds, create their own pieces and link the sounds to songs that are already known. Music spaces can be linked to areas in the curriculum and are particularly useful for storytelling support, expressive art and design but also science and understanding the world. For more information on music and sound, see indoor learning spaces.

IMAGINATION CREATION AND INVESTIGATION SPACES

At Huili Nursery Shanghai, we hold a desire to provide pupils with spaces that they make their own at any given time. Our outdoor spaces support the pupils by allowing indoor learning activities to be taken further to incorporate a wider context. Using the five senses, pupils are encouraged to experience hands-on, cognitive activities that stimulate an enquiring mind. Activities around counting, shape, sorting, grading, ordering, matching promote mathematical thinking skills. Talking, describing, naming and making stories encourage language. Discussion and stories around the topic and theme embed learning further and can be taken back in to the indoor learning spaces for reinforcement. For more on exploring and investigation, please see indoor learning spaces.

PHYSICAL PLAY SPACES

The outdoor physical play spaces have been designed to allow every child the chance to develop their gross motor skills, expend some energy and develop social skills to allow them to acknowledge the others in the space with and around them. Children need space to run and we are sensitive to this; they need the freedom to lead their own games, imaginative activities, and roam the grounds with a sense of freedom and security. Amongst the green spaces, we have a play area with adventure climbing frame, tricycle areas and an outdoor mud kitchen.

室外学习区域

实现室内外学习区域间的“自由穿梭”是打造最佳学习体验的基础要素。这意味着孩子们可以将室外环境视作天然的教室。幼儿在室外活动的时间不应少于室内活动时间,他们的成长发展离不开精心设计规划的室内外环境。

室外学习区域

首页 > 室外学习区域

实现室内外学习区域间的自由穿梭”是打造最佳学习体验的基础要素。这意味着孩子们可以将室外环境视作天然的教室。幼儿在室外活动的时间不应少于室内活动时间,他们的成长发展离不开精心设计规划的室内外环境。

人们认为,室外玩耍有助于提高注意力,对周围世界的感知能力,塑造性格。常在室外玩耍的孩子容易养成具有自主性、敢于冒险的性格,懂得承担风险。室外玩耍是一种愉悦身心、无拘无束的锻炼体验,能增强人的免疫系统和肌肉力量。

虽然身处在城市里,我们仍然希望幼儿园的孩子们享有充足的室外活动时间。孩子们在室外空间时,既可以体验寓教于乐的活动,获得精彩的学习机会,又可以放飞自由玩耍的心,不受成人的约束。我们仔细考量了如何合理运用室外空间辅助主题课程的教学,如何促进孩子在不同学习发展领域全面提高。在幼儿园,我们创造的室外氛围尽可能接近自然,较少使用人工材料,让孩子可以感受身边的自然环境。我们深信孩子们应该学会用木块搭建小世界,用泥土做馅饼,自己种植可食用的蔬果,近距离地观察小昆虫和其他生物,将室外活动与童话故事、角色扮演、科学、音乐、艺术、设计、数学、语言等相互贯通。

园艺区

孩子们是天生的园艺师。他们对事物充满着好奇,喜欢在探索中学习,喜欢在泥地里玩耍。通过园艺劳动,孩子们能从花心思照料植物中获得成就感,亲身感受生命的周而复始。园艺能让孩子学习到幼儿教育阶段常常容易被忽视的重要生活技能。园艺活动是对自然世界的探索,是教导孩子们树立环境意识的一个好方法。一群园艺小能手们辛勤劳作的场景叫人不由得心生欢喜。

音乐和声音体验区

室外配备音乐器具意味着你常常能听到远处传来的阵阵“乐声”!幼儿园鼓励孩子们成群结伴地探索声音,从周围的世界中寻找奇妙的声音,创作小曲子,听声音辨识歌曲。音乐区与教学课程紧密结合,对讲故事、激发艺术设计,学习科学、认知世界都大有裨益。更多关于音乐和声音的探索,请阅读室内学习区域页面。

想象与探索区

在上海浦东新区民办惠立幼儿园, 我们渴望为孩子预留一片能让他们每天花一些时间随性探索的区域。室外区域是为了便于延伸室内的教学活动。我们鼓励孩子运用五官感受,亲身体验丰富的认知活动,满足探究的欲望。与数数、形状、分类、分级、排序、配对相关的游戏能锻炼数学逻辑思维。表达、描述、命名、创造故事等活动能锻炼语言能力。交流探讨、学习某一主题或话题的故事与教学更加密不可分,并且这些活动能在室内学习活动中得到巩固。关于更多探索区的介绍,请阅读室内学习区域页面。

体能发展区

室外体能发展区能够开发孩子的粗大运动技能,消耗过剩的活力,培养社交能力,感知周围的人们。我们深知,孩子们需要宽阔的场地奔跑,需要主导自己的玩耍,在玩耍中发挥奇思妙想,漫步在草地上享受自由和安全。在绿油油的草坪上,我们划分了攀爬探险区,三轮车骑行区和户外泥巴厨房。