The Week Ahead 2016035

What a week! The Academy programme has started with great success; we’ve had ballerinas, language learners, singers and active movers throughout the setting and I’m delighted at how well the pupils have dealt with further changes to their lives.

The focus for this week is on the Wellington Values. Whilst we all hold values that are very personal to us as individuals, I truly believe that our shared and strong belief in the Wellington Values is one of the main reasons that parents choose to join our family. These values are not mere words to which we pay lip-service; they run through everything that we do, who we are, how we think and how we conduct ourselves. They also form the very basis of what we expect in others; from the academic and non-academic teams, the pupils in each and every classroom, their immediate and extended families and any external visitors to the setting.

惠灵顿价值观

This is not a one-way process – we cannot develop these values in the pupils if they are not supported once they leave the setting. This is why our partnership, collaboration and shared mindset is so important. As we are now in to the fourth week of the term, I think it is timely to revisit what our Wellington Values are and what our collective commitment to the values is. I have witnessed much since we welcomed our new and returning families and I’d like to share some of this with you in the hope that our partnership is strengthened and we all work together for the benefit of the pupils and the wider Wellington family. I ask you, as our partners to consider the questions throughout this Week Ahead as I think they provide food for thought for all of us.

The Wellington Values come alive!

Words are great for those who can read and as adults you’ll see posters around the setting outlining our commitment to the values. For those who are still learning and cannot yet read, visual association and recognition is vital. What better way to promote the values amongst young learners than to design something that they can relate to? I’d like express my sincerest thanks to Jackie Saha (Marketing and Admissions Manager) who led on this venture and found us the very best designer who brought our ideas to life. Jackie provides exceptional creative input within the setting and the results are phenomenal – THANK YOU!

Over the coming weeks, you will see our newly designed artwork start to decorate the walls, noticeboards and staircases. They’re simple, bold in colour, child-focused and have great visual impact. We will have stickers made to represent the values and pupils will be decorated with these stickers when they exhibit appropriate behaviour and conduct. This is important to us – we ask for your support in ensuring understanding of what the values stand for. This is not, however a competition! Children need time to understand the meaning of the values and we will support understanding without any unnecessary pressure. Again, we ask for your support; what children see, hear and experience throughout their formative years is crucial to their understanding of the world around them.

Courage

惠灵顿价值观

Definition: The ability to confront fear and uncertainty, to take calculated risks in the pursuit of goodness.

We will operate with the utmost courage to confront behaviours and actions which we deem to be inappropriate to the pupils, families and staff within the setting. We strive to ensure that every member of the Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai community feels safe and secure with an overwhelming sense of belonging.

Ask yourself this question: if you saw someone taking photos when they are not supposed to – would you ask them to stop?

Integrity

惠灵顿价值观

Definition: Consistency and authenticity, acting in consort with one’s beliefs.

We will act with authenticity and consistency in every aspect of our practice. We celebrate diversity amongst our community and actively promote equality; equality within our conduct towards others, equality in access to service and assistance. Integrity is the core pillar of Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai and runs through the very DNA of who we are.

Ask yourself this question: if you are unhappy about something in the setting, do you talk to the teacher, or do you take to social media?

Kindness

惠灵顿价值观

Definition: Showing consideration for others and acting selflessly for their benefit.

We will show consideration in all that we do for members of the Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai and wider communities. Our actions and motives will be selfless and for the benefit of others, imbuing the vision of the setting. Spoken words will be inoffensive to those within the setting and the language used (both verbal and non-verbal) will uphold this value.

Ask yourself this question: Do you hold the door open for the person behind you?

Respect

惠灵顿价值观

Definition: Positive feelings of esteem for a person, group, entity or quality resulting in acting with fairness.

We will use language and actions which are appropriate to the pupils, families and staff within the setting. We will be courteous and professional at all times creating an atmosphere of positivity throughout the setting. We will act in fairness in everything that we do and towards everyone at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai.

Ask yourself this question: Do you treat and speak to everyone the same, no matter who they are and what position they hold?

Responsibility

惠灵顿价值观

Definition: Being reliable, dependable and accountable for one’s conduct.

