The Week Ahead 20160912

By all these lovely tokens September days are here,

With summer’s best of weather

And Autumn’s best of cheer

Helen Hunt Jackson

 

September is here already and the pupils of Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai are enjoying exploring the indoor and outdoor learning spaces, making new friends, establishing new routines and discovering new ideas and concepts about the world around them. The learning journey for all has started and the first theme is underway. The learning spaces are evolving with the help of the children’s creative projects and all pupils are now singing daily with pupils from other classes of the same age. In short, life is good! We are busy, life in Early Years should never be anything but busy. An Early Years setting should be filled with productivity, noise, happiness and meaning – we have that here, in abundance! Yuki and I are visiting the classes every day during our ‘learning walks’ and we are constantly monitoring and evaluating practice throughout the setting. The setting evolves continuously in response to themes, learning and specific interests of the children and over the coming weeks, I’ll introduce the changes as they happen.

We have guests

惠灵顿课外课程

Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai is delighted to host interns from The Wellington Academy in the UK. Marina and Nikita have joined us to undertake class-based practice with all age groups and will get creative in the sensory area and other learning spaces. In the classroom, the interns will be supporting pupils with language development opportunities and the sensory room, as project number one, will be developed over the coming weeks to provide the pupils with a very hands-on (and feet-on) sensory experience – watch this space for further details. The partnership between the Wellington College family is continually strengthening and we look forward to welcoming interns throughout the academic year to add strength to our team and offer the pupils greater opportunity for meeting new people and sharing learning experiences together. Marina and Nikita are pictured here with another intern, Connor Williams. Connor is the son of Jane Williams (Curriculum Co-ordinator) is supporting with projects in ICT and Marketing.

Providing opportunity for exceptional internships is important to us here at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai, as it offers an insight in to the many aspects of Early Years’ Education and has multiple benefits for all involved. Interns undergo careful interviewing and scrutiny to ensure that they meet our expectations and we are pleased to see older Wellingtonians supporting the learning and development of our youngest Wellingtonians. The family grows from strength to strength!

惠灵顿课外课程

We were absolutely overwhelmed by the response to the Wellington Academy Programme this week. I could hardly believe the level of interest and we are delighted to be able to offer daily programmes for the pupils of Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai. Programmes on offer are:

  • Fun with English
  • Phonics (EY3 only)
  • Ballet
  • Fun and Games

 

Please be reminded that these programmes start the week beginning 19th September– for those parents who have already applied, you should be receiving a confirmation email very soon. If you have any issues or questions please do not hesitate to contact academy.shanghai@wellingtoncollege.cn

Have you registered for our Parent Information sessions?

Monday 12th September marks the start of our Parent Information sessions and our first session focuses on Child Health (Optical Health). For those interested parents, please ensure that you register with Susan Wang at susan.wang@wellingtoncollege.cn. Parents are requested to meet in Reception where Sophia will meet with you before moving to the designated location. The next session will be held on Tuesday 27th September and this will be on Wellbeing.

A note about Social Media

Parents and families are reminded that at Wellington College Bilingual Shanghai, we appreciate open and honest communication with our Wellington families. All members of the team (Academic and Non-Academic) are happy to discuss any concerns or feedback you may have directly with them. We encourage that the first point of contact should be the class teacher, where possible but you will find any team member happy to listen to you and direct you to the right person. You will notice that my office door is usually open (with the exception of meeting times) and I actively welcome parents to talk to me, as many of you have with lots of wonderful feedback on the setting. Please do come along and chat rather than take to social media. Social media cannot answer your questions, but a class teacher, Deputy Headmaster or Master can; we can do it almost as quickly too!

