The Week Ahead 20160831

This week, we focus on LANGUAGE…….

Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai is extremely proud of the educational philosophy behind its early years’ practice. We wish to provide plentiful learning opportunities for all pupils, enabling holistic development to occur as a natural process. We believe that language acquisition is actively promoted through immersion and that learning through song embeds new language effectively in young learners in an exciting and fun way.

LANGUAGE

Learning through song supports individual growth in all aspects of the Early Years Foundation Stage defined areas of learning and development; from counting to phonics, colour and shape recognition to feelings and emotions, the world around to identification of the planets; songs make learning fun, interactive and multi-dimensional.

We are fortunate to have experts in the field of English as an Additional Language (EAL) who are key members of Team Bilingual:

  • Jane Williams (Curriculum Co-ordinator) holds an MA in TESOL (Teaching English to Students of Other Languages) and leads on language acquisition at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai
  • Simon Ruscoe-Price (Director of Languages) recently joined the Central Office for Wellington College China and will be an active presence around the setting, as he works with Jane to continually evolve and develop our curriculum to respond to research findings and educational thinking

 

Jane and Simon will be presenting a session to the parents of pupils at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai on Wednesday 12th October from 09:00. If you are interested to attend, please contact Susan Wang (EA to the Master) at susan.wang@wellingtoncollege.cn.

This week’s Week Ahead is written by Jane Williams and I thank her for her contribution.

Promoting language acquisition

Within the setting we promote language acquisition in several ways:

  • Immersion days
  • Singing
  • Phonics
  • Key vocabulary

 

Immersion days

We teach using themes and these themes were chosen for the pupils as areas of interest that would stimulate their interest and language development at their own pace. In a bilingual setting, teaching Chinese and English using immersion days allows children to be surrounded by one language and gives them the opportunity to develop their language ability.  It helps children to listen, absorb and speak the language of that day and helps pupils to learn English naturally, like learning their native language. By having Chinese immersion days, the pupils are able to focus and extend in their understanding, building on their knowledge and skills in preparation to transfer into English. Research has shown that the level of development of children’s Chinese is a strong predictor of their English development. Learning a second language at a young age is cognitively as easy as learning a first language.

LANGUAGE

Singing (Learning Through Song)

Everyone knows the value of singing and that we find it relaxing, fun and it makes us feel happy.  Research has shown that it is a great way to learn language as it helps to increase vocabulary, simple phrases and pronunciation.  Joining in and learning the words using actions and with repetition allows the pupils to learn language unconsciously and they all demonstrate that they love to sing along. Singing is simply one of the best ways for developing the sound awareness skills that are critical to learning to read successfully. (http://www.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=927) Learning songs and music can help to develop listening skills as well as build vocabulary. (http://www.abcmusicandme.com/documents/impact_of_music_on_literacy.pdf)

Phonics

LANGUAGE

In each year we are working towards supporting and preparing pupils for phonics

In EY1 we do this by an emphasis of learning English through song and experimenting with instruments and sounds.

In EY2 this is developed by introducing listening activities, Phase 1 phonics:

  • environmental sounds
  • instrumental sounds
  • body percussion
  • rhythm and rhyme
  • alliteration
  • voice sounds
  • blending and segmenting
  • If in term 3 some children are ready, teachers may introduce the Phase 2 phonics

In EY3 we introduce Phase 2 phonics using letters and sounds

  • As pupils progress and learn the sounds, they also learn to blend and segment the sounds and most importantly, begin reading
  • Pupils will progress at their individual speed, as we all learn differently

 

Key Vocabulary

LANGUAGE

Teachers plan together and decide on key vocabulary that can be introduced during each theme.  The aim is to broaden the pupils’ receptive vocabulary and through repetition and reinforcement to become part of their daily language use in both Chinese and English.

How do we promote language in the setting?

LANGUAGE

  • Ensure that every opportunity is taken to promote bilingual language acquisition
  • Listen to what pupils say, to encourage and promote respect and language learning
  • Pupils need to feel valued in what they say, given the opportunity to share their ideas and this helps with language acquisition. Show and tell, and talking about what the pupils did at the weekend/in the holidays can promote language, when they are ready and confident
  • Take every opportunity to model language and introduce new language
  • As a bilingual setting, we value both languages equally and promote the use of both languages. If pupils choose to speak in English on a Chinese day and Chinese on an English day, the teaching teams respect that choice, returning to the language of the day after listening and offering any support needed

LANGUAGE

 

Important Upcoming Dates in our Calendar

Mid-Autumn Festival – school is closed Thursday 15th and Friday 16th September

EY1 Learning Through Song        Tuesday 27th September 3.15 pm
EY2 Learning Through Song        Wednesday 28th September 3.15 pm
EY3 Learning Through Song        Thursday 29th September 3.15 pm

每周快讯 20160831

本周我们探讨语言学习

惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心为其在早期教育实践上所奉行的教育理念深感自豪。我们希望为幼儿中心所有孩子提供丰富的学习机会,培养孩子全面发展,并将其视为自然的发展过程。我们相信,浸润式学习能够有效促进孩子的语言学习;通过歌唱,孩子能够掌握到许多语言单词,是一种充满乐趣、令人兴奋的学习方式。

