HOUSE SYSTEM

“The House System at Huili has been designed to promote a sense of belonging and security in every pupil. The children in our care spend a substantial amount of time each day with us and we take our guardianship responsibility extremely seriously. The role of the house team is to recognise and celebrate each child’s strengths while being ready at a moment’s notice to offer support whenever there are concerns to be addressed. Our house names have been chosen to embody the Huili Values on which we hope all our children will base their lives: Hui, Xian, Li and De. ”

Penelope Mulholland – Assistant Head Pastoral

House System

The house system at Huili School Shanghai is consistent in design and operation to that of our sister schools in both England and China. It is designed to give each pupil a place in which they are recognised and celebrated as an individual, where their unique needs, potential, limitations and capabilities are also understood and accepted.

In Grade 6 and above (Junior High School), each house is led by a housemaster or housemistress (HM) and a team of house tutors. On a day-to-day basis it is the house tutors who look after assigned pupils from a particular grade. They help to oversee both academic and pastoral matters and should therefore be the first point of contact for parents in Grade 6.

Pupils undoubtedly feel that their house is their home in the school and it is an undisputed fact that every pupil feels that their house is the best. The house areas offer a space for them to experience security and belonging. For many pupils, their house area is where they develop their most enduring friendships. It is also the place where they can meet with any one of our team of dedicated house tutors, who will support and guide them throughout their time at the school.

During Primary School, from Grade 1 to Grade 5, pupils are also assigned to one of the four houses. They begin to form a sense of house identity through house activities and competitions. On a day-to-day basis, it is the form tutors who deal with pastoral issues for their pupils within their classes. Therefore, for children in Grades 1 to 5, form tutors should be the first point of contact for parents.

The houses are also a means of encouraging a healthy spirit of competition and friendly rivalry, as pupils are able to display their talent and skill during inter-house competitions held throughout the academic year. Naturally, each pupil wants their house to triumph, and the various sporting, performing arts and academic house events are the perfect means for them to try to win points for their house and share in their housemates’ achievements. Individuals can help improve their house’s position by earning house point tokens for demonstrating a positive approach to learning while showing respect and kindness toward others.

Finally, the house system is a valuable means of offering pupils the opportunity to take on positions of responsibility and subsequently develop their leadership, organisational and interpersonal skills. Pupils are selected to be peer mentors, team captains, school ambassadors as well as house captains and deputies. We believe that the house system, with its competitions, positions of responsibility and sense of community, offers our pupils a safe and supportive environment in which to develop confidence, try new experiences, take risks and strive to be the best versions of themselves.

学院式管理

“惠立学校的学院式管理旨在帮助每个孩子建立归属感和安全感。学生每天会有大量的时间与我们度过,因而我们尤其重视我们的监护责任。学院教师会关注和肯定每个孩子的优点,随时为他们提供支持和帮助。惠、贤、立、德四个学院的命名体现了惠立的价值观。我们希望惠立学子能以此要求自己并将这些优良品质践行于生活中。”

Penelope Mulholland 幸福关怀主任

学院式管理

上海浦东新区民办惠立学校采用的学院制管理与英国惠灵顿公学及其他姊妹学校一脉相承。学院制管理的初衷在于关注每位学生的个体差异,了解他们的需求和潜力,接纳他们的优势和不足。

从六年级起(初中部),每个学院由一位学院长和多位学院教师负责。日常的学校生活中,每位学院教师负责照顾特定年级的学生,指导他们的学业发展和校园生活。因此,学院教师是六年级学生家长的首要联系人。

惠立学生将学院视为自己在学校的家,并坚信自己所属的学院最为出色。“学院空间”为他们提供了安全感和归属感。在这里,他们可以寻求学院教师的帮助和建议,也可以与同伴建立深厚的友谊。

小学一至五年级的学生同样将被分配至四个学院。他们将通过学院活动和竞赛逐渐形成对自己学院的身份认同,但在日常的学校生活中,班级教师负责本班学生的幸福关怀问题。因此,班级教师是一至五年级学生家长的首要联系人。

学院制管理是鼓励学生进行友好竞争的一种方式。每学年,学院间的竞赛为学生提供了展示个人才华的舞台。每位学生都希望自己的学院脱颖而出,因而每逢体育比赛、艺术表演和学术比拼时,他们都会奋力为所属的学院努力拼搏,也会为同伴取得的佳绩而骄傲庆贺。除此之外,学生还可以通过展现积极有效的学习方法或表现对他人的尊重和友善来为学院赢得积分,帮助提升学院的排名。

采用学院制管理也使得学生有机会承担一些职务,比如校园大使、学院队长等,从而锻炼他们的领导能力、组织能力和交际能力。相信通过学院的良性竞争、领导力和责任心的培养,学生会在安全的、给予充分支持的环境下提升自信,勇敢尝试和冒险,成为最好的自己。