每周快讯 20160912

夏秋之交,9月悄然而至,

它带着夏天的温存

欢呼秋天的到来

Helen Hunt Jackson

9月已经到来,惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心的孩子们正忙着熟悉室内外的活动空间,享受探索之趣,同时,他们也忙着结交新朋友、适应班级常规以及了解周围的新鲜事物。孩子们已然踏上学习之旅,最近他们正在开展新学年的第一个主题。我们会在幼儿中心各个活动区域展示并且定期更新孩子们的创意手工作品,孩子们每天都会和同年级其他班级的小朋友一起唱歌。简而言之,幼儿中心的学习生活是美好的。我们依旧忙碌着,早期教育工作总是令人感到充实而繁忙。作为一家优秀的早教机构,它所营造的气氛应当是活跃而欢乐的,同时,它也应当富有教学成果。在惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心,我们的生活丰富多彩,从不缺乏这些元素。Yuki和我每天都会走访各个教室,我们会持续监督和评估中心内的教学实践活动。幼儿中心的教学内容会根据所设定的主题和孩子的兴趣不断变化发展。几周后,我会向大家介绍发生的变化。

幼儿中心迎来实习生

惠灵顿课外课程

我们很高兴来自英国惠灵顿课外课程学院的实习生Marina和Nikita加入幼儿中心,她们会在班级里协助老师开展课堂活动,同时,她们也会为感官区及其他学习区域的布置出谋划策。在教室里,实习生们辅导孩子的语言学习,而感官区的布置是实习生的第一个项目,在接下来几周,我们会重新布置感官区,为孩子提供绝佳的感觉体验,让我们拭目以待。惠灵顿大家庭之间的相互合作正不断地得到加强巩固,在这一学年中,我们期待实习生的加入能够为幼儿中心锦上添花,希望为孩子们提供更多机会认识他人,并且共同分享学习经验。继Marina和Nikita之后,我们又迎来一位实习生Connor Williams,他是幼儿中心课程主任Jane Williams的孩子,他会协助信息通讯方面及市场部的一些项目。

在惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心,为优秀的实习生提供实习机会对我们而言很重要,因为它能够让我们更深入了解早期教育,并让参与其中的人有所受益。我们的实习生都需经过几层面试及详细省察,以满足我们的期望。我们很高兴看到年轻的惠灵顿人在幼儿中心帮助我们的小小惠灵顿人学习和发展。惠灵顿大家庭正在变得越来越壮大!

惠灵顿课外课程

本周惠灵顿课外课程的报名十分火爆,家长对此十分感兴趣,我们很高兴为惠灵顿幼儿中心的孩子提供日常兴趣课程。这些课程包括:

  • 趣味英语
  • 自然拼读(仅限中班)
  • 芭蕾
  • 趣味游戏

 

我们温馨提示您,课外课程将于9月19日开始,如已报名,家长会在近日收到一封确认邮件,若您有任何问题,请电邮至academy.shanghai@wellingtoncollege.cn

您是否报名参加了信息交流会?

我们将于9月12日星期一上午9:00点举办第一场信息交流会,主题为儿童健康(视力健康)。若您对此感兴趣,请联系Susan进行报名 (susan.wang@wellingtoncollege.cn)。下周一幼儿中心的保健老师Sohpia会在前台和报名的家长见面,然后会带领大家去多媒体教室。下一场信息交流会将于9月27日星期二举行,主题为幸福。

关于社交媒体

我们在此提醒家长,在惠灵顿(上海)双语幼儿中心,我们提倡开放、坦诚的沟通方式。幼儿中心所有成员(教学团队和非教学团队)非常愿意倾听您的反馈,并和您进行面对面的沟通。若家长有任何问题,请您先联系第一联系人,即班级老师,团队的其他成员也很乐意将您引导至可为您提供帮助的部门。您可能会注意到我的办公室门经常是敞开的(除了会议时间),欢迎家长直接和我沟通,我也非常愿意倾听您对幼儿中心的反馈。我们鼓励面对面的沟通,而不是利用社交媒体表达您的困惑,因为社交媒体无法为您解答疑虑,而我们的班级老师、副园长及园长却可以第一时间为您解决问题。