We will be reliable and dependable through our professional practice. We will be accountable in all that we do, taking responsibility for our behaviour, actions and conduct at all times. We serve the Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai community to the best of our professional ability and will continually strive to improve where necessary.

Ask yourself this question: Do you tidy up after your child or encourage them to do for themselves?

At times Yuki, Jane and I feel that we are the Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai police and it can be a lonely job! I ask that whomever is responsible for collecting your child encourages them to have respect for the setting, the resources and supports them to take responsibility.

A gentle reminder:

Please try and have your young Wellingtonian on site before 08:30 as they’re missing out on valuable learning opportunities. Remember that research guides us:

  • bed before 19:00
  • up by 07:00
  • eat a healthy and nutritious breakfast
  • get washed and dressed and out of the door ready for a day of exploring and fun

 

惠灵顿价值观

 

We know that a body’s peak growth is during sleep and young bodies and minds need lots of rest. Young children need 12-14 hours of sleep per day. A well-established routine once you leave the setting will benefit your child (and you as a parent) significantly. Tired children are grumpy and emotional children who often present with challenging behaviour and don’t wish to participate in activities. We want our pupils to be active learners who relish the opportunities throughout the setting. If you’re struggling to get your little learner in to a good routine, please come and chat to the team. Over the years, we’ve helped lots of families to put routines in place and the results are visible in every aspect of life.

Parent Information Session:

The next session will be held by Nikki Street (EY3 English teacher) on Tuesday 27th September and will explore Wellbeing.

每周快讯 2016035

又是繁忙的一周!惠灵顿课外课程本周已拉开序幕,活动进行得很顺利。在幼儿中心,我们看到了小小芭蕾舞者、外语学习者、小小歌唱家以及足球运动员。孩子们能够以良好心态应对生活中所发生的变化,这令我感到欣喜。

本周,我们关注的是惠灵顿价值观。虽然每个人都持有各自的价值观,但我坚信,惠灵顿大家庭的成员有着共同的价值观,我们对惠灵顿价值观深信不疑,我相信这也是家长选择惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心的主要原因之一。惠灵顿价值观并非空谈,它们贯穿于我们所做的每一件事中,体现了我们是谁、我们的思维方式以及行为习惯。我们希望惠灵顿大家庭的每一位成员都能够践行惠灵顿价值观,包括幼儿中心的教学团队和非教学团队、每个班级的小朋友、孩子们的家庭成员以及幼儿中心的访客。

惠灵顿价值观

传承惠灵顿价值观并非单向的过程,在向孩子们灌输这些价值观的过程中,如果没有家长的配合,孩子们就无法深入理解惠灵顿价值观。因此,幼儿中心和家长之间的合作以及教育理念的共享显得尤为重要。这一周是本学期的第四周,正是时候和大家再聊一聊灵顿价值观以及我们对于恪守惠灵顿价值观的集体承诺。在新学年开始前,幼儿中心迎来许多学生家庭和新生家庭,时至今日,我目睹了很多人和事,我想借此机会和您一起分享,以促进加强幼儿中心和家长之间的合作,为孩子的成长和惠灵顿大家庭的发展共同努力。作为我们的合作伙伴,请家长们思考下文中提出的问题,这些问题也值得我们所有人深思。

惠灵顿价值观变得生动形象!

在幼儿中心,您会看到有关我们承诺恪守惠灵顿价值观的海报,但是海报内容以文字为主,仅供成人浏览,当我们向正处于学习阶段、尚不识字的小朋友们传递惠灵顿价值观时,更重要的是向他们展示生动形象并且易于辨识的图片。还有比设计这些图片更好的方法吗?在此,我想向幼儿中心市场招生部经理Jackie Saha表示由衷的感谢,她肩负起这一重任,为我们找到了最好的设计师,成功的把我们的想法付诸实践。Jackie为幼儿中心提供了许多富有创意的建议,实际效果也非常棒,谢谢!

