JUNIOR HIGH CURRICULUM

“As is the case with our primary curriculum, we are combining the very best of the British approach to education with the strengths of the Chinese system. Based on their learning at primary school, the pupils will explore diverse approaches and develop deeper learning in a range of specific areas. We aim to deliver systematic and solid knowledge and skills while developing the pupils’ critical thinking and creativity, highlighting their ability to analyse and solve problems, in order to prepare them to be future leaders.”

Laura Ge, Head of Junior High

Junior High Curriculum

Our Junior High pupils study in a Chinese and English learning environment with the curriculum deliberately designed to promote the very highest standards of bilingualism. From grades 6 to 9, pupils’ exploration of each subject becomes much deeper and richer than the primary level, as they develop their thinking abilities and language skills across all subject areas, which is required to become fully bilingual.

The Junior High curriculum builds on the foundation of our unique primary curriculum – within the rigorous framework of the Chinese national curriculum – while also blending in the most appropriate and effective elements of the Western educational ethos. This successfully prepares the pupils in our care for the further international education they will receive after they move up to High School.

The educational model for Junior High is structured around the Huili Values and Identity, to ensure that pupils are Inspired, Intellectual, Independent, Individual and Inclusive. Chinese and international staff work closely to provide deep learning experiences in every area, helping pupils to develop their own methods of studying, discover their strengths and potential while becoming more confident, responsible and independent in their learning. Pupils learn in an environment that not only exposes them to challenging subject content, but also requires them to engage with their education in a way that promotes communication, creativity and critical thinking.

Delivered by Western specialist staff members, the PE curriculum is designed to develop children’s physical wellbeing, stamina and capabilities. High level skills allow pupils to excel in various sports while developing greater confidence and teamwork abilities. Children are given the opportunity to experiment with a wide range of sports, gymnastics and dance activities.

These subjects are delivered by Western specialist teachers who have a great deal of experience. Pupils develop a broad range of artistic skills while gaining confidence as practitioners, acquiring a deep appreciation for the arts. All subjects are delivered in bespoke, purpose-built teaching spaces, complete with high-quality equipment and resources. Individual performances or displays alongside critical evaluation form a large component of arts-based learning.

The subject of Chinese is understandably of great importance to us, as it bears the responsibility of promoting the Chinese language and culture. We use the textbooks developed by the Ministry of Education for all local schools, alongside selected teaching materials; for example, resources about hard-tipped pen calligraphy, brush calligraphy, comprehensive learning and classic literature. This approach is designed to ensure that our pupils have the same level of native language proficiency as their peers and even their elders from any non-bilingual setting.

Pupils have four Chinese teaching sessions each week, which focus on developing their ability to identify, analyse and solve problems in creative ways, while encouraging them to express their thoughts and opinions about the wider world in an articulate manner.

We follow the English national curriculum as it enables pupils to develop far better language skills than those demanded by the Shanghai English curriculum. Pupils leaving grade 8 for High School will be fully prepared to adapt to any international curriculum in English without undue difficulty, including learning subjects such as economics, history and global perspectives, all of which require an especially high level of English fluency. Our aim is that by the time they leave us to pursue a university education, all of our pupils will have become truly bilingual, not only in their linguistic abilities, but also in terms of historical knowledge, cultural appreciation, thinking patterns and problem solving.

Bilingual mathematics curriculum at Huili is a combination of two distinctly different sets of thinking patterns and practices. After a careful comparison of the different mathematics curriculums used in China and various Western countries, Huili strives to take the strengths of each system by hiring bilingual practitioners who are experienced in teaching both. Language acquisition is enhanced through mathematics learning to help prepare pupils for an international curriculum when they move up to High School.

Chinese and English staff work closely together, with each responsible for teaching geography, history, society and moral development in their native languages. Teaching partners plan collaboratively, each linking their teaching content with the other. This model helps to build a foundation for studying English cultural subjects in High School and provides further language immersion experiences.

After conducting a rigorous comparison of the Chinese and English national science curriculums, we have designed our own, which is based on the Chinese national curriculum while striving to challenge and extend our pupils by adding more technical and difficult teaching content. Flexible teaching methods are used to encourage investigation and experimentation. We aim to equip our pupils with a scientific, logic-based attitude, combined with the courage to raise different opinions and always pursue the truth. We also aim to help them develop a better understanding of the connections between technology, science and our evolving global society.

Led by an experienced and dedicated Western ICT teacher, pupils experience a rich and efficient curriculum, continuing to build on the wide range of skills acquired during their Primary School years to ensure they will excel in this digital world. Our first-class facilities provide all pupils with access to advanced technology, which is used across all subjects.

