The Week Ahead 20160520

Teddy Bears’ Picnic – Bringing the Wellington College community together.

泰迪熊野餐会--惠灵顿大家庭欢聚一堂 If you go down to the woods today
You’re sure of a big surprise.
If you go down to the woods today
You’d better go in disguise!
For every bear that ever there was
Will gather there for certain,
Because today’s the day the
Teddy Bears have their picnic.

泰迪熊野餐会--惠灵顿大家庭欢聚一堂

We had a wonderful end to the day on Tuesday, when the founding families of Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai came together to join in our Teddy Bears’ Picnic. The children had a full day of activities and they ‘bearly’ had time to stop and rest! Arts and crafts, story-telling, play time and carpet time activities were all based around the theme of Teddy Bears, incorporating learning in the areas of mathematics, literacy, physical development and expressive arts and design. Even whilst undertaking fun and play-based activities, the learning opportunities presented are abundant. Bringing the community together to enjoy the beautiful weather, the outdoor learning spaces and each other’s company is important as it increases the sense of family amongst us. It also provides parents with an opportunity to meet each other, share stories and make new friends. I must add a special thank you to Angela in Bunny Class for my teddy bear ears, they were a very welcome accessory!

泰迪熊野餐会--惠灵顿大家庭欢聚一堂

INTRODUCING THE WELLINGTON IDENTITY:

Our Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai parents will be familiar with the Wellington Values (formerly the five core values) and the Wellington Aptitudes (formerly the eight aptitudes). Over the next five editions of the Week Ahead, I’d like to present the Wellington Identity introduced by Julian Thomas, 14th Master of Wellington College. In the Julian Thomas years, Wellington College’s message will focus on the pupils themselves and the educational journey on which they travel. This focus falls under three interlinked areas:

  1. The Wellington Aptitudes which describe the holistic approach to educating the whole person; a framework for how we educate Wellingtonians (this corresponds very well to the Early Years Foundation Stage and the identified areas of learning and development)
  2. The Wellington Values encapsulating how we want Wellingtonians to be (we also extend this to include our Wellington families to promote our shared mind set and vision)
  3. The Wellington Identity capturing the skills and traits with which we want to equip pupils during their time at Wellington College – this is what we want Wellingtonians to be (we believe that this starts from the very moment a child joins us in Early Years)

 

The Wellington Identity answers the question, “What is the finished product of an education at Wellington College?”What do we want Wellingtonians to be? We want them to be::

  • Inspired
  • Intellectual
  • Independent
  • Individual
  • Inclusive

 

The five pillars, describing what we want Wellingtonians to be, are interlinked and over the next five editions of the Week Ahead I will provide details of how, at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai we promote the five pillars of the Wellington Identity throughout the setting. With each pillar I will be delighted to showcase the children’s artwork, supporting the five I’s which is installed outside of the multimedia room.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

SATURDAY 28TH MAY – SHANGHAI MORNING POST EVENT

We are delighted to be able to host 10 families who will join us for a playdate at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai. There are lots of fun activities planned around one of our favourite stories; Brown Bear.

SATURDAY 28TH MAY – WELLINGTON COLLEGE INTERNATIONAL SHANGHAI SUMMER FAYRE

Come and join in the fun at the International School.

2:30pm-6:30pm

Organised by the Summer Festival Committee, a mixture of Friends of Wellington’s parents, staff and teachers. This year’s Festival will be a huge celebration of music, drama, dance, arts and culture, with a theme of ‘Creativity’. It will be the highlight of the summer term at Wellington College International Shanghai. Our community will enjoy a full selection of international foods and drinks, games and activities, on-stage performances and a charity raffle (with profits to our chosen charity – Mifan Mamas).

WEDNESDAY 8TH JUNE – 100 DAYS OF FRIENDSHIP

We would like to invite parents to attend a celebration of 100 of Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai friendship. The children will be performing songs for the parents, art work will be displayed in our art ‘installation’, charity art cards will be available to purchase and refreshments will be served to mark this momentous occasion. This event will start at 14:30 – save the date!