在之后的几周,您会发现在幼儿中心的墙上、告示板上以及楼梯旁张贴着我们最新设计的美术作品。这些美术作品简单明了、色彩鲜艳,适合儿童浏览,视觉效果非常突出。同时,我们还会制作与惠灵顿价值观有关的贴纸,让孩子们有机会得到这贴纸。这对巩固惠灵顿价值观非常重要,我们希望得到您的支持,以确保孩子们理解惠灵顿价值观的内容。但这并不是比赛!孩子需要时间理解价值观的含义,我们会帮助他们理解,但是请不要造成不必要的压力。再一次请您协助我们,在孩子成长发展的关键时期,他们的所见、所闻、所体验的事物将对他们了解周围世界产生重要影响。

勇敢

惠灵顿价值观

定义:直面恐惧和不确定性的能力,为追求正义而承担适当风险

当幼儿中心的孩子、家长或员工遭受不当行为时,我们会勇敢地加以制止。我们希望为幼儿中心大家庭的所有成员营造全、有归属感的环境。

请问:在幼儿中心,当您看到有人在不合适的时候拍了孩子的照片,你会上前劝说并阻止吗?

正直

惠灵顿价值观

定义:保持一致性及真实,坚守信念。

我们做任何事情时都会保持真诚、一致。我们容纳多样性, 积极促进平等,平等地对待他人,平等地提供服务和帮助。正直是惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心价值观的核心支柱,它融入在我们的DNA之中。

请问:如果您对幼儿中心感到不满,您会和老师沟通吗?还是直接发布到社交媒体上?

善良

惠灵顿价值观

定义:体谅他人,无私利他。

我们做事时会为幼儿中心的成员和他人考虑。我们会秉持幼儿中心的愿景,为他人的利益着想,避免追求一己私利的行为和动机。园舍内用语要文明礼貌。口头语言和肢体语言都要符合善良的价值观。

请问:当您开门的时候,会为身后的人挡一下门吗?

尊重

惠灵顿价值观

定义:尊敬、重视个体、群体、实际存在的事物或公平行事的品质。

我们对小朋友、家长和员工使用得体的语言和动作。我们时刻保持礼貌、专业,营造积极的园舍氛围。在惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心,我们公平地对待每件事、每个人。

请问:您对待他人以及和他人沟通的时候是否不分高低贵贱,一视同仁?

责任

惠灵顿价值观

定义:可信赖、可依靠,对自身的行为负责任。

我们恪守专业行为规范,可靠可信。我们对所做的每一件事负责,对我们的举止、行为及品行负责。我们竭尽专业才能服务于幼儿中心大家庭,改进不足,不断提升。

请问:您为会您的孩子收拾玩具吗?还是鼓励他们玩好玩具以后自己收拾?

有时,Yuki、Jane和我觉得自己就像幼儿中心的巡警,这可是一份令人感到无奈的工作!请来幼儿中心接领孩子的家长配合我们,告诉孩子要爱惜幼儿中心的物品、玩具、书本,鼓励他们玩好、用好后,承担起整理的责任。

温馨提示:

请于上午8:30前将您的孩子送至幼儿中心,以免他们失去宝贵的学习机会。以下是根据研究成果得出的儿童健康作息时间:

  • 晚上7点之前睡觉
  • 上午7点之前起床
  • 享用一顿健康、富含营养的早餐
  • 打理好一切后出门,开始一天的快乐探索

 

惠灵顿价值观

 

我们都知道,睡眠过程是孩子生长发育的黄金时期,幼儿需要许多休息时间以恢复体力和精神。他们每天需要12至14小时的睡眠时间。当您的孩子离开幼儿中心后,良好的作息时间对孩子和家长都有益。疲倦的孩子脾气暴躁、情绪起伏不定,他们经常表现出行为问题,不愿参与活动。我们希望孩子们成为积极的学习者,并珍惜幼儿中心创造的每个学习机会。如果您在为孩子制定健康作息时间时遇到困难,欢迎您和我们的教学团队沟通。我们已帮助许多家长制定健康的作息时间,并取得了显著的成效,体现在孩子生活的各个方面。

家长信息交流会预告:

下一场信息交流会时间为9月27日星期二,由中班英语老师Nikki Street主持,内容为探索“幸福”,请已报名的家长准时出席。