初中课程

“惠立的初中课程汲取了中西方教育的精髓。学生将在小学学习的基础上,探索多种学习方式,对各领域进行深度学习。我们既要传授系统扎实的基础知识和技能,也注重发展学生的批判性思维和创新能力,培养学生分析和解决问题的能力。这也是为孩子们将来成为世界的领导者所做的必要的准备。”

初中部校长 戈岩

初中课程

首页 > 初中课程

上海浦东新区民办惠立学校的初中为六至九年级,学生在初中阶段将在沉浸式双语环境中进一步加强锻炼双语能力。相比小学课程,初中课程将更深入、更广泛,在确保学生学习专业课知识的同时,提高学科思维能力和相应领域的语言水平,掌握专业技术及文化词汇,成为真正的双语人才。

惠立的初中课程将延续小学课程的特色,继续在中国国家课程的基础上引进海外优质教育资源,融入先进的教育理念和教学方法,在顺利完成九年义务制教育的基础上为国际高中课程的学习做好充分的准备。

初中部的教学模式将紧密围绕惠立五大核心价值观和特质设计,旨在培养积极、慎思、独立、个性、包容的学生。中、外籍教师通力合作,为孩子提供每个领域深度探究的机会,帮助学生不断建立自信,并且逐渐形成自己的学习方式,发现自己的优势所在。这不仅能使学生充分发掘自己的学习潜能,同时也培养其责任感和独立思考的学习习惯。在惠立学校的学习环境中,学生不仅能学习各门学科的内容,还能培养并提升其沟通能力、创造力以及思辨能力。

体育课由外籍教师授课,旨在锻炼学生的体能和耐力,提高身体素质。体育课不仅可以提高学生各类运动项目的水平,而且能够培养他们的自信心和团队合作能力。学生可以接触丰富的运动项目,如:游泳、体操、舞蹈等。
艺术课由教学经验丰富的外籍教师授课,旨在培养学生扎实的艺术基础,帮助他们在实践中建立自信,增强对艺术的喜爱和鉴赏力。艺术类课程拥有专门的教室以及先进的教学设备和资源。个人演出、展示和批判性评估是艺术课学习的重要组成部分。惠立的艺术课程包括;音乐、表演艺术、视觉艺术(美术)和设计与工艺(劳动技术)。
语文在惠立课程中占有极为重要的地位,它承载着传承中国语言与文化的重任。我校采用统编版语文教材,确保学生的语文水平达到母语的发展要求和标准。在此基础上,我们还会增加上海版的补充材料,如硬笔书法、毛笔、国学经典等。初中阶段的语文课注重培养学生使用不同的方法发现问题、思考问题,并自觉探究解决问题的方法和途径;鼓励学生根据自己的语言能力和思想认知水平,从生活中选材,表达自己的感受与见解。
惠立初中的英语课程在确保达到上海市英语课程标准的基础上,根据学生个性化需求,提供差异化教学。教师们均为英语母语人士,他们将为学生营造沉浸式的语言环境,充分发挥学生的潜力,使其能够在九年级无障碍地使用英文学习各类课程,为国际高中课程打下坚实的语言基础。我们的目标是惠立学子在步入大学学习时能够达到真正的双语,即熟练使用中英两种语言,了解中西方两种文化和历史,能够使用中西方两种思维来分析和解决问题。
惠立初中的数学课程遵循上海市数学课程标准,并将”双语”特色融入到数学的课堂教学中。“双语”数学不是单纯意义上用两种语言学习数学或者用两种语言解答数学题目,而是两种思维的融合,两种观念的融合,也是两种教学模式和手段的融合。我们既传授系统扎实的数学基础知识和技能,也注重发展孩子们的数学思维,培养他们分析、操作、探究和创新的能力。惠立的双语数学教师注重将数学教学有机地渗透到日常生活中去,并与其他学科建立联系。
该课程包括中方教师中文授课的地理、历史、社会和思想品德以及由外籍教师英文授课的英文社会研习课。中西方教师在遵循国家课程标准的基础上,使用统编版教材,并进行紧密的合作教研,为学生高中阶段的人文学科打好扎实的知识基础,并做好语言上的准备。
惠立初中的自然科学课包括六、七年级的综合科学,以及八、九年级分科教授的物理、化学和生命科学。中西方科学教育专家及教师在仔细比对中、英教学特色的基础上,力求为学生提供具有惠立特色的科学探究。一方面,科学课的学科性更加明显,学生在探究的基础上深入学习科学内容,并根据个性化需求进行进一步的拓展;另一方面,灵活多样的教学方式使得学生能够通过探究与实验,培养正确的科学态度,敢于提出质疑,探索真理,并了解科学、技术和社会之间的联系。
信息通讯技术课将由外籍老师授课,学生将在充实、高效的课堂中学习数字化时代必须掌握的技能。我校一流的电子设备将为他们了解前沿科技,在多学科中熟练运用科技提供硬件基础。