Vanessa Szücs-Hussain
Master, Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai

每周快讯 20160520

泰迪熊野餐会—–惠灵顿大家庭欢聚一堂

泰迪熊野餐会--惠灵顿大家庭欢聚一堂 如果你今天到树林里去
一定会大吃一惊
如果你今天到树林里去
最好乔装出行
树林里出现过的每一只熊
都会在那里集合
因为今天是泰迪熊们的野餐日

泰迪熊野餐会--惠灵顿大家庭欢聚一堂

星期二惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心的创始家庭和幼儿中心的教职团队一起参加了泰迪熊野餐会,为孩子们一天的学习生活画上了圆满的句号。当天我们为孩子们提供了各式各样的活动,他们和小熊们玩得不亦乐乎,几乎没有时间停下来休息。做手工、讲故事、玩乐时间、圆圈活动都以泰迪熊为主题,融入数学和逻辑能力、读写能力、体能发展、表现力和艺术设计各领域的学习。即便是在有趣且基于游戏的活动中,也含有丰富的学习机会。把惠灵顿大家庭的成员们聚集到一起,共同享受美好的天气,享用户外学习空间,享有彼此的陪伴,这很重要,因为它提升了惠灵顿大家庭的归属感。同时,此次活动也为家长会面交流、分享故事、结识朋友提供了机会。在这里我要感谢小兔班的Angela老师为我制作泰迪熊耳朵道具,它们非常受欢迎!

泰迪熊野餐会--惠灵顿大家庭欢聚一堂

惠灵顿特质介绍:

惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心的家长将会对惠灵顿价值观(原先为五大核心价值观)以及惠灵顿多元智能教育(原先为八大多元智能)有进一步的了解。在接下来的五期每周快讯中,我想介绍Julian Thomas校长提出的惠灵顿特质。Julian Thomas是惠灵顿公学第十四任校长,在他执校期间,惠灵顿公学所传递的精神主要集中在学生本身以及他们的教育体验。重点包括三大彼此关联的领域:

  1. 惠灵顿多元智能教育采取全方位的全人教育方式,是我们教育惠灵顿人的纲要 (惠灵顿多元智能教育与英国早期基础教育体系以及公认的的学习和发展领域相对应)
  2. 惠灵顿价值观概述了我们希望惠灵顿人所拥有的品行 (我们把惠灵顿价值观延伸至幼儿中心的家庭,以促进共同的理念)
  3. 惠灵顿特质明确了我们希望学生在惠灵顿双语幼儿中心就读时期具备的技能和性格特征,即我们希望惠灵顿人所拥有的性格特征(我们坚信在早教时期就应开始提倡惠灵顿特质)

 

惠灵顿特质回答了“惠灵顿公学的教育最终培养出什么样的学生”的问题。我们希望惠灵顿人拥有怎样的特质? 我们希望他们具备以下特质:

  • 积极
  • 慎思
  • 独立
  • 个性
  • 包容

 

这五大支柱描述了我们希望惠灵顿人所拥有的性格特征,并且互相关联。在接下来的五期每周快讯中,我会详细介绍惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心如何提倡惠灵顿特质。我很高兴向大家展示张贴在多媒体教室外由孩子们创作的关于五种特质的美术作品。

近期活动:

5月28日(周六)

我们很高兴将迎来10组来自新闻晨报的家庭光临幼儿中心。幼儿中心的教职团队为他们准备了丰富有趣的活动,包括讲我们非常喜爱的“棕熊”的故事。

5月28日(周六) 惠灵顿国际学校夏日嘉年华

加入我们,玩转国际学校

下午2:30至6:30

今年的嘉年华Summer Festival活动是由惠灵顿夏日嘉年华委员会精心组织的。届时惠灵顿的学生、家长及教职员工们都将参与其中。我们将倾情打造一场围绕“创造力”展开的,集音乐、舞台剧、舞蹈、艺术和文化的狂欢。作为夏季学期的重磅节目,您将有机会在这里品尝到世界各地的美食、体验丰富多样的游戏、欣赏精彩纷呈的舞台表演。此外本次活动还设置了慈善抽奖环节,该环节所获盈利将悉数捐给米饭妈妈Mifan Mamas慈善机构。

6月8日 (周三) 100天友谊纪念日

我们邀请家长参加惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心开园100天友谊纪念日。届时孩子们将为家长演唱歌曲,我们会把美术作品陈列于美术区,家长可以购买慈善艺术卡,同时我们也会为大家准备茶点,共同见证这一重要时刻。活动从下午2:30开始,请预留您的时间!

何文莎
惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心园长