The Week Ahead 20160824

WELCOME BACK!

We are off to a great start here at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai and life in early years is as busy as ever. Over 200 pupils joined our family this month, ready to start their exciting play-based learning journey. We have welcomed an expanded team of early years’ practitioners and the setting is alive with children’s voices.

This week was all about settling in and gave the pupils a chance to familiarise themselves with their classroom, the staff and the wider team around them. Even those children who were returning pupils need a chance to adjust and this opportunity is crucial in making the transition from the holidays into the new term. Please be reminded that next week we advise parents to drop their children off at the classroom, say ‘goodbye’ with a big smile and leave the premises swiftly – this is our time to help the children settle and a parent loitering is often an emotional trigger which makes settling much harder.

Welcome Back!

All parents are requested to be on standby, should a child need to leave the setting early. Every child is different, some take longer than others to settle and whilst we will do all we can to support the transition from home to the setting, there does come a time when a child needs to be back with their family. This is important – young children have little concept of time and need to learn that after being left at the setting, their family will return for them. We judge each child individually and parents are reminded that this is not a race, it is a unique journey for every child.

From August 29th, the children will start the curriculum and each group has a special theme:

  • EY1 A World of Colours and Shapes
  • EY2 Me and My World
  • EY3 Being Me

Welcome Back!

A theme-based newsletter will be sent to parents, so that you can support your child’s learning at home. You can consider similar activities to those at the setting, or simply use the concepts explored for discussion, reading and singing – you can be as imaginative and creative as you’d like (the more, the better)!

The importance of language acquisition is key to our curriculum here at Wellington College and ‘learning through song’ will remain a key feature of our daily routine – we want the children to become comfortable with singing and acting out songs so that their confidence in the public forum grows steadily. By the end of September, we hope to be able to show you just how much language has been learned through singing; who knows what surprises lay ahead!

We are hosting our first Parent Information Session on Monday 12th September. Nurse Sophia will lead the session on child health and all interested parents / family members are invited. The session will start at 09:00 – please meet in Reception.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Contact Information:

Please ensure that you update your contact information, should it change throughout the academic year. Susan Wang (EA to the Master) is situated next to the Master’s office and Deputy Headmaster’s office and will happily update your information at any time necessary. Not receiving anything from us? Please check your junk mail – we are sending information to the email addresses provided on the application form and cannot hold responsibility should this be incorrect.

Parent Representatives:

We will look to appoint Parent Representatives over the coming weeks. Once the selection process is complete, we will provide details to all parents about the representative for their class, the role of the representative and how to communicate with them. Interested?? Please let your class teacher know.

PLEASE REMEMBER……

Welcome Back!

We are a no-smoking setting and parents, staff and visitors are requested not to smoke anywhere near the building. We have an obligation to protect the health of all on site and must reiterate to all that should anyone be caught smoking on the premises, that they will be excluded from the setting. We ask that you ensure all family representatives are aware of this.

每周快讯 20160824

欢迎小朋友们返园!

惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心新学年拉开了序幕,我们又回到了忙碌而充实的集体生活。本月,200多位小朋友共同加入了幼儿中心大家庭,准备开启激动人心的、以游戏为主的探索之旅。同时,幼儿中心也迎来了很多新的早期教育工作者。孩子们的欢声笑语让幼儿中心活力焕发。

第一周是适应周,孩子们借此机会熟悉教室环境、老师以及幼儿中心的其他工作人员。他们借助适应周进行自我调整,以顺利的从假期过渡到新学期的集体生活,因此,适应期尤为重要。下周,我们希望家长把孩子送至教室,在微笑道别后,迅速离开教室,接下来老师们会负责安顿孩子。若家长仍逗留在教室内或教室周围,往往会触发孩子的情绪,让老师安顿孩子的工作变得更困难。

Welcome Back!

如果出现孩子需提早离开幼儿中心的情况,我们也请所有的家长做好提早接领的准备。每个孩子都是与众不同的,有些孩子需要更长时间适应校园生活,在我们尽力帮助孩子适应的同时,我们也希望家长按时来园接小朋友回家,这很重要,因为孩子几乎没有时间观念,孩子们需要知道,家长离开后仍会回来接他们。我们只会对孩子进行个别评价,家长需要了解,这不是比赛,每个孩子的人生旅程都是独一无二的。

从8月29日开始,孩子们将正式开始主题探索课程,每个年级都安排了一个特定的主题内容

  • 小小班 各种颜色和形状
  • 小班 我和我的世界
  • 中班 做自己

Welcome Back!

近日,我们会向家长发送一份主题式简报,以帮助家长了解。您可以在家和孩子玩类似的游戏,或者讨论、阅读和唱歌孩子所感兴趣的内容,充分发挥您的想象力和创造力吧(越多越好!)
9月12日星期一幼儿中心将举办新学年第一次关于儿童健康的信息交流会,由保健老师Sophia主持,我们欢迎所有感兴趣的家长前来参加。信息交流会将于上午9:00点开始,请家长至幼儿中心前台集中。

重要信息

联络信息:

本学年,若您家庭的联系信息有变更,请确保您已经在个人信息表上更新了这些信息,或者已通知园长助理Susan Wang,她的办公室在园长办公室旁,Susan会及时为您更新信息。若您没有收到幼儿中心发出的邮件,请检查您的垃圾邮箱,我们按照您在入园申请表上所填的邮箱地址向家长发送邮件,如果因您提供错误的邮箱地址而导致无法接收邮件,我们对此不承担任何责任。

家长代表:

在接下来的几周,我们会选出各班家长代表。完成后,我们会公布各班家长代表的人选以及她们的联系方式。如果您对此感兴趣,请向班级老师自荐。

请您了解……

Welcome Back!

惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心实施全面禁烟,所有的家长、员工和访客禁止在中心内及周边吸烟。我们有义务保护幼儿中心所有人的安全、健康。我们再次温馨提醒家长,若我们发现任何人在幼儿中心内吸烟,他们将即刻被要求离开中心。请确保您和您的家人知晓此事。