THE EARLY YEARS CURRICULUM

The Huili Nursery Shanghai has been carefully designed and planned to meet the needs of pupils aged 2-6 years, with a focus on learning spaces to promote learning and development across various areas. We have brought together the very best frameworks to support effective Early Years education within the nursery.

The Early Years Curriculum

Huili Nursery Shanghai curriculum has been carefully designed and planned to meet the needs of pupils aged 2-6 years, with a focus on learning spaces to promote meaningful learning and development across various areas. The Wellington College China early years academic framework supports effective early years education within the nursery.

Research on successful outcomes of Early Years’ provision, both in the short term and for later.

A MIX OF ACTIVITIES

Within a whole day in the nursery, periods of free play (without adult involvement) meet our pupil’s need for space, independence and relaxation. Short sessions of carefully planned, structured activities are used to support the learning of specific knowledge and skills and are especially useful when building vocabulary for bilingual children or demonstrating how to use tools and equipment. Research has shown that children are born highly motivated, intelligent learners who actively seek interactions from those around them. To this end, we recognise that our pupils need plentiful opportunity to be able to socialise and interact with their peers, have periods of uninterrupted play and time to explore the world around them. Frustration arises when a child finally figures a challenge, task oractivity out and before they have a chance to try it out again, they are moved on to another activity. This inhibits a full understanding and doesn’t support our philosophy. Our pupils have time, support and encouragement from the team around them.

Children have built in exploratory tendencies and engage all their senses to investigate, discover, trial and master tools and resources at all stages of development. For young children, we appreciate that learning is both individual and social; our pupils are not passive learners, they enjoy hands on and brain-active activities. Children enthusiastically drive their own learning and development by the choices they make, the interests they develop, the questions they ask, the knowledge they seek and their motivation to act more competently. Children’s personal choices and interests are the driving force for building their knowledge, skills and understanding. Our indoor and outdoor learning spaces ignite pupil’s incentive to learn, with encouraging adults facilitating the desire to explore and investigate in more depth. Between them, the pupils fuel an ethos of shared thinking and learning. By working and playing with other people, children are constantly learning about themselves and their social and cultural worlds. Bilingual immersion helps pupils build positive identities through collaborative, caring relationships with others in the nursery. We also encourage our pupils to manage and take risks, have a go, experience success, developing mastery and ‘can do’ attitudes to life.

At Huili Nursery Shanghai, our practitioners have a significant role in building the right environment for learning. Most essentially, all adults in our nursery ensure that children feel known and valued as individuals, feeling safe and cared for. Every pupil’s personal stage of development is respected. Our pupils are not rushed, but supported and extended in ways that are right for them. Time in the nursery is managed so that pupils have an opportunity to become deeply involved in their activities and to follow their ideas through. Pupils may later return to continue their explorations or creative expressions. At Huili Nursery Shanghai, we see no need to rush; our pupils are exposed to quality experiences with depth of meaning. The early years practitioners manage the pace of activities, planning varied, interesting and new experiences to stimulate learning alongside opportunities for children to revisit, practise or enjoy a sense of mastery. With this groundwork in place, it is then the practitioners’ skilled interactions which will move learning forward.

Play engages children’s bodies, minds and emotions. In play, children can learn to interact with others and be part of a community. They experience and manage feelings, and learn to be in control and confident about themselves and their abilities. Play is known to help develop positive dispositions to learning:

  • Finding an interest
  • Being willing to explore, experiment and try things out
  • Knowing how and where to seek help
  • Being inventive – creating problems and finding solutions
  • Being flexible – testing and refining solutions
  • Being engaged and involved – concentrating, sustaining interest, persevering with a task, even when it is challenging
  • Making choices and decisions
  • Making plans and knowing how to carry them out
  • Playing and working collaboratively with peers and adults
  • Managing ‘self’ and managing others; understanding the perspectives and emotions of other people
  • Developing ‘can do’ orientations to learning
  • Being resilient – finding alternative strategies if things don’t go as planned

Babies and young children are powerful learners, reaching out in to the world and making sense of their experiences with other people, objects and events. As they explore and learn, children are naturally drawn to play. Play is recognised as so important to their wellbeing and development that the right to play is set down in the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (1989) and play is a fundamental commitment of Huili Framework.

Huili Framework sets the standards that all Early Years’ providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes learning to support children’s transition to school and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress throughout school and indeed, life. The Huili Framework provides sufficient flexibility for practitioners to follow children’s interests, respond to their ideas for developing play activities, and provides structured activities (which can also be playful) to teach specific knowledge and skills.

Huili Framework seeks to provide:

  • Quality and consistency in all Early Years’ settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind
  • A secure foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly
  • Partnership working between practitioners and with parents and / or carers
  • Equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported

Babies and young children are powerful learners, reaching out in to the world and making sense of their experiences with other people, objects and events. As they explore and learn, children are naturally drawn to play. Play is recognised as so important to their wellbeing and development that the right to play is set down in the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (1989).