LANGUAGE

英国早期基础教育体系倡导七大学习领域的学习和发展,在歌唱中学习能够促进孩子各个领域的学习和发展,从数数到看字读音;从颜色、形状的过渡到情绪管理;从认识周围世界到辨别行星。音乐让学习变得有趣、互动和丰富多彩。

我们有幸请到两位EAL(英语作为附加语言)领域的专家加入惠灵顿,他们是惠灵顿团队的重要成员:

  • 幼儿中心课程主任Jane Williams拥有英语外语教学(TESOL)硕士学位,她负责制定幼儿中心的课程
  • 语言学习总监Simon Ruscoe-Price不久前刚加入惠灵顿中国,他在中央办公室工作,我们会经常在幼儿中心见到他,他会和Jane一起合作,根据最新研究成果和教育理念不断发展、完善幼儿中心的课程。

 

10月12日星期三上午9:00点,Jane和Simon将在幼儿中心举办一场关于语言学习的信息交流会,如果您对此感兴趣,请联系园长助理Susan (susan.wang@wellingtoncollege.cn)。

本周的每周快讯由Jane撰写,感谢她的付出。

促进语言学习

在惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心,我们通过以下几种方式促进孩子的语言学习:

  • 浸润式语言学习
  • 唱歌
  • 语音教学
  • 核心词汇

 

浸润式语言学习

在幼儿中心,我们按小朋友感兴趣的主题进行教学,以激发他们的学习兴趣并让他们按照自身的节奏学习、发展语言。在浸润式语言学习中,孩子们浸润在一种语言(中文或英语)的学习环境中,我们为他们提供各种机会发展语言能力。孩子通过聆听、吸收语言词汇,并用该语言进行表达,他们自然的学习英语,就如同学习母语。中文学习侧重培养、发展孩子的理解能力,增长他们的知识和技能,为过渡到全英语学习做准备。研究表明,我们可以根据孩子中文语言发展水平预测其英语的发展水平。从认知角度看,在幼儿阶段,学习第二外语就像学习母语般容易。

LANGUAGE

唱歌 (在歌唱中学习)

众所周知,唱歌能够使人放松,富有趣味,并让人感到快乐,益处颇多。研究表明,唱歌是学习语言的有效方式,因为它能够增加孩子的词汇量和简单句型的表达,并且完善孩子的发音。唱歌时配以动作、反复吟唱使得孩子在无意识中掌握语言,同时,所有的孩子也向我们展示了他们对于唱歌的热爱。唱歌也是培养发音技能的最佳方式之一,发音技能的掌握对于顺利进行学习阅读起到重要作用。(http://www.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=927) 学习歌曲和音乐能够帮助孩子发展他们的听力技能并扩大词汇量。(http://www.abcmusicandme.com/documents/impact_of_music_on_literacy.pdf)

语音学习

LANGUAGE

每学年我们都会帮助孩子,为语音学习做准备

In EY1在小小班,孩子通过唱歌、探索乐器和声音学习

In EY2在小班,孩子通过一系列听力活动学习,进入到语音学习第一阶段:

  • 自然环境声
  • 乐器声
  • 身体打击乐
  • 节奏和韵律
  • 头韵(两个单词或两个单词以上的首字母相同,形成悦耳的读音)
  • 声音
  • 合并和拆分
  • 如果小朋友们在第三学期已经做好准备,老师会开始介绍语音学习第二阶段 在中班,我们会介绍第二阶段语音内容,即看字读音

In EY3在中班,我们会介绍第二阶段语音内容,即看字读音

  • 随着孩子语音学习的不断进步,他们会开始学习合并和拆分音节,最重要的是,他们开始学习阅读
  • 孩子会按照自有的节奏发展、进步,因为每个人的学习方式都是不同的

 

核心词汇

LANGUAGE

 

老师们共同制定教学计划,选定在每个主题中所使用的核心词汇。我们的目标是增加孩子们可以重复使用的词汇,通过重复和强化,这些中文词语和英文词语将成为孩子们的日常用语。

在幼儿中心我们如何确保语言学习的有效性

LANGUAGE

  • 我们充分利用各种机会促进孩子的双语学习
  • 我们倾听孩子的想法,鼓励他们学习,尊重他们
  • 我们重视孩子的想法,当孩子准备好并且有信心的时候,我们需要提供给他们分享的机会,比如一起讨论节假日生活,这样能够有效促进他们的语言学习
  • 利用一切机会示范语言并介绍新的语言知识
  • 在双语幼儿中心,中、英两种语言同等重要,我们鼓励孩子使用两种语言。如果孩子选择在中文日说英语或者在英文日说中文,老师会尊重他们的选择,在倾听他们的想法并且提供所需帮助后他们仍旧可以返回学习另一种语言。

LANGUAGE

 

近期重要通知

中秋节- 9月15日星期四和9月16日星期五幼儿中心放假

小小班合唱展示        9月27日星期二下午3:15
小班合唱展示        9月28日星期三下午3:15
中班合唱展示         9月29日星期四下午3:15