Voice From The Master of Wellington College UK

Julian Thomas

I hope that you all had a restful and enjoyable half term break. It was good to welcome everyone back last Sunday, and the College is now back in full swing.

You may have seen the news over half term that Wellington has opened a ground-breaking international school in Shanghai. The school, currently for 2-6 year olds, is the first to fully integrate the concepts of Chinese and British education, and it is the first time Chinese children will have the option to go to such a school. It marks a significant step in Sino-British cooperation in education.  Please see the story in this edition of the Week Ahead.

I am often asked why Wellington is engaged in these overseas projects. The answer lies in the College’s outward-facing and forward-thinking approach. I believe there are significant benefits of our engagement with overseas education. The first is the opportunity for boys and girls from the College to visit China on cultural and educational exchanges which has the potential to be truly life-enhancing. I hope that every child entering Wellington will have an opportunity during their time at the College to experience life in one of our international family of schools.

I am also excited about engaging with the Chinese educational system to our mutual benefit, and about the understanding and expertise which will emerge from this fusion of British and Chinese pedagogy. Much has been written in recent months about the respected merits of western and eastern educational systems but I am keen that all schools and students in the Wellington family benefit from our shared understanding of what best practice, both inside and outside the classroom, actually is, regardless of its national heritage. Schools and teachers around the world have so much to learn from each other.

It is also important to be aware that money raised from overseas projects is used to fund our bursary programme which allows children to receive a Wellington education who would not otherwise be in a position to do so.

I am so proud that Wellington College is taking the lead in such an exciting and pioneering partnership. I hope that you are too.

I would like to wish you all a happy and successful half term ahead

Julian Thomas

Julian Thomas
Master, Wellington College UK

英国惠灵顿公学校长启言

Julian Thomas

我希望大家都度过了一个身心愉快的学期中假期。我很高兴在上周日欢迎各位返回校园,并看到英国惠灵顿公学又恢复往日如火如荼的景象了。

学期中假期刚过,你或许已经留意到一则新闻,惠灵顿公学刚在上海新创办了一所史无前例的海外教育机构——惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心。这所幼儿中心目前招生2至6岁儿童,首次全方位充分整合中英两国的教育理念,并且让中国的儿童第一次拥有入读此类纯正双语教育机构的机会。这标志着中英两国在教育领域的交流合作的又一成功典范。详情请见每周快讯中的相关报道内容。

我时常会被问询到,为什么惠灵顿公学要参与创办这些国际教育合作项目。答案其实在于惠灵顿公学的外向性发展以及前瞻性思考战略。我坚信,惠灵顿公学创办国际教育合作项目是具有重大利好意义的。第一项利好就是英国惠灵顿公学的男女同学们都将有机会到访中国进行文化教育交流,使同学们有机会丰富人生阅历体验。我衷心希望,每一位入读英国惠灵顿公学的同学在就读期间都能有一次机会,到访我们惠灵顿国际大家庭中的任一所学校体验生活。

其次,对于能在基于互惠互利的前提下,结合中国教育体系、加深相互了解并融汇英中两国各有所长的专业教育学知识,我感到激动不已。在最近几个月,西方与东方的教育体系的优缺点已经屡次被报道过,受到广泛关注。但我非常肯定,惠灵顿大家庭中的所有学校成员以及学生都将受益于我们所共识的最好的课堂内外的教学实践方法,而这些实际上与其国家民族历史无关。全世界的学校和老师们有太多地方可供彼此相互学习交流,各取所长。

此外,各位有必要了解的很重要的一点,就是国际教育合作项目的盈收会被用在惠灵顿公学助学金计划上,目的是资助那些原本因财政原因而没法就读的同学们,让他们有机会接受惠灵顿公学的教育。

对于惠灵顿公学能引领如此令人兴奋和前瞻性的合作,我深感骄傲自豪。我希望各位也和我一样。

提前衷心祝愿大家拥有一个快乐圆满的下半学期!

Julian Thomas

Julian Thomas
英国惠灵顿公学校长