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to reach their full potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances.

学前教育课程

上海浦东新区民办惠立幼儿园是专为满足2-6岁孩子的需求而规划设计的,通过各种不同的学习空间来促进不同领域的发展,并且采取最适合的教育体系来支持幼儿园的教学。

学前教育课程

首页 > 学前教育课程

上海浦东新区民办惠立幼儿园的课程是专为满足2-6岁孩子的需求而规划设计的,通过各种不同的学习空间来促进不同领域的发展。编写惠灵顿(中国)学前教育教学大纲就是为支持幼儿园的高效教学。


多样性的教学活动

每一天的教学活动中我们都为孩子提供了没有老师干预的自由游戏时间,这类游戏将满足孩子们对空间、独立意识及休闲的渴望。他们还会参加固定时间段的由老师们精心针对教学内容设计的活动,这类活动将教会孩子们使用各种工具和设备器材,同时对于孩子双语的词汇量提升有着重要的作用。研究表明,孩子往往从出生时便是很活跃的,他们聪明灵动,喜欢和周围的世界互动。为此,我们认识到孩子需要充足的机会进行社交,与同龄人交流,有固定的时间段做游戏和探索他们周围的世界。如果孩子们成功地解决了一个问题,完成了一个挑战或做了一次活动之后,想要再次尝试却被迫去做其他的事情,那么会非常可惜。这有悖于我们团队的教学理念:孩子应获足够的时间、支持和鼓励。

孩子们是天生的探索者。在幼儿的各个发展阶段,他们会充分调动所有的感官去探索、发现、尝试、使用教学工具和材料。我们乐于看到幼儿不仅独立学习,也与他人一起学习。在学习的海洋里,他们不是被动的学习者,而是喜欢主动地动手动脑。孩子们充满热情地自己主导他们的学习和发展,他们自己作选择,自己发展兴趣,自己提问,自己探寻知识并自我激励将事情做得更好。孩子们个人的选择和兴趣爱好是驱使他们寻求知识技能的源动力。我们室内和室外的学习区域也是为激发孩子的学习主动力而设计的。老师会鼓励孩子进行更深入的探索和研究。在孩子们之间也会形成一种共同思考和学习的良好风气,通过团队合作、与他人玩耍,不断地了解自我和自己的社会及文化。我们的浸入式双语教育环境有助于孩子与他人建立相互协作、彼此关怀的人际关系,形成积极的性格特质。此外我们也鼓励孩子去管理和承担风险,凡事勇于尝试、体验成功,树立“我能行”的人生态度。

在上海浦东新区民办惠立幼儿园,老师们在营造良好的学习环境的问题上发挥着重要的作用。从根本上而言,每个教职员工应该让孩子感受到理解、尊重、安全和关怀。每个孩子的发展阶段得到尊重,不被催促着成长,而是得到了应有的帮助和拓展。老师们会掌握时间,让孩子拥有融入学习活动、实施个人想法的充裕时间。即便孩子的注意力暂时转移或被打断,他们还有机会回到同样的活动并继续探索和创造。我们认为催促是没有必要的,我们的孩子会得到具有深刻意义的体验。教学人员把握活动节奏,提供不同的有趣的新体验来激发学习兴趣,同时也提供足够的机会让孩子重温和练习以享受熟练掌握一项技能的乐趣。以此为原则,教师会通过与孩子的个性化互动来推动学习进程。

游戏调动了孩子的肢体、思维和情绪。在做游戏的过程中,孩子学会了与他人互动,在大集体里与人相处,也学会了体会和管理自己的情绪,控制自己的行为,对自己和自己的能力变得自信。玩游戏对孩子益处多多,比如:

  • 寻找兴趣点
  • 乐于探索,尝试和实践
  • 知道如何寻求帮助,去哪寻求帮助
  • 创造发明,提出问题和解决问题
  • 灵活多变,尝试并完善解决方案
  • 能投入并参与到具体事务中,专注于兴趣爱好、坚持完成某一项任务,哪怕该任务是具有挑战性的
  • 作选择、作决定
  • 善于制定计划并知道如何付诸行动
  • 能和同龄人或成年人和睦地相处
  • 会自我管理,懂得体恤他人的情绪和期望
  • 我能行的态度去学习
  • 做事有弹性,如未能按计划行事,则能有多种后备方案

婴幼儿天生具有强大的学习能力,面对未知的世界,他们不断探索,感知身边的人、事、物。他们最喜爱的探索方式是玩耍。玩耍对孩子的幸福成长非常重要,联合国《儿童权利公约》(1989)规定儿童享有玩耍的权利,玩耍也是惠立课程的基础立足点。

我们认为,每个孩子都应该享有最美好的人生启程,应该有人引导发掘他们的天赋。孩子在幼儿时期成长迅速,从出生到五岁之间的经历对他们今后的机遇具有重大影响。